SilenX Ixtrema 80 & 120 Quiet Fans

Introduction

Introduction

With the recent popularity of Home Theatre PC's (HTPC), more and more people are looking for ways to cool down these systems with minimal noise. After all, the last thing you want whilst watching your favourite movie is for your HTPC to suddenly start sounding like a jet engine.

Enter SilenX, a privately-owned and operated company based in southern California since 1995. Since their inception, SilenX have taken it upon themselves to design and manufacture alternative solutions to some of the noisiest components found inside the modern computer system.


Packaging

Clearly designed for retail outlets, the SilenX series of fans are something you might see in some of the larger stores in the United States. However here in the UK there is an apparent lack of decent highstreet retailers - therefore the only place you are likely to be able to purchase them from is a web based retailer.


Ixtrema Packaging Ixtrema Packaging

The fans are packaged in a moulded plastic packet with cardboard backing. The fans are visible through the front of the packaging, and the 80mm Ixtrema looks somewhat like an engine from a Boeing 747!

SilenX are clearly not shy when it comes to showing off the specification of their fans. Each fan has the dBA and CFM rating displayed on the top left of the packaging. Here we can see that the 80mm Ixtrema is rated at 14dBA and manages to push 32cfm, while the 120mm version manages to push an impressive 64cfm at the same dBA.

The back of the packaging gives more in depth information on the specification of the fans, including figures such as voltage, amp and watt consumption. SilenX have also included some information on the design features of the fans such as the mounting plugs and reduced fan size, all which aid in reducing noise and improving CFM output.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-05-2006, 07:07:50

JN
Silence is golden, but gold always comes with a hefty price tag.

If you are looking to silence your machine, are the SilenX Ixtrema series of fans worth your money?

See the Review Here

30-05-2006, 07:15:59

WC Annihilus
nicely done man

30-05-2006, 07:28:36

JN
Please note that Page #1 currently has problems. I'm just performing a restore from Sunday's backups

30-05-2006, 07:30:32

WC Annihilus
O wow, it's even worse than it was before...

30-05-2006, 07:44:57

FarFarAway
Review is taken down while XMS repairs the review

30-05-2006, 09:11:38

JN
Fixed

30-05-2006, 09:25:18

Dav0s
still no link

30-05-2006, 09:28:56

JN
Fixed

30-05-2006, 10:49:46

mr_fishbulb
~14dBA at full speed? That's quiet - My 99p 120mm ebuyer ones are in the low-mid 30s!

Good review

30-05-2006, 11:04:12

FarFarAway
Its worth noting the the Xtreme Performance (38mm) ones that are not featured in the review are a fair bit louder

30-05-2006, 13:19:19

Ham
Dam they nice. Could do with one to replace the jet-engine/****cmf fans i have. But 16 for a fan is way out for me .

30-05-2006, 14:24:13

NickS
Nice review man, I enjoyed it. Those are some nice lookin fans, too.

You should try and get some Yate Loon 120MM fan's, people love them!!

Nick

30-05-2006, 14:29:31

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickS

You should try and get some Yate Loon 120MM fan's, people love them!!

Nick
Yeah i might try and see if we can test some of those out - i've heard good things about them too.

30-05-2006, 14:56:36

MeltedDuron
you know if those Ixtrema's come in 92mm? I could really use one for my case...

30-05-2006, 15:02:39

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MeltedDuron'
you know if those Ixtrema's come in 92mm? I could really use one for my case...
They do indeed, and Specialtech sell them

30-05-2006, 17:03:07

glocktodahead
Thanks for the review, I'll be sure to look into them when upgrading my cooling system

30-05-2006, 21:12:48

Raven
looks like good fans but no way they will come to my "backwater" country

31-05-2006, 03:21:49

FarFarAway
SpecialTech would most likely send them mate

31-05-2006, 12:32:33

Raven
they would but the price is abit out of my range so will go with cheaper fans.

06-03-2007, 14:27:37

markkleb
I know you dont like to bring back old threads but this is a good one. Especially now the fans are less $$

Excellent review XMS, probably one of the first that I have read that is accurate.

And they are not just quiet but very well made.

06-03-2007, 14:56:38

mrapoc
My silverstone fans move barely nothing and make nothing but noise lol.

06-03-2007, 15:37:08

FarFarAway
Beware of the deeper fans tho. They shift air for sure, but they can be noisy at full

06-03-2007, 15:40:15

mrapoc
Think ill deffo replace in intake 120mm, does feck all

09-03-2010, 05:55:22

CRAZYCAP
Thanks for the review mate.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.