Scythe Kaze Master Fan Controller

Testing

Testing
 
Testing of the Scythe Kaze Master was conducted within my watercooled test rig AquAus and the hardware contained within has been listed below:
 
Silverstone Temjin TJ-07
Intel Q6600 G0 Stepping processor
ASUS Blitz Formula SE motherboard
ASUS 8800 GTS (G80) 640Mb graphics card
OCZ FlexXLC PC2-9600 RAM
2 x 250GB Seagate SATA II HDD's (RAID 0)
3 x Xinruillian 120mm fans
 
I began the testing phase of the Scythe Kaze Master by comparing its VFD panel to that of the Scythe Kama Meter. I found the VFD panel a lot easier to read from a distance than the Kama Meter. The Scythe Kama Meter comes with 7 different colours that can be chosen for the background, and few of the colours available tend to make reading the screen a little difficult. The most problematic of the colours seems to be: aqua, dark blue and the green. The green and blue tend to give the screen a slightly 'washed out' appearance particularly. The Scythe Kaze Master's VFD panel on the other hand is very easy to read from eiher side-on or at a distance. Both the green and blue display characters are easily discernible and bright.
 
Fan control on the Scythe Kaze Master is equal to that of the Scythe Kama Meter. The knobs actually feel more responsive than the Kama Meter's too. When adjusting fan speed on the Kama Meter there seems to be a little lag between when you turn the knob and when you actually see a reduction/increase in the fan speed reported. By comparison, I found that the Scythe Kaze Master didn't exhibit the same lag seen on the Kama Meter.
 
The Scythe Kaze Master is able to run fans at their rated RPM or completely bring them to a stop. I am happy to report that this feature of slowing a fan to a standstill certainly works, but it isn't recommended for any extended period of time. Furthermore, I tested the fan malfunction feature and am happy to report that the highly audible alarm does sound and the display panel shows a '0' for that channel.
 
Temperature reporting was acceptably accurate when checked against a common mercury thermometer allowed to acclimatise. I ran a series of tests from various points around my TJ-07's chassis and I am happy to report that the greatest amount of deviation seen by the Scythe Kaze Master and its thermal probe was a mere 0.5 degree Celcius. I wasn't able to get the high temperature alarm to sound during my thermal testing, which leads me to suggest that it is set too high to be of any real use. According to the Scythe Kaze Master's documentation the high temperature alarm will kick in at 75 degrees C/165 degrees Fahrenheit. Personally, I'd like to know something is getting hot well before that. Perhaps Scythe could look at incorporating an alarm that the user can customise the trigger temperature themselves. Interestingly, this was an issue that I reported during my review of the Scythe Kama Meter where the trigger temperature was a whopping 90 degrees Celcius. At least Scythe has reduced the trigger point significantly since then.
 
Let's head over the page to see how the Scythe Kaze Master scored in the conclusion page...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-07-2008, 08:56:45

PV5150
Looking for a sexy, well-rounded fan controller unit? Scythe may have just what you're looking for with their Scythe Kaze Master Fan Controller

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...094342788s.jpg

Scythe Kaze Master Review

03-07-2008, 09:13:29

ionicle
good review, and a nice looking unit

just a bit too expensive i would recon..

if the price came down to around 25 quid, i would seriously consider it...

03-07-2008, 09:23:57

PV5150
Thanks ionicle. Although the Kaze Master may seem out of your price range, I do think it's a fair price

03-07-2008, 09:43:38

JN
Great review dude and nice looking fan controller. Shame it won't tame my 2.5amp Delta beasts

03-07-2008, 10:00:04

PV5150
Thanks mate, tis nice. Yeah the Kaze is well out of the league of those Delta's though

03-07-2008, 10:56:00

Kerotan
I've got one of these, had it for a couple of weeks, and the Display went this morning when I switched on- i'd sleeved all the cables for it last night and it was working fine when I went to bed I've sent an email to CCL about exchanging it, I'm hoping I was just unlucky cos I really liked it, it's a right pain though cos if they will replace it I'm gonna have to undo all my hard work with the braiding to send it back.

03-07-2008, 11:01:14

ionicle
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Thanks ionicle. Although the Kaze Master may seem out of your price range, I do think it's a fair price
its not that its out of my price range, i just dont think its worth that

scythe, admitadly have to make a profit, but i recon they could probably sell them for 25 quid and still make a good profit on it, and at that price, you'd be getting your moneys worth, more people would buy it, so the shortfall of profit in each device would be made up, by the incresed quantity that would sell because it was more like the value it is actually worth, and not overpriced for what it is.

04-07-2008, 10:36:20

Kerotan
Well I breathed a big sigh of relief this morning- I got my RMA number and then when I went to take the Kaze Master out the bay, I discovered that the 4-pin connector wasn't plugged in properly- Doh! I musta snagged it when I was routing cables, so a quick push home and it's working perfectly again Had to cancel the RMA- felt a bit silly when I explained it to em, but as other's have found it's not the first time power cables have caused grief lol. I'd thoroughly recommend both the Kaze Master and judging from their service [even though I didn't actually have to return it] CCL as well.

05-07-2008, 07:59:38

PV5150
That's great to hear mate

06-07-2008, 12:56:04

monkey7
Looks like a pretty good fancontroller like me. Indeed would not tame delta fans, but who cares about silence when you have delta fans :P

Combined with the motherboard fan connectors it would be great to control all the fans in a CoolerMaster centurion 590, which is 6, if you only use one HDD module.

06-07-2008, 14:08:08

haofeng
sexy fan controller!!!...if only it could control a few more fans.

06-07-2008, 14:15:39

monkey7
It can handle 1Amp per channel, so you could use an Y cable to use 2 fans per channel if you have low RPM fans. Makes it control 8 of them.

09-07-2008, 12:10:23

haofeng
yeah, food for thought there, but what puts me off a bit as well i the premium price,especially condsidering you could get a decent controller for a tenner or less.

24-07-2009, 15:05:00

will123
Can you tell me how much those control knobs on the front of the unit protrude? I've got a door on the front of my PC case and want to know if I've got enough clearance for the door to close properly...

Thanks

24-07-2009, 15:12:48

monkey7
If it's the same as the ace version, which I have: 12mm
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.