Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler

Installation

Installation

Installation is slightly trickier on the Noctua NH-U12P than it was on the Akasa Revo.

noctua NH-U12P installation
 
Ignoring the horrible amount of TIM on and around the CPU that I cleaned off just after I took this picture, the Noctua requires you install a backplate on the motherboard and these two retention clips on the motherboard top.
 
noctua nh=-u12p mounting

After this is complete you have to install two plates onto the cooler itself which act as retention plates for the two screws (one either side) to grip onto. Whilst the most fiddly bit of this is installing the backplate onto the motherboard, the whole thing took no longer than 20mins (including taking out the motherboard again as it's a bit of a tight fit to fit a fan in the A+ I was using.
 
noctua nh-u12p installed 2
 
installed 3

As you can see, the fixing is very good and feels very solid. Certainly this is a better solution for retention than the standard 4 clips on socket 775. On the negative side, you have to put up with a slightly fiddly install, including taking out the motherboard if you're replacing another cooler.

Let's see what results we get.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-11-2007, 10:38:45

FarFarAway
We take a good look at Noctua's latest cooler and see how it performs

Link

19-11-2007, 11:49:50

Bungral
Nice one Kempez.. Does that out preform the giant Thermaltake?

Also is there a %age score?

19-11-2007, 11:50:19

FarFarAway
There should be...

21-11-2007, 08:10:06

Imrahil
what about getting the NT-H1 on the base and retesting it?

I'd be glad to see what it actually does.

Imrahil

21-11-2007, 13:39:39

FarFarAway
The review was conducted with AS5 to give a fair comparison with all of the other coolers tested. When I install a new test rig next I am sure I could test it tho

21-11-2007, 18:05:58

Imrahil
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
The review was conducted with AS5 to give a fair comparison with all of the other coolers tested. When I install a new test rig next I am sure I could test it tho
No Chance to rerun the test with the Noctua itself and NT-H1 instead of AS5?

I'd think that would be the easiest way

Imrahil

21-11-2007, 19:12:12

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Imrahil'
No Chance to rerun the test with the Noctua itself and NT-H1 instead of AS5?

I'd think that would be the easiest way

Imrahil
It would be easy except the tests are run and done. I'm sure we can review NT-H1 on it's own, but this review was of the NH-U12P, not NT-H1

29-03-2008, 07:03:48

Help
Hello!

I'm new here and it's quite a big forum so i haven't found any thread about this yet so i'm asking u guys here instead. Does someone know what hight the Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler have from the motherboard to the fan (free space) cus that knowledge would really help me during if i can buy it or not. U see i have a motherboard full with this cooling metal stuff (sorry for the bad english) i'm from sweden, culdn't find a word for it :S Well i hope i can get an answear here cus i can't find it anywhere.

Thanx in advance? = ) bye

29-03-2008, 09:15:41

FarFarAway
The clearance from the mobo to the bottom of the fan is about 37mm

29-03-2008, 09:16:54

Rastalovich

31-03-2008, 12:56:28

Help
Thanx alot my friends. That helped me sorter this out quite easy = )

Bye! And thanx again!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.