NZXT Kraken X41 Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

NZXT Kraken X41 Review

Introduction

The boys at NZXT have been busy refreshing the Kraken range of coolers.  We say coolers as opposed to specifically CPU coolers as they can of course be coupled with the excellent G10 bracket and used to cool your GPU should you so desire.  In this, the first of two reviews looking at the new range we shall be looking in depth at the smaller X41, which as you might imagine follows on from the original X40.  To call the X41 a refresh is perhaps doing it, and the grafters over at NZXT an injustice as there are so many new features and improvements over the older unit that it can essential be thought of as a totally new model.  First and foremost of these features is, we feel, the 24% thicker rad than the original X40.  NZXT also proffer that the X41 has 36% more surface area than comparable twin fan 120mm based units, which they claim will translate into better cooling performance.  Next up, there's the variable speed pump, worlds first in fact say NZXT, well in an AIO at any rate.  And then of course there's the RGB control over the hue of the pump head and many other monitoring and control parameters which are controlled by the free downloadable CAM software.  That's enough for the Introduction we think, if you want to know the ins and outs then you're going to need to get comfy and get stuck into the main review.

 

Technical Specification

 Model Number RL-KRX41-01
 Intel Compatibility Intel LGA 2011-3, 1366, 1156, 1155, 1150
 AMD Compatibility AMD FM2, FM1, AM3+, AM3, AM2+, AM2
 Radiator Dimensions 140 x 172.5 x 36mm
 Material Aluminium, Rubber Tubing, Other parts Plastic
 Fan Dimensions 140 x 140 x 25mm
 Fan Model NZXT FX V2 140mm Performance PWM Fan
 Fan Air Flow 42.4-106.1 CFM
 Fan Air Pressure 0.36-1.97mmH2O
 Fan Speed 800~2000 RPM ± 10%
 Fan Noise Level 20-37 dBA
 Fan Connection 4 Pin PWM
 Motor Speed 2400-3600 ± 150 RPM
 Motor Voltage 12V
 Motor Connector 3 Pin
 Motor Current 325mA
 Tube Length 400mm
 LED Colour Hue Controlled Colour Changing Lights
 Control Method Kraken+ Software Module
 Warranty 6 Years
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-07-2014, 06:17:24

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...092806986l.jpg

In the first of two reviews looking at NZXTs refresh of the Kraken range we look at the new Kraken X41


See the results of the NZXT Kraken X41 Review here

23-07-2014, 06:37:18

Excalabur50
This cooler should make for a good GPU cooler as I'm sure it would beat air by a fair bit

23-07-2014, 07:53:35

GadgetGarrett
I'll be sticking with my H80i then

Great review.

23-07-2014, 10:21:48

RickPlaysWarr
Thank you for the review Gary. I am wondering if using two fans in push pull might be in order. Thinking of getting one of these to cool the GPU in my H440 build. I have a G10 bracket in red just waiting to be used. I might wait and see what the X61 review looks like and then make a choice. The tubing can be easily routed to the front of the H440 and will be hidden by the HD mounting wall. I would love to see the X41 tested on a GPU with the G10 bracket like you did in your G10 review.

Thank you again.

--Rick--

23-07-2014, 10:40:00

Wraithguard
Excellent write up Gary and nice little Rushkit unboxing "I'm taking notes" Tom you should have fun with NZXT CAM software I know I did when Beta Testing it for them last year (I even have the T-Shirt to prove it)
http://i.imgur.com/nYLrAUD.jpg
I did do a news piece a while back and it really should have been a review but hey ho..

13-08-2014, 16:14:51

PooBrain
Well overpriced if you ask me.

13-08-2014, 16:44:05

RamboOC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraithguard View Post
Excellent write up Gary and nice little Rushkit unboxing "I'm taking notes" Tom you should have fun with NZXT CAM software I know I did when Beta Testing it for them last year (I even have the T-Shirt to prove it)
http://i.imgur.com/nYLrAUD.jpg
I did do a news piece a while back and it really should have been a review but hey ho..
Looks like HWbot mascot on the shirt
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.