NZXT HAVIK-120 Review

Performance and Testing

  NZXT Havik 120

 

Performance

To provide continuity the test set up is as always

Gigabyte UD3R V2
Intel i7 950 @ 4GHz 1.25v & 1.35v
Mushkin Radioactive 2000MHz
HIS 6850
Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Corsair AX750w

 

For the first test we set our i7-950 overclocked to 200x20 @ 1.25v for a clock speed of 4.0GHz. We allow the system to idle for 10 minutes and then run Prime95 'maximum heat maximum stress' setting for a further 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes we note the temperatures of all cores and the ambient temperature of the room. An average of all cores is taken, then the ambient temperature is removed from this figure and this gives us the delta temperature. Delta is the temperature difference above ambient which is a truer reflection of the heat-sink performance rather than mere maximum figures. Testing in an Igloo or the Sahara would give vastly different maximum temperatures, yet the Delta could be the same. As this unit is supplied with 2 fans I have tested in both single and dual fan configuration

The second test follows all steps from above but with a 200x21 @ 1.35v for 4.2GHz overclock, the extra voltage in this test allows us to see if the heat-sink can cope when extreme loads and overclocks are applied. As with 4.0GHz the Heatsink was tested in both single and dual fan configuration.

As you might suspect from the high Max temp on the 4.2 test, the Havik didn't make it though the 4.4GHz test maxing out to over 90 degrees in under 5 mins.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-04-2012, 06:25:08

tinytomlogan


We saw what the Havik 140 could do back in December last year when Tom took it for a spin. Now with the release of the Havik 120 it's time to see what the 140s little brother can do.

Continue Reading

04-04-2012, 07:00:25

chudley
Nice review Gary, As I am on the daughters laptop atm I had to scroll up and down to compare fan results, what might help others in the future would be a vertical red bar of the temps achieved by the item in question.going up through all results for easy comparison.

04-04-2012, 07:28:22

Excalabur50
Sounds great for those with limited space or a tight budget seems NZXT are lifting their game nice to see.

04-04-2012, 10:04:52

XNine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excalabur50 View Post

Sounds great for those with limited space or a tight budget seems NZXT are lifting their game nice to see.
It's because we've upped the amount of time we spend whipping our designers, I assure you. :b

04-04-2012, 13:52:55

G-Dubs
the 120 really is a nice bit of kit. Whatever it is NZXT are doing it seems to be working.

This lady with the whp, does she take bookings?

04-04-2012, 13:55:54

Ghosthud1
46 seems steep for a heatsink of this performance level. Actually all heat sinks are starting to sink into much higher price brackets! what happened to the ocz vendetta that stomped everything at 28

05-04-2012, 11:35:13

XNine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosthud1 View Post

46 seems steep for a heatsink of this performance level. Actually all heat sinks are starting to sink into much higher price brackets! what happened to the ocz vendetta that stomped everything at 28
As prices of materials go up and the Euro/Dollar/Pound's value goes down, there's no much anyone can do. 46 Euro is essentially 60 bucks which is in a VERY nice price for high-end Aircoolers.

06-04-2012, 02:30:21

d6bmg
At least it is better than hyper 212+/evo.

06-04-2012, 17:59:59

andyc193
Great review! Looks like a very solid performer for the size of the thing.

06-04-2012, 21:32:35

Brutos
Good review ..nice cooler

09-04-2012, 14:13:04

MaXiMiZe
Once again NZXT deliver

26-04-2012, 17:17:19

ruiner03
I was watching some of your reviews online, and I was curious if you've ever considered trying to maintain a closer ambient temperature when testing heatsinks to provide the fairest test

The reason I suggest it, is because based on thermodynamics, heat transfer has a multiplicative effect based on the difference of the two items temperatures which are touching. Meaning, more heat will transfer at a faster rate between two things (air and the heatsink fins/pipes) when the difference in their temps are greater.

Meaning, when you test two heatsinks at different ambient temperatures, the Delta Temp you measure when the ambient temps are higher will actually be skewed due to the multiplicative effect.

I don't know if this makes a huge difference in air cooled heatsinks as I've never tested it, but theoretically it would.

You cant test the difference it would make easily. Use the same rig/setup voltages, settings, etc at two difference ambient temps in the room.

If the delta temperatures for the cpu are the same/similar, then it doesnt have an effect; however, if they are different, it would show that the ambient temperature has an effect on the delta temperatures you are measuring, putting rigs in a higher ambient temp room at a disadvantage
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.