Noctua NH-D14 Review

Conclusion

Conclusion

Ill start by affirming my love for water cooling right here and now before I start this. Proper water cooling that is, not the £100 cheap 120mm kits that are available which need to be given a very wide birth, but before the emails start flooding my inbox I'll explain why.

The Noctua NH-D14 is the first heat sink that’s actually made me question the point for a CPU only water loop. The water loop is not only more expensive, but is quite daunting to install for a first timer, and it also has more chance to go wrong with failing pumps, and if it leaks it can actually kill your whole system.

If you were to buy the Noctua not only would you save money, not have the worry anything  other than the fans can go wrong but I’m also willing to put money on the fact that there would only be a couple of degree’s in temperature difference and I openly invite any water cooling shop to send me a 120mm kit for around £100 and prove me wrong.

With the ease of use, silence and the water cooling like temperatures all for £69.99 the only problem I can see with the NH-D14 is its size, so please do look at your system carefully, north bridge heat sinks and ram sizes are the particular issues I can see for most users. If none of these look like they will be an issue then I’d have to say this is the best cooler we have tested to date.

I’m so amazed by this coolers low noise yet class leading performance I will not only recommend it and award it with our coveted gold ‘Best in Class’ award but most importantly for a reviewer I am actually going to continue using it in my own personal rig which is worth more than any award in the real world!

So that’s it. The gauntlet has been laid down guys. This is the cooler to beat. If any manufacturer thinks they can beat these temperatures and be this quiet at the same time then you can contact me through the usual channels.

Good
- Awesome Cooling
- Near silent
- Even tamed a 4ghz i7

Mediocre
- Size - its not the smallest sink in the world is it!
- have to remove centre fan to mount

Bad
- They didnt make this before!

 

Thanks to Noctua for the sample today, you can discuss this in our forums

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-03-2010, 05:13:28

tinytomlogan
So many of you have been asking "Best Cooler for my 4ghz i7" I thought Id find out of the massive NH-D14 could be the cooler for you.

Continue Reading

22-03-2010, 07:22:44

thestepster
wow that is a beast of a cooler, when i eventually get an i7 i think this is going to be a definite purchase as im still not sure about the fuss of watercoolin

22-03-2010, 07:26:06

tinytomlogan
Its a no brainer tbh dude, its shocked me how good it is tbh.

22-03-2010, 07:28:55

thestepster
yeah i could tell! id even consider it just now for my 775 set up cause this will destroy my true but i would need to buy new ram as this flex II is pretty beast like ram and i dunno if i have near 130-140 to replace both at the moment

22-03-2010, 07:31:29

tinytomlogan
if you look carefully on my RE2 the ram will go between the fan tbh, really depends on the mobo though. Deffo worth it for the cool cpu and easy instalation though. On a 775 it would rock tbh.

22-03-2010, 07:38:25

thestepster
im gettin 60 load temps on my q6600 now since its settled down and put 2 new sharkoon silent eagle 2000's on there, but its the thickness of the ram thats my problem its this stuff i have, its about 1cm thick

http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/memory/ocz_ddr2_pc2_9200_flex_ii_4gb_series

22-03-2010, 08:38:30

FarFarAway
Noctua's coolers are just so well made and they come with everything you need as well. I have the NH-U12P and it's such a great cooler and the quality is tip-top. Props goes to them again making a superb cooler.

Good review

22-03-2010, 14:15:39

cl0ck_ed
This cooler looks great, its all the little touches that Imo set it apart from the crowd. The rubber bands set into the fans, the nicely braided fans. And the fact that the fans are included. The only draw back that I can see is the shear size of the unit. The price is very good considering the two included fans. The resistors is also a very nice touch. I like the review, very concise, no BS. thanks

22-03-2010, 14:46:39

BloomerzUK
Would be even better in a case with more airflow going across it. Looks and performs amazingly.

22-03-2010, 16:42:24

I Hunta x
VERY beastly temps for an air cooler looks like its going to be top choice for a while to come.

If you get chance tom you couldnt do me a little favour could you?

If you could get me temps (at the same settings the cpu was at in the review) but with the outside 120mm fan taken off, just the central 140mm running it would be a great help!

