OrigenAE X15e HTPC ATX Case

Conclusion

Conclusion

With a price tag of around £499.95 at SpecialTech I was expecting something special from OrigenAE, and I'm pleased to say that is exactly what I got. The X15e is the Bentley of the HTPC enclosure world, and no other case I've ever seen or reviewed comes close to its attention to detail and craftsmanship.

OrigenAE have produced a case that fits in perfectly with even the most high-end of AV equipment, and wouldn't look out of place in a superstar's living room.

Functionality wise, the touchscreen display is amazing, making navigating around WindowsMCE a breeze. This coupled with the included remote controls, means that watching your favourite Video's or TV shows requires no extra effort than your pre-HTPC days.

Pro's
+ Amazing brushed Aluminium finish
+ Impeccable build quality
+ Noise dampening features
+ High quality 7" LCD touchscreen display
+ Functional remote controls.
+ Quiet cooling system
+ Spacious
+ Full ATX compatibility

Con's
- Extremely high price tag
- No software included

Editors Choice

Thanks to Emmanuelle at OrigenAE for making this review possible.

Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-07-2006, 07:20:01

JN
Looking for the best HTPC case that money can buy and arn't put off by a 500 price tag? OrigenAE may well have just what you've been searching for.

Review Here

07-07-2006, 07:23:51

specialtech
Cases and additonal details are available from us at Specialtech

I've got one of these so if you need to know anything additional then let us know.

07-07-2006, 07:38:34

Raven
looked nice but what a pricetag.

07-07-2006, 07:41:41

specialtech
Thats what makes it unique. If a porsche was the same price as a fiesta, for example, then it would get the same reputation.

07-07-2006, 07:45:56

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='specialtech'
Thats what makes it unique. If a porsche was the same price as a fiesta, for example, then it would get the same reputation.
I don't think so.

But yeah the case is very nice

If you had a helluva lot of money you'd buy it but not otherwise I don't think

07-07-2006, 08:01:07

JN
I think we'll just put it down to the fact that Porsche's cost a lot more to build and are made in smaller quantities which is why they are more expensive.

As the saying goes: "You get what you pay for".

07-07-2006, 11:21:10

specialtech
Porsche's cost more to build because the quality of them is much more superior than a lot of cars out there.

With a case like this its one of those things to put the cost aside. If someone really wants it then cost is irrelevant to them. Like people who buy expensive cars that cost about 100k, the arent going to worry about the price of petrol.

07-07-2006, 11:24:28

masterblaster
horses for courses.

seeing as I've spent a small fortune on my TV and Surround sound system, I guess I'd stump up the cash as it'd fit in nicely with the rest of my stuff.

Not for everyone I guess but then again is anything?

07-07-2006, 17:19:00

Raven
500 is more than i have to live on a month so its way out of my priceclass, sometimes i wish i could work as it looked quite good.

07-07-2006, 20:18:04

Raging
500 for a case! please!!!! that is a ridiculous price even if it has a lcd

i can think of more greater ways to spend 500 billz

nice reveiw tho jim,as always

07-07-2006, 20:26:23

FragTek
That is a truely amazing piece of kit! Sheesh, I wanna buy a TV and build up an HTPC to go along with it. Dizzamn, very nice. Wonder if it's a bit less expensive here in the states or if we can even get em.

08-07-2006, 02:10:03

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMS
I think we'll just put it down to the fact that Porsche's cost a lot more to build and are made in smaller quantities which is why they are more expensive.

As the saying goes: "You get what you pay for".
Not for everything, XMS .

Great review though, m8
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.