NZXT Phantom 630 Review

Up Close: Exterior Overview and Roof

NZXT Phantom 630 Review

 

Up Close:  Exterior Overview and Roof

The Phantom 630 continues the sleek yet edgy styling of its contemporaries, and although there are fewer angles than the original Phantom case or indeed the 410 or 820 there's no doubting which particular family tree the 630 fell from.  Angular mesh panels give us a glimpse of the white bladed fans beneath with small recesses and grooves adding to the three dimensionality of the case.

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

With the right side panel a smooth expanse of Matte Black, devoid of features, our eyes are more naturally drawn to the left panel.  Here we see as with other models in the Phantom range NZXT have decided to split the area between a window and a 200mm fan intake.  Both are of a parallelogram shape and fit well with the overall angled theme of the case.  That said, we would much rather have had a single large window.    

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

Zooming in on the roof of the 630 again we get a glimpse of the white bladed 200mm NZXT fan set on extract beneath a meshed panel.  Forward of this we a rather striking area of ventilation slots cut directly into the moulding of the roof panel.  At the very front of the roof down either side we finally find the front I/O and power area. 

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review

 

As you can see from the images below, NZXT have essentially split the sockets from the buttons.  The left hand side of the case is home to 2xUSB 3.0 and 2xUSB 3.0 along with audio in and out. 

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

Over to the right we find the switch panel.  Al large power switch lives just off the main panel, with the reset switch slightly smaller and again camping out slightly from the main black.  The main panel itself is home to a small switch which controls a white LED mounted above the rear I/O area giving illumination should you need it to that otherwise dark recess at the back of your case.  central to this panel is a 3 position fan control slider and finally a set of 3 LEDs which indicate which speed is selected.  The Look and feel of both these panels is one of class and quality, with all the switches having a nice firm positive feel to them. 

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-02-2013, 05:54:58

tinytomlogan
Can the 630 continue the pround liniage of the NZXT Phantom range?


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...084713496l.jpg


Continue Reading

04-02-2013, 09:48:36

AverageNinja
Nice review! Still seems a bit too expensive for what you get though.

04-02-2013, 10:04:01

Gamepro105
Theres some nice features included. not a bad case!

05-02-2013, 04:02:41

EPiiKK
This might be EXACTLY what i'm looking for my first wc build in the future.
Just cant find any in my country yet...

06-02-2013, 10:15:36

XNine
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPiiKK View Post
This might be EXACTLY what i'm looking for my first wc build in the future.
Just cant find any in my country yet...
They are starting to make their rounds abroad, so I'd expect to see them in the next 1-2 weeks.

06-02-2013, 12:34:45

jamesriley94
I'd have preferred this to my Switch tbh.

Just wasn't available when I was buying, and the side panel put me off a bit.

NZXT really needs to get a replacement parts store up, so clean side panels, or windowed options can be bought - or at least replacements so if you mess it up, you aren't completely in the dark!

07-02-2013, 00:54:46

andrevautour
I don't like the look of these at all, but it certainly does have a lot of good features. it's nice to see some things that i was complaining about in the 650d like a grommet above the power supply for routing cables, hard drive cages divided up into 3 sections, and the nice LED that lights up the rear I/O. I'd like to see a subtle light for the front I/O on some cases like the 650D in the future.

09-02-2013, 04:02:22

frozenwings
First off, thanks for the measurement between the motherboard and the roof; I've been looking around for it for a few days now. You would be surprised (or maybe you wouldn't) to know how often reviewers leave out how thick of a radiator can put in the top. I see the clearance is only 55mm, so I'm going to try and squeeze in a 30mm rad in push/pull since I can't fit in a 60mm rad up top.

I was wondering about how the bottom was looking in terms of radiators, I didn't see any measurements in the review. I will probably keep the 3 hdd bay (I'm a bit of a digital pack rat) hooked in it's default position and get rid of all the rest of the bays and put the thickest 240mm rad in the bottom in push/pull that it will allow. It looks like a ton of space, so I'm guessing I could fit at least a 45mm rad in push/pull.

I'm going to probably end up getting this case, it has pretty much everything I need in terms of looks and watercooling potential. That side fan/mesh area on the side panel has a date with a jigsaw though, only thing I don't like about the case. Thanks again for the review, now I can now start ordering parts.

09-02-2013, 07:45:52

FredEx
I have always wondered about airflow in these cases. I mean taking air from inside and out. Especially if one is going to be water cooling. Anything in the way disrupts flow and not having any mesh panels clear of any obstacles would impede air flow. Even some perforated panels impede air flow and create fan noise.

09-02-2013, 09:21:19

Spiderz
Some of the features on this are great just really do not like the styling of the Phantom range, especially the side panel, the window is tiny.

I'd take the switch over this just because I prefer the cleaner look to it.

09-02-2013, 10:56:59

(SS)Stu
Great review!
Wish it had a full window instead of this window/mesh mix!
Seems to have great features for watercooling but i still too expensive for this size of a case.

04-07-2013, 02:44:37

chiewleong
just want to know whether XSPC AX360 can fit into the top of this case?
I know that if EX360 can fit, and RX240 can fit at bottom.
thanks in advance.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.