Scythe Orochi CPU Cooler

Test Results

Test Results
 
Idle temps
  
Load temperatures
 
Overclocked chart
 
Noise chart
 
Observations
 
We can see from the top two charts that the Scythe Orochi performs very well in both idle and load temperature tests, especially when using the included 140mm fan. But this is Overclock3D and we want to see some overclocking right? Ramping up the vCore and FSB we can see that at 3.4Ghz my toasty little quad-core starts throwing out a challenge to the Scythe Orochi and leaves the Kama Cross behind (returning unacceptable 24/7 temperatures). The 140mm fan really doesn't provide a hell of a lot of airflow and temperatures begin to escalate a little...Still I was expecting higher temperatures on the Orochi during passive testing. However, with the 140mm fan installed, I was able to take my Q6600 to 3.510Ghz with only slightly more elevated temperatures. Any further overclocking was not possible due to my OCZ Titanium memory not wanting to be pushed any further.
 
When it comes to noise testing the Scythe Orochi wins hands down. I really had to listen hard to hear the fan over the 2 x 120mm case fans that I have in my Thermaltake chassis. The 140mm fan didn't exhibit any whining at all during testing and the only real noise came from air movement through the cooling fins.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-06-2008, 09:24:51

PV5150
Who is the biggest daddy of them all? We say the Scythe Orochi hands down...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...133940563s.jpg

Read the review here

12-06-2008, 09:52:34

!TIMMY!
I bet you have to be careful not to damage the cpu wen installing it.

12-06-2008, 10:05:54

PV5150
It clamps down real tight. I was more concerned about the capacitors around the socket area though tbh as the mounting bars just clear them.

12-06-2008, 10:27:46

FarFarAway
Looks like a beast of a cooler, deffo one for those who want high end air cooling

Nice review as usual Peevs

12-06-2008, 10:46:08

!TIMMY!
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Looks like a beast of a cooler, deffo one for those who want high end air cooling...
Slap on a Notua fan and bingo.

12-06-2008, 12:39:37

Kerotan
Wow... that thing is a beast. If it fell off it would take off your graphics card(s) and souncard on the way down! I wonder if it would fit in a 900- looks like it would be a pretty tight squeeze tbh, but i really like the idea of near-silent air cooling. Decent review as well (y)

12-06-2008, 14:18:51

niky_d
Great review mate.

This is a massive cooler, I would be a little afraid for my mb though. But I would certainly like to have one of these.

13-06-2008, 03:56:21

PV5150
Thanks for the feedback guys, and I'm glad you enjoyed the review

13-06-2008, 13:57:42

gotmaxpower
Whats this babeh compared to the likes of the Tuniq Tower?



That thing is gigantic.

13-06-2008, 14:11:41

Rastalovich
Looks one heck of a beast.

Might be a bit intrusive for my liking, but u can`t argue with results.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.