NZXT Phantom 630 Review

Exterior: The Drive Bays

NZXT Phantom 630 Review

 

 

Exterior: The Drive Bays

It's not very often we dedicate a whole section to the drive bays alone. However as you will see, with the numerous and flexible configuration options it was essential that we take the time to do this section justice. First up are the 5.25" bays, nothing that unusual here granted, but you do get tool free mechanisms, and none of that plastic clip nonsense, these boys are metal. Mounted on one side only, there's still the option to secure with screws if you wish. 

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

It's when we come to look at the internal bays that things get a bit more interesting.  On the face of it we have 8 bays, with each able to accept either a 3.52 or 2.5" drive.  The bays are mounted vertically towards the front of the case with enough room between them and the front fan mount to mount a slim 120.2 radiator.  at the top of the drive stack and facing inwards is a pivoting mount for a 120 or 140mm fan. 

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

What isn't perhaps immediately obvious is that the bays are modular in nature. Split into a triple, a double and single bay blocks the bays can be configured to best suit your needs, or removed entirely if you feel necessary. Grooves in a plate that itself can be removed to allow 120.2 or 140.2 radiators to be placed in the base of the case provide a secure location for the bays, as to similar grooves on the underneath of the 5.25" bays and on each of the bay units.

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

Below we've shown various configurations that allow for the accommodation of longer GPUs in the primary and/or secondary slots, as well as configurations that allow easy tubing routing for a front mounted radiator. 

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review   

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review 

However you decide to configure your bays you'll be using the ubiquitous NZXT mounts. Perhaps a little flexible to be called truly robust, they do however do the job well, just be sure to remove all drives if you transport the case as even with no drives installed they will shake lose in transit.

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-02-2013, 05:54:58

tinytomlogan
Can the 630 continue the pround liniage of the NZXT Phantom range?


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...084713496l.jpg


Continue Reading

04-02-2013, 09:48:36

AverageNinja
Nice review! Still seems a bit too expensive for what you get though.

04-02-2013, 10:04:01

Gamepro105
Theres some nice features included. not a bad case!

05-02-2013, 04:02:41

EPiiKK
This might be EXACTLY what i'm looking for my first wc build in the future.
Just cant find any in my country yet...

06-02-2013, 10:15:36

XNine
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPiiKK View Post
This might be EXACTLY what i'm looking for my first wc build in the future.
Just cant find any in my country yet...
They are starting to make their rounds abroad, so I'd expect to see them in the next 1-2 weeks.

06-02-2013, 12:34:45

jamesriley94
I'd have preferred this to my Switch tbh.

Just wasn't available when I was buying, and the side panel put me off a bit.

NZXT really needs to get a replacement parts store up, so clean side panels, or windowed options can be bought - or at least replacements so if you mess it up, you aren't completely in the dark!

07-02-2013, 00:54:46

andrevautour
I don't like the look of these at all, but it certainly does have a lot of good features. it's nice to see some things that i was complaining about in the 650d like a grommet above the power supply for routing cables, hard drive cages divided up into 3 sections, and the nice LED that lights up the rear I/O. I'd like to see a subtle light for the front I/O on some cases like the 650D in the future.

09-02-2013, 04:02:22

frozenwings
First off, thanks for the measurement between the motherboard and the roof; I've been looking around for it for a few days now. You would be surprised (or maybe you wouldn't) to know how often reviewers leave out how thick of a radiator can put in the top. I see the clearance is only 55mm, so I'm going to try and squeeze in a 30mm rad in push/pull since I can't fit in a 60mm rad up top.

I was wondering about how the bottom was looking in terms of radiators, I didn't see any measurements in the review. I will probably keep the 3 hdd bay (I'm a bit of a digital pack rat) hooked in it's default position and get rid of all the rest of the bays and put the thickest 240mm rad in the bottom in push/pull that it will allow. It looks like a ton of space, so I'm guessing I could fit at least a 45mm rad in push/pull.

I'm going to probably end up getting this case, it has pretty much everything I need in terms of looks and watercooling potential. That side fan/mesh area on the side panel has a date with a jigsaw though, only thing I don't like about the case. Thanks again for the review, now I can now start ordering parts.

09-02-2013, 07:45:52

FredEx
I have always wondered about airflow in these cases. I mean taking air from inside and out. Especially if one is going to be water cooling. Anything in the way disrupts flow and not having any mesh panels clear of any obstacles would impede air flow. Even some perforated panels impede air flow and create fan noise.

09-02-2013, 09:21:19

Spiderz
Some of the features on this are great just really do not like the styling of the Phantom range, especially the side panel, the window is tiny.

I'd take the switch over this just because I prefer the cleaner look to it.

09-02-2013, 10:56:59

(SS)Stu
Great review!
Wish it had a full window instead of this window/mesh mix!
Seems to have great features for watercooling but i still too expensive for this size of a case.

04-07-2013, 02:44:37

chiewleong
just want to know whether XSPC AX360 can fit into the top of this case?
I know that if EX360 can fit, and RX240 can fit at bottom.
thanks in advance.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.