Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler

Test Setup and Testing Method

Test Setup

The following Test Setup and Method was used:

CPU: Intel Core2Duo E6700 @ 3.33Ghz
Motherboard: XFX 650i Ultra
RAM: 2gb Mushkin XP2-6400 4-4-4-12

HDD: OS - 160gb Hitachi Deskstar SATA II
Power: Zippy 500w
Case: A+ Case Monolize
Graphics Card: Sapphire X1600Pro with Arctic Cooling Accelero S2

OS: Windows Windows Vista

The ambient temperature during testing of the Noctua heatsink was 24.1°C room temperature and the system temperature was 30°C.

Artic Silver 5 was applied onto both of the heatsinks to give as fair a comparison as possible. Please note that as AS5 "cures" (about 200hours and at least 2 cycles), the temps are likely to drop 1-3°C. Due to time constraints neither cooler had this luxury, and this was a fair comparison.

For the testing I had the E6700 clocked both at stock settings of 266 x 10 (2.66GHz) @ 1.3v and 330 x 10 (3.3GHz) @ a fairly high 1.45v to really push the coolers.

Temperatures were logged using CoreTemp monitoring software. Temperatures were checked with a thermal probe and found to be fairly accurate.

For idle temperatures I left the PC for 30mins then recorded the idle temperature every 10 seconds for 5 minutes, making sure I did not use any program that was not already running at windows startup.

For the load temperatures I ran an instance of prime 95 with in-place large FFT's for maximum heat and power consumption, as well as an instance of Folding@Home set to take up any spare cycles of the CPU. Once again I left this for 30mins then recorded the temperatures over a 5 minute period.

For comparison I used Intels stock cooler, the Scythe Infinity , Asus's Triton Cooler and Akasa's Revo. Note that for the testing with the Asus Triton 75 testing with a fan I used the same fan as on the Scythe Infiniy for parity and fairness.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-11-2007, 10:38:45

FarFarAway
We take a good look at Noctua's latest cooler and see how it performs

Link

19-11-2007, 11:49:50

Bungral
Nice one Kempez.. Does that out preform the giant Thermaltake?

Also is there a %age score?

19-11-2007, 11:50:19

FarFarAway
There should be...

21-11-2007, 08:10:06

Imrahil
what about getting the NT-H1 on the base and retesting it?

I'd be glad to see what it actually does.

Imrahil

21-11-2007, 13:39:39

FarFarAway
The review was conducted with AS5 to give a fair comparison with all of the other coolers tested. When I install a new test rig next I am sure I could test it tho

21-11-2007, 18:05:58

Imrahil
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
The review was conducted with AS5 to give a fair comparison with all of the other coolers tested. When I install a new test rig next I am sure I could test it tho
No Chance to rerun the test with the Noctua itself and NT-H1 instead of AS5?

I'd think that would be the easiest way

Imrahil

21-11-2007, 19:12:12

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Imrahil'
No Chance to rerun the test with the Noctua itself and NT-H1 instead of AS5?

I'd think that would be the easiest way

Imrahil
It would be easy except the tests are run and done. I'm sure we can review NT-H1 on it's own, but this review was of the NH-U12P, not NT-H1

29-03-2008, 07:03:48

Help
Hello!

I'm new here and it's quite a big forum so i haven't found any thread about this yet so i'm asking u guys here instead. Does someone know what hight the Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler have from the motherboard to the fan (free space) cus that knowledge would really help me during if i can buy it or not. U see i have a motherboard full with this cooling metal stuff (sorry for the bad english) i'm from sweden, culdn't find a word for it :S Well i hope i can get an answear here cus i can't find it anywhere.

Thanx in advance? = ) bye

29-03-2008, 09:15:41

FarFarAway
The clearance from the mobo to the bottom of the fan is about 37mm

29-03-2008, 09:16:54

Rastalovich

31-03-2008, 12:56:28

Help
Thanx alot my friends. That helped me sorter this out quite easy = )

Bye! And thanx again!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.