Noctua NH-U9B SE2 Review

Packaging & Initial Impressions

Packaging & Initial Impressions


The NH-U9B's packaging follows Noctua's standard theme of maroon on black. The front of the box reveals one of the heatsink's two 92mm fans. Opening the box from the top reveals two further containers inside.

Noctua NH-U9B SE2     Noctua NH-U9B SE2

One box contains the heatsink's accessories, the other contains the NH-U9B itself. As far as accessories are concerned, you are provided with two separate mounting kits (1 x AMD, 1 x Intel), two fans and an instruction manual.

Noctua NH-U9B SE2     Noctua NH-U9B SE2

The cooler itself directly resembles its bigger brother, the NH-U12. It features a dense fin structure and four (albeit not direct contact) heatpipes. All in all, the U9B manages to offer a large workable surface area, particularly thanks to its larger depth.

Noctua NH-U9B SE2     Noctua NH-U9B SE2

The fans are mounted by means of small metal clips, which link with indents in the heatsink as shown below.

Noctua NH-U9B SE2     Noctua NH-U9B SE2

The quality of the base is very reasonable; while not a shiny finish, it is flat and scratch free. The general build quality is to a high standard; levels beyond similar sized heatsinks such as the Arctic Freezer Pro. That said, its price tag and target audience is different.

The installation process is intuitive enough and results in a very tight fit. All in all we spent just under ten minutes fitting the NH-U9B.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-09-2010, 05:25:16

tinytomlogan
Noctua have high expectations to meet here at OC3D - Will they deliver yet again?

Continue Reading

01-09-2010, 10:59:52

SnowWhite
Seems like another great product from them

01-09-2010, 11:13:49

alexhull24
Interesting stuff, seems like a typical high quality offering from Noctua, but you do pay for it. Whether it makes sense as a lower-end cooler at that price will remain to be seen I think. Still, it'd be a mighty-nice upgrade from a stock cooler if you want something of top notch quality, otherwise you might be better with something cheaper that can boast better performance, especially if you're not bothered about the fans. The cost of a single fan alone almost justifies the extra cost of this, they are brilliantly quiet for the performance they offer. Shame it's 5-10 too pricey in my opinion, we'll see if that puts anyone off.

01-09-2010, 11:22:36

silenthill
Noctua are always going to have hefty prices because of its high quality and unique design so get use to it and if youre looking for something cheap I think Noctua is not the name that comes to mind.

01-09-2010, 12:10:39

tinytomlogan
Its deffo not a budget brand. And tbh I wouldnt ask for them to do it either. Its quality and works well, some of their products cant be questioned as class leaders, why confuse it with cheapy stuff.

01-09-2010, 12:46:14

Yewen
Noctua have the low volume high quality low tolerance manufacturing down perfectly.

If they started churning out tens of thousands of units of a 10 cooler their high end would suffer more than the drop in price would suggest.

They are onto a good thing and steadily growing, one of my favourite brands even if I hate with a passion their colour scheme.

01-09-2010, 13:58:26

alexhull24
I agree with all your sentiments guys, except the colour scheme. I actually quite like it, if only because it's become synonymous in my mind with top quality kit. I don't think they should change that. Nice to see you posting here Yewen.

01-09-2010, 14:08:25

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexhull24 View Post

I agree with all your sentiments guys, except the colour scheme. I actually quite like it, if only because it's become synonymous in my mind with top quality kit. I don't think they should change that. Nice to see you posting here Yewen.
Ltd Eddition white ones wouldnt be a bad idea though

01-09-2010, 14:28:51

alexhull24
If you don't ask, you don't get right? I'm sure you must have a contact from the company, see what they think. That would look nice in a case with black internals.

01-09-2010, 15:46:36

AMDFTW
shame its not a dh14 beater

01-09-2010, 22:50:32

dlb

shame its not a dh14 beater



Not this cooler -it's sporting a 92mm fan- no way is that going to beat the king of all air coolers, the DH14. I don't think there's a single air cooler on the market that can beat the DH14....

Nice review for a great product! For a smaller cooler, I think the temps are actually pretty freekin' good!! OC'd to 4ghz and only about 60c seems good to me, esp for a small 92mm cooler!

02-09-2010, 05:19:17

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlb View Post

Not this cooler -it's sporting a 92mm fan- no way is that going to beat the king of all air coolers, the DH14. I don't think there's a single air cooler on the market that can beat the DH14....

Nice review for a great product! For a smaller cooler, I think the temps are actually pretty freekin' good!! OC'd to 4ghz and only about 60c seems good to me, esp for a small 92mm cooler!
Need to remember it was an i3 CPU

03-09-2010, 12:41:20

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yewen View Post

Noctua have the low volume high quality low tolerance manufacturing down perfectly.

If they started churning out tens of thousands of units of a 10 cooler their high end would suffer more than the drop in price would suggest.

They are onto a good thing and steadily growing, one of my favourite brands even if I hate with a passion their colour scheme.
Yewen, I had no idea you were at CCL! Welcome to the forums

Guys, remember that this isn't supposed to be a NH-D14 killer; at least not when its so much smaller! For its size it does a fantastic job and I'm sure it will suit a large number of users. It does sit a little too close (price wise) to more capable coolers for my liking but no one can knock the build quality of their units!

12-12-2012, 17:48:14

DiscoDave
I would be very interested in seeing this on a i5 or i7 to see what temps would appear.
This appears to be a Noctua (lite) or the diet version, but surely Noctua wouldn't release a product just to fit one type of CPU.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.