Prolimatech Samuel 17 Review

Packaging & Initial Impressions

Packaging & Initial Impressions


Prolimatech's design team are a classy set of individuals. The 2010 revision of the Samuel 17 is well decorated and utilises a robust outer packaging. Inside you will find the cooler placed upside down and a secondary box concealing the multiple socket mounts for both Intel and AMD.

Prolimatech Samuel 17     Prolimatech Samuel 17

Let's take a closer look at the cooler itself. Before I continue I must stress how small this cooler really is. These close up shots, along with it's six heatpipes might fool you into thinking it's a much larger cooler. Here, David stands at a laughable height of 41mm.

Prolimatech Samuel 17    

Prolimatech Samuel 17     Prolimatech Samuel 17

To the left and right of the cooler, there are two metal strips that allow you to fit a 120mm fan of your choice. Do remember that this cooler isn't designed for passive operation and as such, you will have to purchase a fan to complement it.

Prolimatech Samuel 17


Samuel 17's heatsink base is flat and scratch free. Assuming the processor's heatspreader is sufficiently flat, this will offer excellent surface contact.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-07-2010, 05:15:58

tinytomlogan
The makers of the highly regarded Megahalem have taken a slightly different path this time.

Continue Reading

13-07-2010, 06:12:47

silenthill
I think this cooler could be a great solution for those LAN party fans.

13-07-2010, 06:16:12

silenthill
Hi tom just wondering if you have anything coming up on the GTX 460.

Regards

13-07-2010, 06:26:59

tinytomlogan
The 260 fella? Thats old tech so no matey. If you mean the 460, then yes Mul who wrote this review will have a review live on Friday.

13-07-2010, 06:56:26

silenthill
Really sorry mate I mean the GTX 460, Iíve just finished reading a review on it and it seems like the guys who have bought the GTX 465 are going to have to sell them on EBay, nice one from NVIDIA youíve just made a lot of customers very angry. Looking forward to Mul review on Friday.

13-07-2010, 09:14:10

thestepster
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
The 260 fella? Thats old tech so no matey. If you mean the 460, then yes Mul who wrote this review will have a review live on Friday.
cant wait to see this and its got a folding@home bit wooo

13-07-2010, 09:42:33

silenthill
Great news for those guys who have the GTX 465 & 470 just read the review on Friday and then you can thank NVIDIA for coming up with something thatís almost half the price of your cards but has almost the same performance. Ohh and the SLI performance unbelievable.

13-07-2010, 14:25:16

F-alienware
It doesn't seem to matter SH. Those loyal to Nvidia are so blinded by it that they'll just say "thankyou sir, please may I have another".

There's just no getting through it seems.

13-07-2010, 15:07:23

silenthill
I remember the same thing happened when they released the GTX 275 it was half the price of the GTX 285 and performed exactly the same, in fact it even had the same number of cores 240 I recall, but I don't blame people for sticking with NVIDIA almost every game on the planet has their logo on it.

14-07-2010, 08:29:41

F-alienware
In honesty SH the 2 series were all completely avoidable. Those who owned 8800GTX cards were really better off either SLI-ing their existing cards or just sticking. A mate of mine had a BFG 8800GTX OC. He ran a 3DMV and scored about 1200 points less than I did with my 280 XXX. My ultra scored about 1000 points less than my 280 XXX did.

Now had my mate SLI-ed that 8800? he would have kicked seven shades out of the 200 series. Infact in the end he deciphered that the 8800GTX ran so well that he used it until about three months ago when he finally caved in and got a 5870 VaporX. That is the first time he has EVER got an ATI card. I've known this guy for ten years and he has always been faithful to Nvidia. VB knows him too, and all the while VB and I were using ATI Radeons in the early noughties this guy was buying Nvidia.

So for him to switch really said a lot to me.

