Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler

A closer look

Noctua NH-U12P CPU cooler - Close up

On closer inspection, the Noctua NH-U12P is a very well made bit of kit. Constructed in Aluminium with an nickel coated base, the heatsink is a little more compact than the Scythe Infinity we have also previously looked at. The heatpipes are connected to the base in sets of 4 and loop up though the fins in that way.

noctua NH-U12p

noctua NH-U12P hsf

The advantage that the HN-U12P has over some of the competition is that it's side-on profile is relatively narrow. This means that you might be able to squeeze it into a setup which has varying levels of clearance around the periphery of the CPU socket. With some coolers this can be an issue because the profile/size of the cooler is standard regardless of the orientation of the cooler.
 
heatpipes

nh-u12p heatpipes and base

As you can see, the whole thing is very well constructed and looks very solidly built. The fact that it's all silver is also a bonus in the looks stakes.
 
nh-u12p top

The top is stamped with a Noctua logo which is a nice touch.
 
NH-u12p bottom finish


The base is, as you can see, very reflective with no discernible machining marks on it. It's very flat and I made sure of this by testing with a flat piece of glass and a drop or two of water.

Onto testing setup...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-11-2007, 10:38:45

FarFarAway
We take a good look at Noctua's latest cooler and see how it performs

Link

19-11-2007, 11:49:50

Bungral
Nice one Kempez.. Does that out preform the giant Thermaltake?

Also is there a %age score?

19-11-2007, 11:50:19

FarFarAway
There should be...

21-11-2007, 08:10:06

Imrahil
what about getting the NT-H1 on the base and retesting it?

I'd be glad to see what it actually does.

Imrahil

21-11-2007, 13:39:39

FarFarAway
The review was conducted with AS5 to give a fair comparison with all of the other coolers tested. When I install a new test rig next I am sure I could test it tho

21-11-2007, 18:05:58

Imrahil
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
The review was conducted with AS5 to give a fair comparison with all of the other coolers tested. When I install a new test rig next I am sure I could test it tho
No Chance to rerun the test with the Noctua itself and NT-H1 instead of AS5?

I'd think that would be the easiest way

Imrahil

21-11-2007, 19:12:12

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Imrahil'
No Chance to rerun the test with the Noctua itself and NT-H1 instead of AS5?

I'd think that would be the easiest way

Imrahil
It would be easy except the tests are run and done. I'm sure we can review NT-H1 on it's own, but this review was of the NH-U12P, not NT-H1

29-03-2008, 07:03:48

Help
Hello!

I'm new here and it's quite a big forum so i haven't found any thread about this yet so i'm asking u guys here instead. Does someone know what hight the Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler have from the motherboard to the fan (free space) cus that knowledge would really help me during if i can buy it or not. U see i have a motherboard full with this cooling metal stuff (sorry for the bad english) i'm from sweden, culdn't find a word for it :S Well i hope i can get an answear here cus i can't find it anywhere.

Thanx in advance? = ) bye

29-03-2008, 09:15:41

FarFarAway
The clearance from the mobo to the bottom of the fan is about 37mm

29-03-2008, 09:16:54

Rastalovich

31-03-2008, 12:56:28

Help
Thanx alot my friends. That helped me sorter this out quite easy = )

Bye! And thanx again!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.