Scythe Kaze Master Fan Controller

Introduction

Introduction  Scythe logo
 
Scythe are a name synonymous with aftermarket cooling products that work well out of the box and usually have the looks to match. Around the middle of last year we were given the opportunity to review the Scythe Kama Meter Fan Controller which was a great performing little unit.  While the Kama Meter had a few small flaws, it still manages to be quite a popular fan controller. Here's part of what I had to say about the Scythe Kama Meter:
 
Admittedly, I had a couple of niggles with Scythe regarding the non-provision of sleeved cabling and the extreme temperatures required for the alarm to sound in the event of heat problems should they arise. I believe that the rectification of these issues would make the Scythe Kama Meter an extremely well rounded contender for any enthusiasts dollar. And I should clarify that the Kama Meter as it stands now, even with these issues is still well worth a solid look. And cable sleeving kits really aren't that expensive.
 
Scythe Kaze MasterToday, Overclock3D has been given the opportunity to take a look at Scythe's latest addition to their fan controller line - the Scythe Kaze Master. The Scythe Kaze Master, like the Kama Meter, is both a fan controller and a temperature monitoring device. The Kaze Master is able to control and monitor up to 4 fans, and monitor the temperatures of 4 items independently. Let's see what Scythe has to say about the Kaze Master:
 
Stylish 3.5inch / 5.25inch Multi Channel Fan Controller to control up to 2 fans(3.5inch) / 4 fans(5.25inch), and display up to 2 temperature (3.5inch) / 4 temperature (5.25inch) figures. Passive safety alarm feature is build-in to safely monitor and protect your systems! You have also “fan stop function” by turning the knob to counter-clockwise all the way to stop the fan. Not to forget the stylish wide view angle and high contrast VFD display to provide clear viewing.
 
As you can see the Scythe Kaze Master comes in both 3.5" and 5.25" flavours and features a VFD display which should provide a nice, bright and easily viewable screen. Let's begin the review by taking a look at the specifications:
 
Model Name: Kaze Master 5.25 (5.25inch Version)

Model Number:
KM01-BK (Black)
KM01-SL (Silver)

Manufacturer: Scythe Co., Ltd. Japan

Dimension: 148.5 x 42.5 x 63 mm (WxHxD)

Display Dimension: 114 x 20 mm

DC Input: 5V or 12V (From PC Power Supply)

Fan Adjustment Range: 3.7V (±10%) ï½Å¾ 12V (±10%)

Fan Channel: 4

Maximum Fan Ampere per Channel: 1A per channel

Fan Speed Range: 0  - 7500rpm (Display Range: 30rpm Incremental)
* Package indicates the maximum range as 9990rpm, but the actual range is 7500rpm.

Temperature Module Channel: 4

Temperature Range: 0 - 100°C / 32 - 199.9°F

Measurement Frequency: Every 2 Seconds

Weight: 165g
 
You will notice that I have only included the specifications for the 5.25" Scythe Kaze Master; simply because the 5.25" version is the one I'm reviewing. The 3.5" specifications aren't that far removed from that of the larger unit, but if you'd like to see them they can be found here.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-07-2008, 08:56:45

PV5150
Looking for a sexy, well-rounded fan controller unit? Scythe may have just what you're looking for with their Scythe Kaze Master Fan Controller

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...094342788s.jpg

Scythe Kaze Master Review

03-07-2008, 09:13:29

ionicle
good review, and a nice looking unit

just a bit too expensive i would recon..

if the price came down to around 25 quid, i would seriously consider it...

03-07-2008, 09:23:57

PV5150
Thanks ionicle. Although the Kaze Master may seem out of your price range, I do think it's a fair price

03-07-2008, 09:43:38

JN
Great review dude and nice looking fan controller. Shame it won't tame my 2.5amp Delta beasts

03-07-2008, 10:00:04

PV5150
Thanks mate, tis nice. Yeah the Kaze is well out of the league of those Delta's though

03-07-2008, 10:56:00

Kerotan
I've got one of these, had it for a couple of weeks, and the Display went this morning when I switched on- i'd sleeved all the cables for it last night and it was working fine when I went to bed I've sent an email to CCL about exchanging it, I'm hoping I was just unlucky cos I really liked it, it's a right pain though cos if they will replace it I'm gonna have to undo all my hard work with the braiding to send it back.

03-07-2008, 11:01:14

ionicle
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Thanks ionicle. Although the Kaze Master may seem out of your price range, I do think it's a fair price
its not that its out of my price range, i just dont think its worth that

scythe, admitadly have to make a profit, but i recon they could probably sell them for 25 quid and still make a good profit on it, and at that price, you'd be getting your moneys worth, more people would buy it, so the shortfall of profit in each device would be made up, by the incresed quantity that would sell because it was more like the value it is actually worth, and not overpriced for what it is.

04-07-2008, 10:36:20

Kerotan
Well I breathed a big sigh of relief this morning- I got my RMA number and then when I went to take the Kaze Master out the bay, I discovered that the 4-pin connector wasn't plugged in properly- Doh! I musta snagged it when I was routing cables, so a quick push home and it's working perfectly again Had to cancel the RMA- felt a bit silly when I explained it to em, but as other's have found it's not the first time power cables have caused grief lol. I'd thoroughly recommend both the Kaze Master and judging from their service [even though I didn't actually have to return it] CCL as well.

05-07-2008, 07:59:38

PV5150
That's great to hear mate

06-07-2008, 12:56:04

monkey7
Looks like a pretty good fancontroller like me. Indeed would not tame delta fans, but who cares about silence when you have delta fans :P

Combined with the motherboard fan connectors it would be great to control all the fans in a CoolerMaster centurion 590, which is 6, if you only use one HDD module.

06-07-2008, 14:08:08

haofeng
sexy fan controller!!!...if only it could control a few more fans.

06-07-2008, 14:15:39

monkey7
It can handle 1Amp per channel, so you could use an Y cable to use 2 fans per channel if you have low RPM fans. Makes it control 8 of them.

09-07-2008, 12:10:23

haofeng
yeah, food for thought there, but what puts me off a bit as well i the premium price,especially condsidering you could get a decent controller for a tenner or less.

24-07-2009, 15:05:00

will123
Can you tell me how much those control knobs on the front of the unit protrude? I've got a door on the front of my PC case and want to know if I've got enough clearance for the door to close properly...

Thanks

24-07-2009, 15:12:48

monkey7
If it's the same as the ace version, which I have: 12mm
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.