(Note for VB... Echo... I've sent him a mail and pointed him here.. Who knows he may join up Great bloke)

14-07-2010, 09:57:31

silenthill
I remember NVIDIA released the 9800 GX2 which was a dual GPU card it was 400 £ and then after a few months they released the GTX 280 which was 300 £ and then a few months later they released the GTX 285 which was 300 £, point is all these cards had almost the same performance but NVIDIA successfully marketed all of these cards and that shows only one think that people arenít really researching the product before they buy it. Oh I just can go on and on but whatís the use and I apologise to tom and OC3D for going out of the topic reviewed but I really think NVIDIA should have not released the GTX 465 itís a absolute waste of time.

14-07-2010, 10:29:13

F-alienware
Of course they all had similar performance because for the most part they were the same card

The 285 was a rebranded 280 with a higher clock and slightly faster memory and so on. That's pretty much what Nvidia have done for years.. Here are the ones they have been publically flogged for that I have read about..

9800GT - 8800GT with a faster clock and a couple of other minor tweeks. Same exact main GPU, though.

9800GTX - pretty much a slightly higher clocked 8800GTX with some more pipeplines (that were there all along). Slightly faster ram, too.

250GTS - basically a 9800GTX.

9600GT - see 9800GT. This one was a rebranded diddled with 8600GT.

240GTS - rebranded 9600GT or was it 9800GT with some more pipelines.

Repeat ad nauseum. As I say, I know people who binned their 8800GTXes to buy a 9800GTX. Imagine their surprise when they ran 3DMV and only got about a 10% speed increase? Or imagine how gutted they were when it finally came out that they had basically paid a premium to buy back the same card they had just pulled out?

The 8800GTX was an absolute revelation from Nvidia, it really was. It came as a shock out of nowhere and gave ATI a seriously concussive slap. ATI were playing catchup right up until the 4xxx IMO, but even that didn't shame up the 8800GTX and it took them about two years.

Since then though? it's been ATI all the way. The 4890 traded serious blows with the 280/285 and cost a good £150 less. Infact within a couple of months the 4890 could be had for about £170, half of what Nvidia wanted for the 285.

The crazy part of all of this? Go to Ebay and punch in 8800GTX. Look how many you will find that are listed as faulty.

They need to do something about the temps and they need to do it fast. I truly hope they may get a fingernail into the ladder with the 460 as it could seriously be one of the last throws of the dice for them. On the surface? It's business as usual but in the real world they are facing some serious financial problems. The very fact they ended manufacturing of the 200 series GPUs four months before they got Fermi out the door is a dire situation indeed. I mean, I know they are big, rich and powerful but NO COMPANY can afford to rest on its laurels for four months and sell nothing.

And the cost of Fermi? Jesus, let's not even go there on that one.

14-07-2010, 12:28:31

silenthill
So ALX what do you think of the Prolimatech Samuel 17 cooler?

15-07-2010, 09:40:14

silenthill
Hi tom Iím having a problem playing S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat with dx11 enabled it keeps on crashing. I canít figure out the problem any ideas mate?

15-07-2010, 09:49:01

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='silenthill'
Hi tom Iím having a problem playing S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat with dx11 enabled it keeps on crashing. I canít figure out the problem any ideas mate?
Mate start a thread in the right place. This is a CPU cooler thread.

15-07-2010, 09:50:27

silenthill
sorry

18-07-2010, 08:56:29

llwyd
Good to see there is still scope for improvement with compact coolers. Was the 14cm fan on the NH-C12P a typo or did you have an adapter on there with an NF-P14?

18-07-2010, 09:05:52

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='silenthill'
So ALX what do you think of the Prolimatech Samuel 17 cooler?


It does what it's supposed to. Low profile, good for small rigs.

18-07-2010, 12:21:44

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
Good to see there is still scope for improvement with compact coolers. Was the 14cm fan on the NH-C12P a typo or did you have an adapter on there with an NF-P14?
The fan on it is 140mm but has mounts for 120mm fans dude.

19-07-2010, 07:28:09

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
The fan on it is 140mm but has mounts for 120mm fans dude.
Ah right was it the NH-C12P SE14 then?

19-07-2010, 08:04:23

tinytomlogan
The fan was a NF-P14 FLX but the cooler in comparison was the NH-C12P-SE14
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.