Scythe Kaze Master Fan Controller

Conclusion

Conclusion Scythe Kaze Master
 
So how well did the Scythe Kaze Master perform in today's review?
 
The build quality and presentation of the Scythe Kaze Master is both solid and attractive. The inclusion of the VFD panel over a traditional LCD panel is also a nice touch; with the increased brightness of the VFD panel apparent. While some may prefer the Kama Meter's screen over the Kaze Master, or vice versa, both provide attractive and easily readable real-time data. It really does come down to the end-user's personal preference.
 
Fan control during the testing phase was excellent and temperature reporting was accurate. I still have a problem with the 'high temperature' alarm being set so high,  however. The inclusion of an customisable alarm trigger would certainly be a welcome feature and somewhat more useful.
 
Pricing for the Scythe Kaze Master is close to that of the Scythe Kama Meter and perfectly acceptable. The slight price hike of the Scythe Kaze Master would more than likely be attributed to the inclusion of the VFD panel. Scan Computers UK have the Scythe Kaze Master listed for £35.24 Inc 17% VAT.
 
In conclusion, if I had to make a choice between the Scythe Kaze Master and the Scythe Kama Meter Fan Controllers I feel that the Kaze Master just pips the Kama Meter at the post. The inclusion of an easier to read display; better response to fan control and its slightly better looks makes it the ideal candidate for your Dollar, Pound or particular currency.
 
The Good
* Looks
* Quality
* Price
* Accuracy
* Real time reporting without having to turn a knob to a different channel
 
The Mediocre
* No changeable faceplates like the Kama Meter
 
The Bad
* High temperature alarm set too high to be useful.
 
OC3D Recommended Award
 
Overclock3D would like to thank Scythe-EU for providing today's review sample
 
Discuss in our forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-07-2008, 08:56:45

PV5150
Looking for a sexy, well-rounded fan controller unit? Scythe may have just what you're looking for with their Scythe Kaze Master Fan Controller

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...094342788s.jpg

Scythe Kaze Master Review

03-07-2008, 09:13:29

ionicle
good review, and a nice looking unit

just a bit too expensive i would recon..

if the price came down to around 25 quid, i would seriously consider it...

03-07-2008, 09:23:57

PV5150
Thanks ionicle. Although the Kaze Master may seem out of your price range, I do think it's a fair price

03-07-2008, 09:43:38

JN
Great review dude and nice looking fan controller. Shame it won't tame my 2.5amp Delta beasts

03-07-2008, 10:00:04

PV5150
Thanks mate, tis nice. Yeah the Kaze is well out of the league of those Delta's though

03-07-2008, 10:56:00

Kerotan
I've got one of these, had it for a couple of weeks, and the Display went this morning when I switched on- i'd sleeved all the cables for it last night and it was working fine when I went to bed I've sent an email to CCL about exchanging it, I'm hoping I was just unlucky cos I really liked it, it's a right pain though cos if they will replace it I'm gonna have to undo all my hard work with the braiding to send it back.

03-07-2008, 11:01:14

ionicle
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Thanks ionicle. Although the Kaze Master may seem out of your price range, I do think it's a fair price
its not that its out of my price range, i just dont think its worth that

scythe, admitadly have to make a profit, but i recon they could probably sell them for 25 quid and still make a good profit on it, and at that price, you'd be getting your moneys worth, more people would buy it, so the shortfall of profit in each device would be made up, by the incresed quantity that would sell because it was more like the value it is actually worth, and not overpriced for what it is.

04-07-2008, 10:36:20

Kerotan
Well I breathed a big sigh of relief this morning- I got my RMA number and then when I went to take the Kaze Master out the bay, I discovered that the 4-pin connector wasn't plugged in properly- Doh! I musta snagged it when I was routing cables, so a quick push home and it's working perfectly again Had to cancel the RMA- felt a bit silly when I explained it to em, but as other's have found it's not the first time power cables have caused grief lol. I'd thoroughly recommend both the Kaze Master and judging from their service [even though I didn't actually have to return it] CCL as well.

05-07-2008, 07:59:38

PV5150
That's great to hear mate

06-07-2008, 12:56:04

monkey7
Looks like a pretty good fancontroller like me. Indeed would not tame delta fans, but who cares about silence when you have delta fans :P

Combined with the motherboard fan connectors it would be great to control all the fans in a CoolerMaster centurion 590, which is 6, if you only use one HDD module.

06-07-2008, 14:08:08

haofeng
sexy fan controller!!!...if only it could control a few more fans.

06-07-2008, 14:15:39

monkey7
It can handle 1Amp per channel, so you could use an Y cable to use 2 fans per channel if you have low RPM fans. Makes it control 8 of them.

09-07-2008, 12:10:23

haofeng
yeah, food for thought there, but what puts me off a bit as well i the premium price,especially condsidering you could get a decent controller for a tenner or less.

24-07-2009, 15:05:00

will123
Can you tell me how much those control knobs on the front of the unit protrude? I've got a door on the front of my PC case and want to know if I've got enough clearance for the door to close properly...

Thanks

24-07-2009, 15:12:48

monkey7
If it's the same as the ace version, which I have: 12mm
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.