Noctua NH-U9B SE2 Review

Introduction

Introduction

This summer we have reviewed CPU cooling solutions in all shapes and sizes from a just as varied number of manufacturers. Unsurprisingly there are some that we particularly liked and some that we didn't. Thus far Noctua is a brand that has never disappointed us, so when we were asked to review another one of their products we were more than happy to oblige. Today we will be reviewing an existing offering, but has very recently been refreshed; the NH-U9B SE2.


Yes, I know - yet another brand who insists on code names for products. I'm not sure what's so wrong about naming a cooler “The FLAGSHIP offering”, “The QUIET offering” and “The COMPACT offering”. Self describing names help the end user understand the significance and purpose of a particular product but sadly many brands don't quite appreciate this.

The NH-U9B is part of Noctua's family of Tower coolers, which sport U shaped heatpipes (hence the U in the name). It is however the smaller of the two tower coolers and can only support 92mm fans; hence the 9 in the product name. Finally, this particular version of the NH-U9B adds support for the recent LGA1156 socket and also comes with two 92mm fans for enhanced performance – the SE2 in the name denotes this.


Now that we're done deciphering the product's name, let's discuss specifications.

 

ManufacturerNoctua
ModelNH-U9B SE2
Socket CompatibilityIntel Mount
LGA775/1156/1366
AMD Mount
Socket AM2/AM3
Heatpipe Count4 x 6mm Heatpipes
Heatsink Dimensions (mm)

(H)125mm X (W)95mmX (D)75mm

Fan Dimensions
92 x 92 x 25 (mm) each
Fan Speed
1000-1600rpm
Weight

460g

Material

Copper Heatpipes, Aluminium Fins, Nickel Plating


Standing at 12cm in height, the NH-U9B is among the shortest tower based heatsinks. While it isn't quite suitable for small form factor style machines, it is likely to work very well in most ATX chassis and with it's small footprint from a base level, it should also suit most motherboards too.

Photoshoot time.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-09-2010, 05:25:16

tinytomlogan
Noctua have high expectations to meet here at OC3D - Will they deliver yet again?

Continue Reading

01-09-2010, 10:59:52

SnowWhite
Seems like another great product from them

01-09-2010, 11:13:49

alexhull24
Interesting stuff, seems like a typical high quality offering from Noctua, but you do pay for it. Whether it makes sense as a lower-end cooler at that price will remain to be seen I think. Still, it'd be a mighty-nice upgrade from a stock cooler if you want something of top notch quality, otherwise you might be better with something cheaper that can boast better performance, especially if you're not bothered about the fans. The cost of a single fan alone almost justifies the extra cost of this, they are brilliantly quiet for the performance they offer. Shame it's 5-10 too pricey in my opinion, we'll see if that puts anyone off.

01-09-2010, 11:22:36

silenthill
Noctua are always going to have hefty prices because of its high quality and unique design so get use to it and if youre looking for something cheap I think Noctua is not the name that comes to mind.

01-09-2010, 12:10:39

tinytomlogan
Its deffo not a budget brand. And tbh I wouldnt ask for them to do it either. Its quality and works well, some of their products cant be questioned as class leaders, why confuse it with cheapy stuff.

01-09-2010, 12:46:14

Yewen
Noctua have the low volume high quality low tolerance manufacturing down perfectly.

If they started churning out tens of thousands of units of a 10 cooler their high end would suffer more than the drop in price would suggest.

They are onto a good thing and steadily growing, one of my favourite brands even if I hate with a passion their colour scheme.

01-09-2010, 13:58:26

alexhull24
I agree with all your sentiments guys, except the colour scheme. I actually quite like it, if only because it's become synonymous in my mind with top quality kit. I don't think they should change that. Nice to see you posting here Yewen.

01-09-2010, 14:08:25

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexhull24 View Post

I agree with all your sentiments guys, except the colour scheme. I actually quite like it, if only because it's become synonymous in my mind with top quality kit. I don't think they should change that. Nice to see you posting here Yewen.
Ltd Eddition white ones wouldnt be a bad idea though

01-09-2010, 14:28:51

alexhull24
If you don't ask, you don't get right? I'm sure you must have a contact from the company, see what they think. That would look nice in a case with black internals.

01-09-2010, 15:46:36

AMDFTW
shame its not a dh14 beater

01-09-2010, 22:50:32

dlb

shame its not a dh14 beater



Not this cooler -it's sporting a 92mm fan- no way is that going to beat the king of all air coolers, the DH14. I don't think there's a single air cooler on the market that can beat the DH14....

Nice review for a great product! For a smaller cooler, I think the temps are actually pretty freekin' good!! OC'd to 4ghz and only about 60c seems good to me, esp for a small 92mm cooler!

02-09-2010, 05:19:17

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlb View Post

Not this cooler -it's sporting a 92mm fan- no way is that going to beat the king of all air coolers, the DH14. I don't think there's a single air cooler on the market that can beat the DH14....

Nice review for a great product! For a smaller cooler, I think the temps are actually pretty freekin' good!! OC'd to 4ghz and only about 60c seems good to me, esp for a small 92mm cooler!
Need to remember it was an i3 CPU

03-09-2010, 12:41:20

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yewen View Post

Noctua have the low volume high quality low tolerance manufacturing down perfectly.

If they started churning out tens of thousands of units of a 10 cooler their high end would suffer more than the drop in price would suggest.

They are onto a good thing and steadily growing, one of my favourite brands even if I hate with a passion their colour scheme.
Yewen, I had no idea you were at CCL! Welcome to the forums

Guys, remember that this isn't supposed to be a NH-D14 killer; at least not when its so much smaller! For its size it does a fantastic job and I'm sure it will suit a large number of users. It does sit a little too close (price wise) to more capable coolers for my liking but no one can knock the build quality of their units!

12-12-2012, 17:48:14

DiscoDave
I would be very interested in seeing this on a i5 or i7 to see what temps would appear.
This appears to be a Noctua (lite) or the diet version, but surely Noctua wouldn't release a product just to fit one type of CPU.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.