Basicaly i built a freind an i7 setup and now he's got the money spair he's looking to get a new cooler so we can get a better overclock (920 @ 3.2 currently iirc), Id love to recomend this to him except he has OCZ Reaper in the system and the heatspreaders on it would get in the way, it would fit fine without the 120 on the side but as it stands it wouldnt fit.

I just need to know the difference in temps between the 120mm+140mm (12v) and just the 140mm (12v) as if its the same or worse than the v8 i will just get him that.

Cheers if you can but its cool if you cant matey.

22-03-2010, 17:36:17

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='I Hunta x'
VERY beastly temps for an air cooler looks like its going to be top choice for a while to come.

If you get chance tom you couldnt do me a little favour could you?

If you could get me temps (at the same settings the cpu was at in the review) but with the outside 120mm fan taken off, just the central 140mm running it would be a great help!

Basicaly i built a freind an i7 setup and now he's got the money spair he's looking to get a new cooler so we can get a better overclock (920 @ 3.2 currently iirc), Id love to recomend this to him except he has OCZ Reaper in the system and the heatspreaders on it would get in the way, it would fit fine without the 120 on the side but as it stands it wouldnt fit.

I just need to know the difference in temps between the 120mm+140mm (12v) and just the 140mm (12v) as if its the same or worse than the v8 i will just get him that.

Cheers if you can but its cool if you cant matey.
Both fans are 140MM, although the middle fan is a bit larger because of it's round design. (I think)

22-03-2010, 17:42:20

I Hunta x
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='killablade'
Both fans are 140MM, although the middle fan is a bit larger because of it's round design. (I think)
Nope its a 120mm outside fan and 140mm middle fan but it uses 120mm mounts, if you buy the middle fan on its own you need to use adaptors that it comes with to use it with 140mm fan mounts.

I got confused first time i was looking at it on the noctua site.

22-03-2010, 18:51:09

tinytomlogan
Sorry hunty its all stipped now, the HS is now on the 980x all nestled up in a Rampage 3 Extreme! w000p w000p

22-03-2010, 18:53:14

thestepster
ohhh goooood everyone better get the Kleenex ready!

22-03-2010, 18:56:57

tinytomlogan
too late Ive already made a mess

22-03-2010, 18:59:09

thestepster
well everyone else better get them out! some more awsome tech pron from ttl towers! is that the a 'beta' board?

22-03-2010, 19:26:05

Ghosthud1
i have a love hate thing going on with noctua

if they didnt use fans what closely resemble the morning after the curry house then i might look into one!

but all in all, great review, great product and the videos are tip top!

22-03-2010, 19:26:38

I Hunta x
ok not a probs tom, if you get a chance with the 980x could you test it with just the 140mm running? just need to know a rough temp increase to see if its worth getting it over the v8.

22-03-2010, 19:39:14

tinytomlogan
It will kill the V8 simple as

22-03-2010, 19:42:53

I Hunta x
20 worth of killing?

22-03-2010, 19:58:12

tinytomlogan
For the fans alone deffo, stick the spare 120 on the exhaust mate. the V8 needs the fan wanged up to even hit 78.

22-03-2010, 20:04:55

I Hunta x
ok ta for that tom, ill get my mate to go get it tomorow and see what we can get his chip to on wed when im over his

24-03-2010, 04:55:41

CRAZYCAP
Hi Tinytom, Great review yet again. Can I make a suggestion in it would be better for the subscribers/readers to see test results of a CPU cooler in a natural environment (inside a case). The testbed you are using in this review would not produce the same heat build up that we would see inside a case. Maybe recording the temps inside a HAF or ANTEC etc would be a great indication to the people interested out there in grabbing one.

25-03-2010, 21:21:25

Bungral
I knew it was going to be large but when I saw these two pictures, I had to say WTF!!!

Meaty!

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...160945564l.jpg

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...160946554l.jpg

25-04-2010, 10:05:55

kn00b
Would this fit on a Asus Crosshair IV Formula or would the size cause problems with the heatsinks/ram slots on the board?

25-04-2010, 10:22:10

tinytomlogan
If you have large ram it wont fit. If its normal height ram then it goes over the top of them fine. (got one here atm)

25-04-2010, 10:48:46

kn00b
Was planning on using Kingston HyperX ramsticks in my new rig, they do have a heatsink mounted but I honestly don't know if they are considered bigger then normal.

