Scythe Kaze Master Fan Controller

Installation

Installation
 
Scythe Kaze MasterI'm not going to bore you with the in's and out's of installing the Kaze Master as it really isn't difficult, but I will give you a very brief run-down for the sake of posterity. You will see that I have installed both the Scythe Kaze Master and the Kama Meter to illustrate how they differ from each other and how they compliment my chassis. Please excuse the slightly fuzzy images of the Scythe Kaze Master. The green text is quite bright and seemed to confuse the light sensor in my Canon IXUS 950IS.
 
Installation-wise, I have always found it best practice to route the fan cables and thermal probe wires first as it makes sense to get the fiddly bits out of the way first. Use the tape supplied by Scythe to stick down the thermal probe in your chosen location, just make sure you remove any accumulated dust first. I'm a bit of a neat freak when it comes to cabling so a little more time spent routing the cables properly will give a better overall finish in the long run.
 
Scythe Kaze Master installed
Once you've finished routing the cables remove a spare 5.25" drivebay cover, or 3.5" if you have the smaller version, and set the cover aside. Feed the fan/thermal probe/power cables through the opening left by removing your drivebay cover and slowly connect all the cables to their respective headers. You might want to make a note of what probe and fan cable corresponds to which channel on the Scythe Kaze Meter too. I connected the three 120mm fans on my Thermochill PA120.3 radiator to the fan controller, and the RPM lead off my Laing DDC Ultra pump which you can see from the image above. For this review I also connected one thermal probe to allow me to check the calibration of the temperature sensor in the unit. The thermal probe is sitting roughly in the centre of my Silverstone TJ-07 and is measuring case temperatures inside. 
 
 
Once everything is connected then you are free to install the Scythe Kaze Master into position with the included screws. Make sure that the face of the unit finishes flush with the leading edge of your chassis and/or the drivebay cover below it. Tighten off the screws and viola...you're done! Fire up your rig and check that all the hardware that you have connected is being monitored properly. If it isn't, the RPM monitor (top row) will flash depending upon which channel isn't connected or reading properly, and the included alarm will squawk annoyingly until the problem is rectified. You can disable the alarm by removing the jumper pins on the PCB, but it kind of defeats the purpose of having an alarm.
 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-07-2008, 08:56:45

PV5150
Looking for a sexy, well-rounded fan controller unit? Scythe may have just what you're looking for with their Scythe Kaze Master Fan Controller

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...094342788s.jpg

Scythe Kaze Master Review

03-07-2008, 09:13:29

ionicle
good review, and a nice looking unit

just a bit too expensive i would recon..

if the price came down to around 25 quid, i would seriously consider it...

03-07-2008, 09:23:57

PV5150
Thanks ionicle. Although the Kaze Master may seem out of your price range, I do think it's a fair price

03-07-2008, 09:43:38

JN
Great review dude and nice looking fan controller. Shame it won't tame my 2.5amp Delta beasts

03-07-2008, 10:00:04

PV5150
Thanks mate, tis nice. Yeah the Kaze is well out of the league of those Delta's though

03-07-2008, 10:56:00

Kerotan
I've got one of these, had it for a couple of weeks, and the Display went this morning when I switched on- i'd sleeved all the cables for it last night and it was working fine when I went to bed I've sent an email to CCL about exchanging it, I'm hoping I was just unlucky cos I really liked it, it's a right pain though cos if they will replace it I'm gonna have to undo all my hard work with the braiding to send it back.

03-07-2008, 11:01:14

ionicle
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Thanks ionicle. Although the Kaze Master may seem out of your price range, I do think it's a fair price
its not that its out of my price range, i just dont think its worth that

scythe, admitadly have to make a profit, but i recon they could probably sell them for 25 quid and still make a good profit on it, and at that price, you'd be getting your moneys worth, more people would buy it, so the shortfall of profit in each device would be made up, by the incresed quantity that would sell because it was more like the value it is actually worth, and not overpriced for what it is.

04-07-2008, 10:36:20

Kerotan
Well I breathed a big sigh of relief this morning- I got my RMA number and then when I went to take the Kaze Master out the bay, I discovered that the 4-pin connector wasn't plugged in properly- Doh! I musta snagged it when I was routing cables, so a quick push home and it's working perfectly again Had to cancel the RMA- felt a bit silly when I explained it to em, but as other's have found it's not the first time power cables have caused grief lol. I'd thoroughly recommend both the Kaze Master and judging from their service [even though I didn't actually have to return it] CCL as well.

05-07-2008, 07:59:38

PV5150
That's great to hear mate

06-07-2008, 12:56:04

monkey7
Looks like a pretty good fancontroller like me. Indeed would not tame delta fans, but who cares about silence when you have delta fans :P

Combined with the motherboard fan connectors it would be great to control all the fans in a CoolerMaster centurion 590, which is 6, if you only use one HDD module.

06-07-2008, 14:08:08

haofeng
sexy fan controller!!!...if only it could control a few more fans.

06-07-2008, 14:15:39

monkey7
It can handle 1Amp per channel, so you could use an Y cable to use 2 fans per channel if you have low RPM fans. Makes it control 8 of them.

09-07-2008, 12:10:23

haofeng
yeah, food for thought there, but what puts me off a bit as well i the premium price,especially condsidering you could get a decent controller for a tenner or less.

24-07-2009, 15:05:00

will123
Can you tell me how much those control knobs on the front of the unit protrude? I've got a door on the front of my PC case and want to know if I've got enough clearance for the door to close properly...

Thanks

24-07-2009, 15:12:48

monkey7
If it's the same as the ace version, which I have: 12mm
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.