NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

Up Close: Rear of Motherboard area

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

Up Close:  Rear of Motherboard area

We here at OC3D find the reverse side of the Motherboard nearly as exciting as the front side.  Sure round the front is where all the sexy kit goes, but it's back here that all the hard work is done to make the wiring and cable management look clean and tidy.   Nothing makes us cringe more than a load of high end kit stuffed into a case amongst a viper's nest of wires and tubes.  When we look at the rear we look for three things.  Cable management holes, cable tie points and depth of space available.  We're pleased to say that like the other cases in the Phantom line the 530 excels in all three areas.  With 3 large vertical and one horizontal rubber grommeted holes, not to mention the large PSU out hole and a few smaller scattered holes there's plenty of places to route those pesky cables through.  A total of 25 cable tie points also means that that you're not going to struggle to get them all running where you want them. 

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

Centrally located in the rear of the case lies a single channel 30W fan controller hub.  The hub is supplied via a molex from your PSU and has 3 pin outputs for up to 10 fans, meaning you can put in a 240mm rad with a 4 fan push pull system in the front, a 360mm rad with3 fans in the roof as well as a 140mm extract at the rear and still have 2 ports left over.  To the right of the fan hub there's a mounting bracket for a single 2.5" drive.  The bracket is secured with a screw meaning you can mount your drive to it and then attach the whole shooting match to the case.  We quite like these brackets although we would like to see them rotated 90 degrees and moved closer to the edge to make cable management easier.

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

It's nice to see the use of screws in a case as opposed to all joints being riveted as this makes it much easier for the modder to ply his trade.  The image below left shows the metal top of the case being secured with 3 screws making it's removal a doddle.  Unlikely that it is that you're going to need to remove the floor of the case, it will be much trickier as the screws have been well and truly painted over.

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

The third factor we look for at the rear of the motherboard is the space available for cable routing.  Again NZXT get it right with 26mm of space for the majority of he area and up to 34mm in some areas.  Much more room than that and you'd see us twitching to see if we could get a rad back here.

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-09-2013, 08:16:21

tinytomlogan
NZXT have refreshed the Phantom line up in the form of the 530. It seems they've been listening to customer feedback, because guess what guys...It's got a bloody great window!!!

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...121303422l.JPG


Continue Reading

02-09-2013, 08:32:22

Feronix
Is it just me (or the photos) or is this case just really tall compared to the depth?

Either way, it looks nice. I liked the exterior of the 410/630/820 better but it's not bad. Definitely a good case from NZXT, as I had expected tbh.

02-09-2013, 08:38:36

SieB
Looks like a decent case, you can see a lot of similarities with it and the Switch 810 though. Not that is a bad thing.

02-09-2013, 08:42:05

Watsyerproblem
Looks great, the new window works wonders for the looks of this case.

02-09-2013, 09:13:15

FTR.4500MHz
Nice review as always. Spoted a typo on page 7, 1st paragraphe, 1st line: 350 instead of 530.

02-09-2013, 09:15:22

Remmy
You can already see people making a window of that mesh panel on the side panel

02-09-2013, 09:58:05

Spiderz
Not a fan of the phantom cases (bit too garish a design for me) but this looks like the best of the lot all round. Now if only NZXT would stop with any side mesh for fans and made that part slightly different, all would be good.

02-09-2013, 13:51:12

SolarNova
As much as i like the look of the phantom series, and i really do like them, they are the sleekest/curviest looking PC casses out. The paint, specificaly the white paint, chips VERY easily.
I went through 6 ..yes SIX (from different retailers), white Phantom 820's and each and every one of them had paint chiping issues on the corners of the doors. They would ether be pre-chiped, or chip within a couple uses of the door.

In the end i had to give up and bought a CM Storm Stryker Instead.

If the 530 uses the same paint and application method, i would Highly advise people to avoid the white one.
Other than the white paint issue the NZXT casses look great and have great features.
And their customer support is brilliant, I recommend them.

03-09-2013, 07:25:26

R0Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
NZXT have refreshed the Phantom line up in the form of the 530. It seems they've been listening to customer feedback, because guess what guys...It's got a bloody great window!!!
So, are you going to do a video review of this one, with all your water-cooling gear fitting tips and all? You could do a comparison between the 530 and 630 side-by-side. That would be really awesome. Please do

03-09-2013, 08:36:12

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by R0Y View Post
So, are you going to do a video review of this one, with all your water-cooling gear fitting tips and all? You could do a comparison between the 530 and 630 side-by-side. That would be really awesome. Please do

No mate Gary has the case with him. He has done the review I wont be doing any work on these. Ive not got the time to put a watercooled rig in everything sadly.

03-09-2013, 09:02:25

SuB
Lies, you've got all the time in the world! (lol) :P (I'm joking of course)

03-09-2013, 11:34:53

R0Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
No mate Gary has the case with him. He has done the review I wont be doing any work on these. Ive not got the time to put a watercooled rig in everything sadly.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.