25-04-2010, 13:50:47

tinytomlogan
Anything that sticks up more than a few mm from the pcb of the ram itself wont fit. Kingston have a few dif heatsinks btw

16-05-2010, 13:18:49

BoboMatrix
I assume everyone by now has seen the Rampage III Extremem. Also the seperate NB heat sink with the fan that comes with the motherboard. It's pretty clear that it sticks up quite a bit.

Will the board be able to fit the Noctua NH-D14 without running into problems?

16-05-2010, 14:23:01

tinytomlogan
No mate the bigger NB block on the RE3 wont fit with the NH-D14.

17-05-2010, 13:57:14

Steve-O-
Get this cooler if you can afford it and your mobo is compatible! I bought this beast because of TTL's review and couldn't be happier!

17-05-2010, 15:50:40

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Steve-O-'
Get this cooler if you can afford it and your mobo is compatible! I bought this beast because of TTL's review and couldn't be happier!
What temps you getting on the quad Steve? what clocks and vcore too?

18-05-2010, 13:42:03

Steve-O-
Here you go. Quite a big vcore for the speed I think but it was a bugger just getting to 3.5GHz for some reason.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3388/...b82e22decb.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4052/...d728c420ac.jpg

Temp wasn't going any higher so I didn't complete the Burn Test. Of course Intel Burn usually gets hotter than Prime95 so keep that in mind.

I let it idle for 10 min before taking a screen shot.

Ambient temperature is 75F so about 24-25c with a closed case. Sorry but I don't have a temp reader or I would give you case ambient.

18-05-2010, 13:54:18

tinytomlogan
Naaa thats some good screenies there, does look like its doing its job for you fella. Need to remember you are on 65nm aswell so we would expect it to be faily warm.

Real glad you are happy though dude

20-05-2010, 14:01:41

Kumanosuke
Hi guys,

-newbie here, do you think this heatsink will go over my OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 GOLD TRIPLE CHANNEL ram ?

-Prolimatech Megashadow vs Noctua NH-D14, which is better based purely on performance ?

Thanks in advance ;-)

20-05-2010, 15:12:59

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kumanosuke'
Hi guys,

-newbie here, do you think this heatsink will go over my OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 GOLD TRIPLE CHANNEL ram ?

-Prolimatech Megashadow vs Noctua NH-D14, which is better based purely on performance ?

Thanks in advance ;-)
You don't have hugh heatspreaders on the RAM so that shouldn't be a problem, and as far as pure performance goes, the megahalems don't even get near the D14

20-05-2010, 16:13:49

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='killablade'
You don't have hugh heatspreaders on the RAM so that shouldn't be a problem, and as far as pure performance goes, the megahalems don't even get near the D14
No where near

21-05-2010, 01:02:40

Steve-O-
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
No where near
*Whispers in a dramatic tone* No where...

21-05-2010, 16:12:07

Kumanosuke
thanks guys

what is the recommended retail price in UK ?

btw TTL's reviews are pretty good, keep up the good work

21-05-2010, 16:13:43

thestepster

18-09-2010, 16:10:40

Shido
Does anyone know if this cooler is compatible with say, Corsair Dominator GT memory? What with the high heat spreaders I'm not sure if it would give enough clearance or not without removing the heat spreaders which to me seems like a bad idea.

If no, do you recommend any other coolers? Like the Coolermaster V8 or V10? Perhaps Corsair H50 or H70? (Not sure if they are worth getting or not)

Thanks,

Shido

18-09-2010, 16:13:04

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shido View Post

Does anyone know if this cooler is compatible with say, Corsair Dominator GT memory? What with the high heat spreaders I'm not sure if it would give enough clearance or not without removing the heat spreaders which to me seems like a bad idea.

If no, do you recommend any other coolers? Like the Coolermaster V8 or V10? Perhaps Corsair H50 or H70? (Not sure if they are worth getting or not)

Thanks,

Shido
GT is fine with the tops off, if you look in my videos I do it on every one dude.

18-09-2010, 17:03:24

lasher
You can, if room in case have the front 120mm fan further up the front. Its just held on by spring clips.

Although as Tom states you can remove the top spreaders. Good airflow through your case and the RAM wont cook its self.

18-09-2010, 22:53:41

Shido
I see what you mean about the spring clips lasher, I might be able to do what you suggested though do you think moving the fan will affect performance of the radiators?

