Scythe Kama Thermo

Performance

Performance

The main aim of of this part of the review is purely to assess the Kama Thermo's accuracy according to a given tolerance...The tolerance in this case, happens to be +/- 1 degree C, according to Scythe's specifications. Because the Kama Thermo is essentially a digital thermometer, I shall be assessing it's accuracy using a regular glass-mercury type thermometer during the performance tests.

The tests I have chosen to assess the performance of the Kama Thermo are those of the ambient air temperature in my office and the temperatures present from within my PC case. Both the glass-mercury thermometer and Kama Thermo temperature probe will be positioned in exactly the same area as each other to prevent any reading ambiguities. The mercury-glass thermometer was allowed 5 mins to aclimatise to the surrounding temperatures.

Ambient temperatures

The readings for the Kama Thermo were right on the money as far as ambient temperatures were concerned.

Case temps Case temps

Temperature readings were consistant enough from the front of my case to fall within the given tolerance of +/- 1 deg C given by Scythe. I chose a particularly warm spot in my case - just above my dual MCP600 pumps, and the greatest deviance from the temperature readings was a tiny 0.8 of a degree. The Kama Thermo's temperature reading capacity is certainly sufficient enough for regular use.

Now that we've looked at the Kama Thermo in detail and assessed it's performance, let head onto the conclusion page to see just how well it scored in today's review.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-02-2007, 09:12:33

PV5150
Looking for something different when it comes to monitoring temps? Scythe may have the answer...

Link

This is the first of a two part review, the second will follow shortly.

25-02-2007, 09:57:31

Rastalovich
Used to love goofing around with these things, pushing them to see if the ranges were true. (physics >.<)

I`d like to see it`s sensor in a block of ice, with mercury thermo, to see if it`ll hold up.

.. and also see what happens when it goes past it`s ceiling into 100 deg water, also alongside a mercury thermo.

Seems to me tho, the price is below the similar looking diy kits u can get from Maplins. Plus of course, u don`t have to make it.

25-02-2007, 20:04:19

FarFarAway
Does what it says on the tin I spose.

Just doesn't say much on the tin

26-02-2007, 02:22:49

PV5150
Yeah, tis true. It didn't pretend to be anything it wasn't, plain and simple

26-02-2007, 08:18:07

Caroline
Scythe is also a hardcore producer from Perth, Australia who I met the other night. Damn I thought you guys were talking about him lolol

26-02-2007, 08:22:25

llwyd
Yes, we also had several medieval farmers and fans of the grim reaper making a similar mistake but this IS a computer enthusiast forum. 99% of the threads are solely to do with computers

26-02-2007, 08:26:48

Caroline
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
Yes, we also had several medieval farmers and fans of the grim reaper making a similar mistake but this IS a computer enthusiast forum. 99% of the threads are solely to do with computers
Well I'd like to think some of you people like hardcore

26-02-2007, 08:33:59

equk
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BabyDollQt'
Well I'd like to think some of you people like hardcore
happy hardcore dance music or hardcore metal

26-02-2007, 08:38:27

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='equk'
happy hardcore dance music or hardcore metal
or oldskool hardcore or hardcore house...

26-02-2007, 09:26:59

Dav0s
or hardcore...erm...never mind

26-02-2007, 09:43:43

Ham
*sigh*

/attempts to drag back on topic

26-02-2007, 09:45:01

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
*sigh*

/attempts to drag back on topic
^ future mod in the making.

26-02-2007, 10:05:27

PV5150
lol stop spamming my review thread. Thanks Ham

25-03-2007, 11:23:05

!TIMMY!
Rofl trust dav0s to lower the tone.

28-09-2007, 18:32:50

sciasg
I know it's a little late, but I was wondering if both the temperature sensor and the backlight can work with only the 4 pin power, without the battery. Or does the battery have to be installed and have 4 pin power for the backlight and display. I bought one of these, and tried to operate it without the battery and just the 4 pin power and it didn't work. Just the backlight lit up. Thanks.

28-09-2007, 19:59:14

PV5150
As far as I know the battery is for backup purposes only. So with power coming from the 4-pin molex it should still work...lemme check for you and report back.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.