NoFan CR-80EH Passive Heat Sink Review

Up Close: Packaging and Overview

NoFan CR-80EH Review

Up Close:  Packaging and Overview

The CR-80EH comes in some very colourful packaging with a large blister window flaunting the form of the cooler within.  The packaging also informs of the various compatibilities and key features of the CR-80EH.

NoFan CR-80EH Review     NoFan CR-80EH Review

 

First impressions of the cooler are that it appears to be a giant copper shuttlecock without the sproingy bit on the bottom.  We say giant as at first glance it appears huge, in fact the CR-80EH is only 113mm tall.  Perhaps it's the 155mm diameter combined with the height that gives us this impression.

NoFan CR-80EH Review     NoFan CR-80EH Review

 

Unlike conventional coolers which tend to use aluminium fins as a heat dissipation surface the CR-80EH uses copper wires, giving an overall heat dissipation area of some 97,157mm squared.  This figure is achieved in the main part by having not one but two layers of wires in the frame, with rigidity and stability being provided around the upper circumference by a black circular bracket.

NoFan CR-80EH Review     NoFan CR-80EH Review

 

The CR-80EH does not appear to have heat pipes conducting the heat away from the contact plate and towards the dissipation wires.  Instead all the wires appear to be collected and most likely connected into a layer at the base plate.

NoFan CR-80EH Review     NoFan CR-80EH Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-05-2014, 05:50:35

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...062535885l.jpg

NoFan Now offer a fanless CPU cooler. Silent cooling with improved compatibility, Let's see if it's up to the job.


Continue Reading

27-05-2014, 06:42:51

Feronix
Oooh been interested in this thing for a while. The 80 Watt TDP that it's rated for is pretty high.

Brb, making coffee. Should be a good read

27-05-2014, 06:51:35

Wraithguard
Nice write up Gary, but that cooler! It's mahooosive, like you reported though it's very niche but I could see this being the perfect silent solution for a AM1 HTPC build, or any HTPC build for that matter.

27-05-2014, 06:52:02

barnsley
I'm still not a fanhttp://static-cdn.jtvnw.net/jtv_user...1a4c-28x28.png of no fan solutions but I hope it'll get better and better to the point where fans are the thing of the past. This is hopefully the start of this.

27-05-2014, 06:55:22

SuB
Obligatory OMG THAT BOARD IN THAT CASE (sorry had to :P)

Bit unhinged on the language on this one?

Interesting concept, I bet they're an absolute arse to manufacture!

27-05-2014, 13:59:13

smilertoo
what would be the point of this if you still need a case fan to remove the hot air? wouldn't an AIO or Noctua with the worlds slowest fans do as well? it's a shame they can't find a way to use a side panel as a big passive heatsink.

27-05-2014, 14:20:00

MaddenShadow
Great review! I like how it got a "silence award". Its like giving a bicycle a "dual wheel" award. I mean, what else can a low-performance product achieve? I'm not criticising, just thought it was funny

27-05-2014, 22:07:41

kittysniper
@maddenshadow not to criticize either, but so does a motorcycle and it is superior to a bicycle in almost every way, I think the point of the article is to compare products of similar function and give us better understanding between them.

04-06-2014, 10:49:12

Kyiagi
i like the shape of this thing if u have horizontal case.. u can cook bacon in it! So you still have to use case fans to cool it, so not fan-less at all

04-06-2014, 11:06:56

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyiagi View Post
i like the shape of this thing if u have horizontal case.. u can cook bacon in it! So you still have to use case fans to cool it, so not fan-less at all
You can have a totally passive rig no problem

08-09-2014, 23:41:27

User1
Do you recall what dimensions the fan was on the backside of the case? I need to mostly know the width so I can determine what to order for my case. It looks like you may have a slim fan from Cooler Master on the back, which run from 15 to 25mm. Thanks in advance for any help you may be able to offer.

09-09-2014, 06:38:57

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by User1 View Post
Do you recall what dimensions the fan was on the backside of the case? I need to mostly know the width so I can determine what to order for my case. It looks like you may have a slim fan from Cooler Master on the back, which run from 15 to 25mm. Thanks in advance for any help you may be able to offer.
In that case its a normal 25mm thick fan - just remember CPU placement isnt the same on all motherboards

09-09-2014, 07:35:53

RizeAllard
Not a bad performance but I would rather use a noctua cooler with fans wit L.N.A. I feel more confortable with active fans than no fan at all...

09-09-2014, 11:03:42

User1
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
In that case its a normal 25mm thick fan - just remember CPU placement isnt the same on all motherboards
Thanks for the timely reply. I'm hoping the distance is on my board's-ASRock B85M-ITX LGA 1150 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157390) mobo socket will be be about the same as yours in the review from the edge of the board's I/O shield/ports. However, the socket on my board is an intel (vs AMD on yours) and is moved up and away from the PCI-ex slot.

What board did you use in the review?

I plan to piece together a passive system using the Thermaltake Core V1 case for gaming (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133260). In regards to cooling, I'll still be running the 200mm front (stock fan) and two Noctua 80mm fans in the rear that should run fairly silent (However, I think the 25mm thinkness of the fans may not work, but the 15mm thick Cooler Master 80mm fans should work). Processor will be an intel 4130T (30 TDP) w/a CR-80CH NoFan CPU cooler, ASRock B85M-ITX LGA, MOBO, Power Color R9 270 passive GPU card, Corsair 512GB SSD and Seasonic 520 watt PSU. I run this rig similarly right now in the Cooler Master 110, but prefer to have the PSU mounted below my MB and I should be able to fit the CPU cooler from NoFan with the added head room. Ideally I'll have a cool running and nearly silent system without all of the excessive fan noise that I get now with my CM110.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.