NZXT HAVIK-120 Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

NZXT HAVIK-120

 

Introduction

We all saw what a stellar cooler the NZXT 140 was when Tom tested it back in December last year.  It's now time to see what the 120 model can do. Sporting 4 x 8mm heat pipes and twin 120mm fans, the pedigree inherent in it's bigger brother should hopefully see it match if not better similar specked 120mm fan units. Aesthetically with its Black and white finish it should also fit in well with the colour schemes of a great many of the new monochromatic cases hitting the market at present. But the proof of the pudding is in the eating as they say so lets have a look at the full specs and then see what it can do.

 

Technical Specification

MODELHAVIK 120
MATERIALSAluminum / Copper Nickel-Plated
DIMENSIONS125(W) x 160(H) x 112(D) mm
125(W) x 160(H) x 58(D) mm (heatsink)
WEIGHT680g (excluding fans and mounting kit)
980g (with dual 120mm fans)
MOUNTING PRESSURE
55-60 lbs
FAN SIZEDual 120(W) x 140(H) x 25(D) mm
FAN BEARING

Long Life (Oil-Leaking Prevention)

FAN SPEED1200 +/- 10% RPM (low); 1500 +/- 10% RPM (high)
NOISE LEVEL18-22 dBA
AIR FLOW61.5-75.8 CFM
CONNECTOR3-Pin
Y-SPLIT CABLEWhite connector for low speed; black connector for high speed
INPUT POWER3.6 W
LIFE30,000 Hours
COMPATIBILITYIntel Socket: 2011, 1366, 1155, 1156, 775 CPUs
AMD Socket: AM3, AM2+, AM2 CPUs

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-04-2012, 06:25:08

tinytomlogan


We saw what the Havik 140 could do back in December last year when Tom took it for a spin. Now with the release of the Havik 120 it's time to see what the 140s little brother can do.

Continue Reading

04-04-2012, 07:00:25

chudley
Nice review Gary, As I am on the daughters laptop atm I had to scroll up and down to compare fan results, what might help others in the future would be a vertical red bar of the temps achieved by the item in question.going up through all results for easy comparison.

04-04-2012, 07:28:22

Excalabur50
Sounds great for those with limited space or a tight budget seems NZXT are lifting their game nice to see.

04-04-2012, 10:04:52

XNine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excalabur50 View Post

Sounds great for those with limited space or a tight budget seems NZXT are lifting their game nice to see.
It's because we've upped the amount of time we spend whipping our designers, I assure you. :b

04-04-2012, 13:52:55

G-Dubs
the 120 really is a nice bit of kit. Whatever it is NZXT are doing it seems to be working.

This lady with the whp, does she take bookings?

04-04-2012, 13:55:54

Ghosthud1
46 seems steep for a heatsink of this performance level. Actually all heat sinks are starting to sink into much higher price brackets! what happened to the ocz vendetta that stomped everything at 28

05-04-2012, 11:35:13

XNine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosthud1 View Post

46 seems steep for a heatsink of this performance level. Actually all heat sinks are starting to sink into much higher price brackets! what happened to the ocz vendetta that stomped everything at 28
As prices of materials go up and the Euro/Dollar/Pound's value goes down, there's no much anyone can do. 46 Euro is essentially 60 bucks which is in a VERY nice price for high-end Aircoolers.

06-04-2012, 02:30:21

d6bmg
At least it is better than hyper 212+/evo.

06-04-2012, 17:59:59

andyc193
Great review! Looks like a very solid performer for the size of the thing.

06-04-2012, 21:32:35

Brutos
Good review ..nice cooler

09-04-2012, 14:13:04

MaXiMiZe
Once again NZXT deliver

26-04-2012, 17:17:19

ruiner03
I was watching some of your reviews online, and I was curious if you've ever considered trying to maintain a closer ambient temperature when testing heatsinks to provide the fairest test

The reason I suggest it, is because based on thermodynamics, heat transfer has a multiplicative effect based on the difference of the two items temperatures which are touching. Meaning, more heat will transfer at a faster rate between two things (air and the heatsink fins/pipes) when the difference in their temps are greater.

Meaning, when you test two heatsinks at different ambient temperatures, the Delta Temp you measure when the ambient temps are higher will actually be skewed due to the multiplicative effect.

I don't know if this makes a huge difference in air cooled heatsinks as I've never tested it, but theoretically it would.

You cant test the difference it would make easily. Use the same rig/setup voltages, settings, etc at two difference ambient temps in the room.

If the delta temperatures for the cpu are the same/similar, then it doesnt have an effect; however, if they are different, it would show that the ambient temperature has an effect on the delta temperatures you are measuring, putting rigs in a higher ambient temp room at a disadvantage
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.