NoFan CR-80EH Passive Heat Sink Review

Assembly and Fitting

NoFan CR-80EH Review

Assembly and Fitting

The CR-80EH comes with everything you need to fit it to pretty much all modern AMD and Intel Chips.  The odd shaped sort of triangular brackets are cleverly designed so as to be rotatable to suit either camp.  NoFan also supply a glass bottle of Thermal grease with a paint brush applicator.  On the face of it the instructions appear good.  Start to read them however and you will be met with a wall of both hilarious and frustrating bad translation.  Best you get those man cards out because for the greater part you're going to be flying solo on this one. 

NoFan CR-80EH Review     NoFan CR-80EH Review

 

In the absence of great instructions, it's a good job the boys at OC3D are here to show you how it's all put together.  The first job is to attach the mounting brackets, orientating them so as to suit your CPU manufacturer. 

NoFan CR-80EH Review     NoFan CR-80EH Review

 

You then insert four plastic washers with square cut outs into the mounting holes so as the notches line up with the cut outs. 

NoFan CR-80EH Review     NoFan CR-80EH Review

 

After pacing the cooler atop the CPU long hexagonal headed bolts are passed through the motherboard holes and tightened from behind by means of flat thumb nuts

NoFan CR-80EH Review     NoFan CR-80EH Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-05-2014, 05:50:35

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...062535885l.jpg

NoFan Now offer a fanless CPU cooler. Silent cooling with improved compatibility, Let's see if it's up to the job.


Continue Reading

27-05-2014, 06:42:51

Feronix
Oooh been interested in this thing for a while. The 80 Watt TDP that it's rated for is pretty high.

Brb, making coffee. Should be a good read

27-05-2014, 06:51:35

Wraithguard
Nice write up Gary, but that cooler! It's mahooosive, like you reported though it's very niche but I could see this being the perfect silent solution for a AM1 HTPC build, or any HTPC build for that matter.

27-05-2014, 06:52:02

barnsley
I'm still not a fanhttp://static-cdn.jtvnw.net/jtv_user...1a4c-28x28.png of no fan solutions but I hope it'll get better and better to the point where fans are the thing of the past. This is hopefully the start of this.

27-05-2014, 06:55:22

SuB
Obligatory OMG THAT BOARD IN THAT CASE (sorry had to :P)

Bit unhinged on the language on this one?

Interesting concept, I bet they're an absolute arse to manufacture!

27-05-2014, 13:59:13

smilertoo
what would be the point of this if you still need a case fan to remove the hot air? wouldn't an AIO or Noctua with the worlds slowest fans do as well? it's a shame they can't find a way to use a side panel as a big passive heatsink.

27-05-2014, 14:20:00

MaddenShadow
Great review! I like how it got a "silence award". Its like giving a bicycle a "dual wheel" award. I mean, what else can a low-performance product achieve? I'm not criticising, just thought it was funny

27-05-2014, 22:07:41

kittysniper
@maddenshadow not to criticize either, but so does a motorcycle and it is superior to a bicycle in almost every way, I think the point of the article is to compare products of similar function and give us better understanding between them.

04-06-2014, 10:49:12

Kyiagi
i like the shape of this thing if u have horizontal case.. u can cook bacon in it! So you still have to use case fans to cool it, so not fan-less at all

04-06-2014, 11:06:56

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyiagi View Post
i like the shape of this thing if u have horizontal case.. u can cook bacon in it! So you still have to use case fans to cool it, so not fan-less at all
You can have a totally passive rig no problem
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.