As for airflow, I have a Cooler Master HAF X with both top 200mm fans and the side 200mm with plenty of space. I'll take your word on the heat spreaders too Tom, I'll try the spring clips first, if not I'll just have to remove the spreaders I guess

Thanks for the replies guys

- Shido

19-09-2010, 05:19:21

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shido View Post

I see what you mean about the spring clips lasher, I might be able to do what you suggested though do you think moving the fan will affect performance of the radiators?

As for airflow, I have a Cooler Master HAF X with both top 200mm fans and the side 200mm with plenty of space. I'll take your word on the heat spreaders too Tom, I'll try the spring clips first, if not I'll just have to remove the spreaders I guess

Thanks for the replies guys

- Shido
You dont need to move the fan, and its a complete arse and reduces the effectiveness of the rear fan for the rest of the case. For the GT ram just whip off the tops dude IMHO it just looks wrong with it moved aswell.

19-09-2010, 12:52:09

Shido
Thanks Tom, that's what I was thinking. Do you have any thoughts on a Cooler Master V10 compared to a Noctua, I can't seem to find any comparisons or reviews you've made.

By the way, is there any way to put those spreaders back on effectively or are they stuck off forever once removed?

Thanks,

Shido

19-09-2010, 14:08:51

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shido View Post

Thanks Tom, that's what I was thinking. Do you have any thoughts on a Cooler Master V10 compared to a Noctua, I can't seem to find any comparisons or reviews you've made.

By the way, is there any way to put those spreaders back on effectively or are they stuck off forever once removed?

Thanks,

Shido
Noctua is the best cooler on the planet. Ram heatsinks have srews for the top bits dude so its all very easy to remove and refit

19-09-2010, 16:55:48

F-alienware
Well all I can do now is pray mine arrives lol.

Ordered a 140 for the front of my new build and a 120 for the back. And then money ran out... F**k they're expensive lmao.

I have a 92 in the bay already though, so one more 120 and I have a full set. I look forward to a gentle soothing whoosh.

14-10-2010, 23:28:51

Busman
Have you tried out the CoolIT ECO A.L.C.?

It looks like a good water cool solution for the beginner as it is a sealed unit requiring no coolant maintenance and fairly easy to fit.

At around 55 it's there will the med to high end air cooling metal fin + fan heatsinks.

Do you know how the CoolIT ECO ALC does / would compare with the Noctua NH-D14 or a more serious custom water loop cooling system?

I am just building my system and I couldn't decide between a serious air cooling heatsink solution or the CoolIT ECO ALC. On the strength of reviews I bought an CoolIT ECO ALC and a ThermalRight MUX-120 so I could have a look at them close up. I haven't found a direct comparison between these two or seen them involved in the same test results.

I have deduced that the ThermalRight MUX-120 can probably take more heat away then the CoolIT ECO ALC but I am not planning extreme overclocking (I am new to this scene - never dared do it with my previous AMDs before). I do like the fact that the CoolIT ECO ALC's processor 'pad' package is quite compact - much smaller then a stonking great heat sink cooler.

The ThermalRight MUX-120 looks too oversized and out of proportion when I hold it over my board. Also I would have to orientate it the other way round to the conventional otherwise it blocks 2 of my memory slots which I need to use. Also I suspect it may not fit in my ATX Midi-Tower box (Apeva X-Cruser) which hasn't been delivered yet.

A final question: With a CPU only water cooled solution would my chipset be at risk of overheating? (I mean with traditional / processor OEM stock fan assisted CPU cooling the some of airflow from the fan passes over the chipset heatsink. My last AMD board died when I hadn't realised a chipset fan had stopped working and it was a slow and gradual demise before I realised what was happening!)

15-10-2010, 00:40:13

AMDFTW
coolit ECO are poo they are ECO coolers and they are worse than the H70

basicly the DH14 is the best air cooler out on the market full stop

if you wanna go watercooling then it has to be done with effort and with money as there is no point goin in half assed,its gotta be done right or not at all

and with your mobo should be a suplied fan for use when watercooling the CPU altho i dont think it needed when there is decent airflow in the case

23-10-2010, 01:10:03

Jampanda
I would love to use the NH-D14 for my system, which is in progress. Will it fit in a mid size case?

