Scythe Orochi CPU Cooler

Installation

Installation
 
Installation of the Scythe Orochi requires the motherboard backplate to be positioned and socket mount to be screwed to the heatsink.
 
backing plate in place Mounting hardware installation
 
The two mounting bars are screwed directly into the motherboard backplate with thin nylon washers in between. I found this part of the installation quite fiddly. You'll also notice that I had to remove my Noctua NC-U6 passive NB heatsink in order to install the Orochi.
 
Mounting bars in place
 
Once you've applied your thermal paste onto your CPU, simply orientate the Orochi and press down the two retaining clips and voila. The beauty of the Orochi's mounting system is that it is quite flexible in its orientation, although Scythe do recommend that it isn't placed with the front of the heatsink facing down.
 
Heatsink mounted Heatsink mounted_2
 
As long as you have sufficient headroom in your chassis, the Scythe Orochi will complement any rig (or dwarf it lol), but please be mindful of the width required in order to accommodate it as shown in the image below.
 
Image illustrating width
 
Let's head over the page to see how we're going to test the Scythe Orochi.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-06-2008, 09:24:51

PV5150
Who is the biggest daddy of them all? We say the Scythe Orochi hands down...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...133940563s.jpg

Read the review here

12-06-2008, 09:52:34

!TIMMY!
I bet you have to be careful not to damage the cpu wen installing it.

12-06-2008, 10:05:54

PV5150
It clamps down real tight. I was more concerned about the capacitors around the socket area though tbh as the mounting bars just clear them.

12-06-2008, 10:27:46

FarFarAway
Looks like a beast of a cooler, deffo one for those who want high end air cooling

Nice review as usual Peevs

12-06-2008, 10:46:08

!TIMMY!
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Looks like a beast of a cooler, deffo one for those who want high end air cooling...
Slap on a Notua fan and bingo.

12-06-2008, 12:39:37

Kerotan
Wow... that thing is a beast. If it fell off it would take off your graphics card(s) and souncard on the way down! I wonder if it would fit in a 900- looks like it would be a pretty tight squeeze tbh, but i really like the idea of near-silent air cooling. Decent review as well (y)

12-06-2008, 14:18:51

niky_d
Great review mate.

This is a massive cooler, I would be a little afraid for my mb though. But I would certainly like to have one of these.

13-06-2008, 03:56:21

PV5150
Thanks for the feedback guys, and I'm glad you enjoyed the review

13-06-2008, 13:57:42

gotmaxpower
Whats this babeh compared to the likes of the Tuniq Tower?



That thing is gigantic.

13-06-2008, 14:11:41

Rastalovich
Looks one heck of a beast.

Might be a bit intrusive for my liking, but u can`t argue with results.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.