Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler

Conclusion

Conclusion

The Noctua NH-U12P performs very well, even against some of the top-rated heatsinks on the market. When I pulled the cooler out of the box I was initially impressed with build quality and then once it was in use I was highly impressed with it's cooling ability, as well as the performance of the excellent NF-P12 fans. Add in the fact that Noctua include some top-end thermal paste and we're onto a winner.

There are two slight down points to the cooler. Installation isn't particularly an easy affair with a bit of fiddling involved and taking out your motherboard can be a bit of a pain. The price is fairly high at an RRP of £41 although this does include and incredible bundle and a simply awesome fan and isn't really too much more than the other coolers out there. Noctua said that the heatsink will be available at their UK Distributer www.quietpc.co.uk and that the street price may be slightly lower at some other e-tailers.

Would I recommend the Noctua NH-U12P? If you don't mind a slighty fiddly installation then undoubtedly: yes.

For an excellent performance and an almost silent noise output, the Noctua NH-U12P gets a "Best in Class" Award.

best in class

The Good

+ Very quiet
+ Very well built
+ Great performance
+ Good looking
+ Excellent bundle

The Mediocre

* Slightly fiddly installation
* Price

The Bad

- You have to take out your motherboard for installation

Thanks to Noctua for the review sample

Discuss in our Forums
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-11-2007, 10:38:45

FarFarAway
We take a good look at Noctua's latest cooler and see how it performs

Link

19-11-2007, 11:49:50

Bungral
Nice one Kempez.. Does that out preform the giant Thermaltake?

Also is there a %age score?

19-11-2007, 11:50:19

FarFarAway
There should be...

21-11-2007, 08:10:06

Imrahil
what about getting the NT-H1 on the base and retesting it?

I'd be glad to see what it actually does.

Imrahil

21-11-2007, 13:39:39

FarFarAway
The review was conducted with AS5 to give a fair comparison with all of the other coolers tested. When I install a new test rig next I am sure I could test it tho

21-11-2007, 18:05:58

Imrahil
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
The review was conducted with AS5 to give a fair comparison with all of the other coolers tested. When I install a new test rig next I am sure I could test it tho
No Chance to rerun the test with the Noctua itself and NT-H1 instead of AS5?

I'd think that would be the easiest way

Imrahil

21-11-2007, 19:12:12

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Imrahil'
No Chance to rerun the test with the Noctua itself and NT-H1 instead of AS5?

I'd think that would be the easiest way

Imrahil
It would be easy except the tests are run and done. I'm sure we can review NT-H1 on it's own, but this review was of the NH-U12P, not NT-H1

29-03-2008, 07:03:48

Help
Hello!

I'm new here and it's quite a big forum so i haven't found any thread about this yet so i'm asking u guys here instead. Does someone know what hight the Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler have from the motherboard to the fan (free space) cus that knowledge would really help me during if i can buy it or not. U see i have a motherboard full with this cooling metal stuff (sorry for the bad english) i'm from sweden, culdn't find a word for it :S Well i hope i can get an answear here cus i can't find it anywhere.

Thanx in advance? = ) bye

29-03-2008, 09:15:41

FarFarAway
The clearance from the mobo to the bottom of the fan is about 37mm

29-03-2008, 09:16:54

Rastalovich

31-03-2008, 12:56:28

Help
Thanx alot my friends. That helped me sorter this out quite easy = )

Bye! And thanx again!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.