Noctua NH-U9B SE2 Review

Conclusion

Conclusion


I believe that it is safe to say that Noctua have produced yet another high quality offering.

The NH-U9B is a universal CPU heatsink that will cool your processor quietly and without consuming huge amounts of space. It is easy to install and is also backed by a stunning 6 year warranty, in the event that it decides to malfunction in a spectacular manner.

Our testing leads us to believe that the cooler is best suited towards lower heat consumption processors if your intention is to overclock; our Core i3 530 was kept at bay at 4.00GHz 1.30V however we're not quite sure that a fully fledged Core i7 Quad Core would remain as cool at a similar operational voltage and clock frequency. For those that don't intend on overclocking, this particular cooler will suit any processor up to and including the Core i7 970/980X Hex Cores for quiet operation.

The only major downside is the cooler's price. Weighing in a £45 means that it sits in the same territory as high end 120mm compliant coolers such as the Prolimatech Megahalems, however the Noctua offers a better accessory set, which includes two high quality fans.

All in all, another potent offering from Noctua. A great buy for those who care about silence however the keen overclockers may want to consider investing a further £10-15 on more capable (but larger) offerings.

The Good
- Quiet operation
- Easy Installation and Tight Fit
- Universal socket mounts

The Mediocre
- Pricing

The Bad
- None 

Thanks to Noctua for the NH-U9B-SE2 on test today, you can discuss our reults in the forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-09-2010, 05:25:16

tinytomlogan
Noctua have high expectations to meet here at OC3D - Will they deliver yet again?

Continue Reading

01-09-2010, 10:59:52

SnowWhite
Seems like another great product from them

01-09-2010, 11:13:49

alexhull24
Interesting stuff, seems like a typical high quality offering from Noctua, but you do pay for it. Whether it makes sense as a lower-end cooler at that price will remain to be seen I think. Still, it'd be a mighty-nice upgrade from a stock cooler if you want something of top notch quality, otherwise you might be better with something cheaper that can boast better performance, especially if you're not bothered about the fans. The cost of a single fan alone almost justifies the extra cost of this, they are brilliantly quiet for the performance they offer. Shame it's 5-10 too pricey in my opinion, we'll see if that puts anyone off.

01-09-2010, 11:22:36

silenthill
Noctua are always going to have hefty prices because of its high quality and unique design so get use to it and if youre looking for something cheap I think Noctua is not the name that comes to mind.

01-09-2010, 12:10:39

tinytomlogan
Its deffo not a budget brand. And tbh I wouldnt ask for them to do it either. Its quality and works well, some of their products cant be questioned as class leaders, why confuse it with cheapy stuff.

01-09-2010, 12:46:14

Yewen
Noctua have the low volume high quality low tolerance manufacturing down perfectly.

If they started churning out tens of thousands of units of a 10 cooler their high end would suffer more than the drop in price would suggest.

They are onto a good thing and steadily growing, one of my favourite brands even if I hate with a passion their colour scheme.

01-09-2010, 13:58:26

alexhull24
I agree with all your sentiments guys, except the colour scheme. I actually quite like it, if only because it's become synonymous in my mind with top quality kit. I don't think they should change that. Nice to see you posting here Yewen.

01-09-2010, 14:08:25

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexhull24 View Post

I agree with all your sentiments guys, except the colour scheme. I actually quite like it, if only because it's become synonymous in my mind with top quality kit. I don't think they should change that. Nice to see you posting here Yewen.
Ltd Eddition white ones wouldnt be a bad idea though

01-09-2010, 14:28:51

alexhull24
If you don't ask, you don't get right? I'm sure you must have a contact from the company, see what they think. That would look nice in a case with black internals.

01-09-2010, 15:46:36

AMDFTW
shame its not a dh14 beater

01-09-2010, 22:50:32

dlb

shame its not a dh14 beater



Not this cooler -it's sporting a 92mm fan- no way is that going to beat the king of all air coolers, the DH14. I don't think there's a single air cooler on the market that can beat the DH14....

Nice review for a great product! For a smaller cooler, I think the temps are actually pretty freekin' good!! OC'd to 4ghz and only about 60c seems good to me, esp for a small 92mm cooler!

02-09-2010, 05:19:17

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlb View Post

Not this cooler -it's sporting a 92mm fan- no way is that going to beat the king of all air coolers, the DH14. I don't think there's a single air cooler on the market that can beat the DH14....

Nice review for a great product! For a smaller cooler, I think the temps are actually pretty freekin' good!! OC'd to 4ghz and only about 60c seems good to me, esp for a small 92mm cooler!
Need to remember it was an i3 CPU

03-09-2010, 12:41:20

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yewen View Post

Noctua have the low volume high quality low tolerance manufacturing down perfectly.

If they started churning out tens of thousands of units of a 10 cooler their high end would suffer more than the drop in price would suggest.

They are onto a good thing and steadily growing, one of my favourite brands even if I hate with a passion their colour scheme.
Yewen, I had no idea you were at CCL! Welcome to the forums

Guys, remember that this isn't supposed to be a NH-D14 killer; at least not when its so much smaller! For its size it does a fantastic job and I'm sure it will suit a large number of users. It does sit a little too close (price wise) to more capable coolers for my liking but no one can knock the build quality of their units!

12-12-2012, 17:48:14

DiscoDave
I would be very interested in seeing this on a i5 or i7 to see what temps would appear.
This appears to be a Noctua (lite) or the diet version, but surely Noctua wouldn't release a product just to fit one type of CPU.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.