OrigenAE X15e HTPC ATX Case

Introduction & Packaging

Introduction

A short while ago I reviewed OrigenAE's X10 case. Being highly impressed with its overall build quality and attention to detail the case managed to obtain our 'Editors Choice' award, and a total score of 8/10.

After seeing our review, OrigenAE asked if we'd like to take a look at their flagship model, the X15e. Intrigued as to how OrigenAE could make what was almost a perfect case any better I just had to take a look.


Packaging

The X15e arrived in perfect condition all the way from OrigenAE's Marketing / Sales offices in France. Using very similar packaging to the X10, the X15e is contained within a double walled cardboard box, and is protected by two oversized polystyrene inserts. Even the roughest of couriers would have problems causing any damage to the X15e in this packaging.

OrigenAE X15e Packaging OrigenAE X15e Packaging

OrigenAE X15e Packaging OrigenAE X15e Packaging

Keeping it nice and simple, OrigenAE have printed their logo on the top and sides of the box. To let you know what's contained inside OrigenAE have placed a sticker on the top of the box. From the images above we can see that I've been sent the black version of the X15e.

Also included on the side of the box is a specification sticker, which gives you some of the basic information about the case. Here we can see that the X15e has a 7" Touchscreen display, Full ATX motherboard and PSU support and an all Aluminium construction amongst other things.

Something that's not shown in the pictures above is the protective polystyrene layer that covers the front of the case. This prevents any harm from coming to the LCD display during transit.

OrigenAE X15e Packaging OrigenAE X15e Packaging

Typical English summer time weather was clearly in effect during the photo shoot, with half of the images looking under-exposed as the sun hid behind the clouds.

OrigenAE have placed the X15e inside a plastic bag, and have also gone to the extra trouble of protecting the LCD screen with a plastic cover. Hopefully this should ensure that no nasty scratches find their way on to your purchase.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-07-2006, 07:20:01

JN
Looking for the best HTPC case that money can buy and arn't put off by a 500 price tag? OrigenAE may well have just what you've been searching for.

Review Here

07-07-2006, 07:23:51

specialtech
Cases and additonal details are available from us at Specialtech

I've got one of these so if you need to know anything additional then let us know.

07-07-2006, 07:38:34

Raven
looked nice but what a pricetag.

07-07-2006, 07:41:41

specialtech
Thats what makes it unique. If a porsche was the same price as a fiesta, for example, then it would get the same reputation.

07-07-2006, 07:45:56

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='specialtech'
Thats what makes it unique. If a porsche was the same price as a fiesta, for example, then it would get the same reputation.
I don't think so.

But yeah the case is very nice

If you had a helluva lot of money you'd buy it but not otherwise I don't think

07-07-2006, 08:01:07

JN
I think we'll just put it down to the fact that Porsche's cost a lot more to build and are made in smaller quantities which is why they are more expensive.

As the saying goes: "You get what you pay for".

07-07-2006, 11:21:10

specialtech
Porsche's cost more to build because the quality of them is much more superior than a lot of cars out there.

With a case like this its one of those things to put the cost aside. If someone really wants it then cost is irrelevant to them. Like people who buy expensive cars that cost about 100k, the arent going to worry about the price of petrol.

07-07-2006, 11:24:28

masterblaster
horses for courses.

seeing as I've spent a small fortune on my TV and Surround sound system, I guess I'd stump up the cash as it'd fit in nicely with the rest of my stuff.

Not for everyone I guess but then again is anything?

07-07-2006, 17:19:00

Raven
500 is more than i have to live on a month so its way out of my priceclass, sometimes i wish i could work as it looked quite good.

07-07-2006, 20:18:04

Raging
500 for a case! please!!!! that is a ridiculous price even if it has a lcd

i can think of more greater ways to spend 500 billz

nice reveiw tho jim,as always

07-07-2006, 20:26:23

FragTek
That is a truely amazing piece of kit! Sheesh, I wanna buy a TV and build up an HTPC to go along with it. Dizzamn, very nice. Wonder if it's a bit less expensive here in the states or if we can even get em.

08-07-2006, 02:10:03

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMS
I think we'll just put it down to the fact that Porsche's cost a lot more to build and are made in smaller quantities which is why they are more expensive.

As the saying goes: "You get what you pay for".
Not for everything, XMS .

Great review though, m8
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.