NZXT Phantom 630 Review

Up Close: Front, Rear and Base

NZXT Phantom 630 Review

 

Up Close: Front, Rear and Base

As with other models in the Phantom range the external 5.25" bay area is shielded from view by a flush fitting door. In the case of the 630 the 4 bays hide behind a door hinged on the right hand side, and unlike the 40 the door is not click and release but rather secured by a pair of magnets. a wise choice given the propensity for greasy fingerprints to be deposited on the sleek matte black finish as a result of pressing to open the door.

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

The mesh panels blanking the 5.25" bays are easily removed by means of a sliding lock on the left hand side, giving access to the bays behind.

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

Sliding down the sleek front we find ourselves at the intake area for the front cooling array.  A single white bladed NZXT fan lurks behind a meshed and filtered triangular panel.  At the very base of the case, and almost concealed from view we find the pull out tab for the front section of the base air filter panel.

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

The chassis of the 630 rests on 4 long narrow feet, blending nicely into the lines of the case, with each of the feet being outfitted with a rubber isolation pad.

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

Pretty much the entire underside of the 630 is covered by mesh air filters. Providing clean air to both the PSU area and, more interiorly any fans or Radiators you mount in the base. Both filters are easily removed with the need for any disassembly.

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

Finally on our trip around the exterior we come to the rear. Uppermost we find a bulged Hex mesh panel covering the yet another white bladed fan, this time a 140mm model. although the slotted location holes it is entirely feasible to fit a 120mm fan should you so desire. To the left of this fan as we would expect we find the rear I/O cut out, beneath which lie no less than 9 vented PCI slots, a hint that this case is able to accept the XL ATX format of motherboards. The very base of the case is home to the PSU cut out. You might of course be thinking that it's strange NZXT have not included any tubing cut outs. If you are go back and have a read of the Technical specification. With the ability to house a prodigious number of radiators internally, do we really think we need cut outs to mount further rads externally?

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-02-2013, 05:54:58

tinytomlogan
Can the 630 continue the pround liniage of the NZXT Phantom range?


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...084713496l.jpg


Continue Reading

04-02-2013, 09:48:36

AverageNinja
Nice review! Still seems a bit too expensive for what you get though.

04-02-2013, 10:04:01

Gamepro105
Theres some nice features included. not a bad case!

05-02-2013, 04:02:41

EPiiKK
This might be EXACTLY what i'm looking for my first wc build in the future.
Just cant find any in my country yet...

06-02-2013, 10:15:36

XNine
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPiiKK View Post
This might be EXACTLY what i'm looking for my first wc build in the future.
Just cant find any in my country yet...
They are starting to make their rounds abroad, so I'd expect to see them in the next 1-2 weeks.

06-02-2013, 12:34:45

jamesriley94
I'd have preferred this to my Switch tbh.

Just wasn't available when I was buying, and the side panel put me off a bit.

NZXT really needs to get a replacement parts store up, so clean side panels, or windowed options can be bought - or at least replacements so if you mess it up, you aren't completely in the dark!

07-02-2013, 00:54:46

andrevautour
I don't like the look of these at all, but it certainly does have a lot of good features. it's nice to see some things that i was complaining about in the 650d like a grommet above the power supply for routing cables, hard drive cages divided up into 3 sections, and the nice LED that lights up the rear I/O. I'd like to see a subtle light for the front I/O on some cases like the 650D in the future.

09-02-2013, 04:02:22

frozenwings
First off, thanks for the measurement between the motherboard and the roof; I've been looking around for it for a few days now. You would be surprised (or maybe you wouldn't) to know how often reviewers leave out how thick of a radiator can put in the top. I see the clearance is only 55mm, so I'm going to try and squeeze in a 30mm rad in push/pull since I can't fit in a 60mm rad up top.

I was wondering about how the bottom was looking in terms of radiators, I didn't see any measurements in the review. I will probably keep the 3 hdd bay (I'm a bit of a digital pack rat) hooked in it's default position and get rid of all the rest of the bays and put the thickest 240mm rad in the bottom in push/pull that it will allow. It looks like a ton of space, so I'm guessing I could fit at least a 45mm rad in push/pull.

I'm going to probably end up getting this case, it has pretty much everything I need in terms of looks and watercooling potential. That side fan/mesh area on the side panel has a date with a jigsaw though, only thing I don't like about the case. Thanks again for the review, now I can now start ordering parts.

09-02-2013, 07:45:52

FredEx
I have always wondered about airflow in these cases. I mean taking air from inside and out. Especially if one is going to be water cooling. Anything in the way disrupts flow and not having any mesh panels clear of any obstacles would impede air flow. Even some perforated panels impede air flow and create fan noise.

09-02-2013, 09:21:19

Spiderz
Some of the features on this are great just really do not like the styling of the Phantom range, especially the side panel, the window is tiny.

I'd take the switch over this just because I prefer the cleaner look to it.

09-02-2013, 10:56:59

(SS)Stu
Great review!
Wish it had a full window instead of this window/mesh mix!
Seems to have great features for watercooling but i still too expensive for this size of a case.

04-07-2013, 02:44:37

chiewleong
just want to know whether XSPC AX360 can fit into the top of this case?
I know that if EX360 can fit, and RX240 can fit at bottom.
thanks in advance.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.