Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler

Test Results

Test Results

The test results were as follows. Note that these are all performed under identical circumstances on the exact same test setup.

test results graph

As you can no doubt see, the Noctua does the best that we've had on our test setup at stock speeds. There was a slightly lower temperature in the room at the time of testing the Noctua (0.9°C cooler than the others), but even factoring this in the Noctua is the clear winner.

overclocked test results

Here again the Noctua NH-U12P did extremely well, beating the other coolers at idle by 5°C, 4°C factoring in the change in room temperature. At load the three top performers closed in a bit, but the Noctua was still a 1°C ahead (again factoring in the 0.9°C temperature difference). That's pretty darn good results from Noctua.

Noise

As we have seen previously, the NF-P12 fans are pretty damn amazing and in a heatsink-fan situation this is no different. Not only does the fan produce a very good amount of airflow, it also is incredibly quiet, even when ramped up to it's top speed. On putting on one of the voltage fan extension cables provided, you quite simply could not hear any noise from the cooler.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-11-2007, 10:38:45

FarFarAway
We take a good look at Noctua's latest cooler and see how it performs

Link

19-11-2007, 11:49:50

Bungral
Nice one Kempez.. Does that out preform the giant Thermaltake?

Also is there a %age score?

19-11-2007, 11:50:19

FarFarAway
There should be...

21-11-2007, 08:10:06

Imrahil
what about getting the NT-H1 on the base and retesting it?

I'd be glad to see what it actually does.

Imrahil

21-11-2007, 13:39:39

FarFarAway
The review was conducted with AS5 to give a fair comparison with all of the other coolers tested. When I install a new test rig next I am sure I could test it tho

21-11-2007, 18:05:58

Imrahil
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
The review was conducted with AS5 to give a fair comparison with all of the other coolers tested. When I install a new test rig next I am sure I could test it tho
No Chance to rerun the test with the Noctua itself and NT-H1 instead of AS5?

I'd think that would be the easiest way

Imrahil

21-11-2007, 19:12:12

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Imrahil'
No Chance to rerun the test with the Noctua itself and NT-H1 instead of AS5?

I'd think that would be the easiest way

Imrahil
It would be easy except the tests are run and done. I'm sure we can review NT-H1 on it's own, but this review was of the NH-U12P, not NT-H1

29-03-2008, 07:03:48

Help
Hello!

I'm new here and it's quite a big forum so i haven't found any thread about this yet so i'm asking u guys here instead. Does someone know what hight the Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler have from the motherboard to the fan (free space) cus that knowledge would really help me during if i can buy it or not. U see i have a motherboard full with this cooling metal stuff (sorry for the bad english) i'm from sweden, culdn't find a word for it :S Well i hope i can get an answear here cus i can't find it anywhere.

Thanx in advance? = ) bye

29-03-2008, 09:15:41

FarFarAway
The clearance from the mobo to the bottom of the fan is about 37mm

29-03-2008, 09:16:54

Rastalovich

31-03-2008, 12:56:28

Help
Thanx alot my friends. That helped me sorter this out quite easy = )

Bye! And thanx again!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.