23-10-2010, 03:03:48

lasher
If it's a case you already have, give us some dimensions you have available.

There's quite a few of us on here with them. Mines in quite a slim case but I have no side fans to foul.

Need full cofigs and rig spec not just ram with these babies.

23-10-2010, 06:43:22

F-alienware
Yeah the coolits are absolute poo now. The Domino wasn't bad (same as the H50 only more stick on tat) but the new ones are diabolical.

They do one for GPUs called an Omni.. It costs, wait for it, 180+

Why is it they can make one for a CPU that costs 50 yet 130 more for one that cools a GPU? a*shats.

23-10-2010, 15:48:09

Jampanda
Quote:
Originally Posted by lasher View Post

If it's a case you already have, give us some dimensions you have available.

There's quite a few of us on here with them. Mines in quite a slim case but I have no side fans to foul.

Need full cofigs and rig spec not just ram with these babies.
Its the thermaltake armor A90. 20.30" x 8.30" x 19.80" are the dimensions L x W x H

Asus Crosshair IV Formula

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T BE

Corsair Dominator GT

17-12-2010, 09:29:30

Zeals
Sorry for necroing this, but I finally found the review where the claim that an Intel 980x stock cooler can beat a Noctua and how that guy (andyvee) claimed that the H70 would whoop the Noctua's butt. The conditions to do so are idling the CPU, with the Noctua going vertically sucking air directly from a hot graphics card in a 800D.

So anyone buying a Noctua D14, don't set it up vertically, with it intaking air straight from your graphics cards in a 800D and you'll get awesome temps =D

17-12-2010, 10:08:51

AMD_PBz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Sorry for necroing this, but I finally found the review where the claim that an Intel 980x stock cooler can beat a Noctua and how that guy (andyvee) claimed that the H70 would whoop the Noctua's butt. The conditions to do so are idling the CPU, with the Noctua going vertically sucking air directly from a hot graphics card in a 800D.

So anyone buying a Noctua D14, don't set it up vertically, with it intaking air straight from your graphics cards in a 800D and you'll get awesome temps =D
No need to apologize we and by that I mean everyone in this community included know that the NH-D14 is the King of the Hill Bar None!

17-12-2010, 10:22:14

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Sorry for necroing this, but I finally found the review where the claim that an Intel 980x stock cooler can beat a Noctua and how that guy (andyvee) claimed that the H70 would whoop the Noctua's butt. The conditions to do so are idling the CPU, with the Noctua going vertically sucking air directly from a hot graphics card in a 800D.

So anyone buying a Noctua D14, don't set it up vertically, with it intaking air straight from your graphics cards in a 800D and you'll get awesome temps =D
Here on OC3D we call that skewing the results.

Sadly the fact is that Americans are in love with the H70 and the 800D. In the real world neither of them are really anything special. The H70 does cool quite well but when it can be trounced by an air cooler costing half the money you need to sort of have a word with yourself.

I assume by the use of the word 'whooping' and 'butt' this skewed review was carried out by an American.

17-12-2010, 16:44:12

Zeals
Considering the tests were rigged against it, it's still in the reviewers top 5 air coolers (including LCLC), which is admirable

17-12-2010, 17:34:57

Rahu X
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Here on OC3D we call that skewing the results.

Sadly the fact is that Americans are in love with the H70 and the 800D. In the real world neither of them are really anything special. The H70 does cool quite well but when it can be trounced by an air cooler costing half the money you need to sort of have a word with yourself.

I assume by the use of the word 'whooping' and 'butt' this skewed review was carried out by an American.
Indeed. Makes me feel a tad bit embarrassed to be an American, as all I see spec wise anymore for most computers are nothing but Cooler Masters and Corsairs for cases with H50s and H70s being the cooler of choice. For coolers, it's like they try to get what's "cool" instead of what cools. That, and they probably fell for the lie of it being a real water cooling setup. And I'm sure the Corsair badge didn't help things much.

As for me, I'm wise enough to not fall for that ploy and plop down $120 for an H70 whenever I can get a superior NH-D14 for $80, or even a high quality water cooling kit with a 240mm rad for about the same price.

17-12-2010, 17:50:37

Zeals
And if you use open headphones, you can hear something besides the fans. Noctuas are beyond quiet.

17-12-2010, 18:01:42

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rahu X View Post

Indeed. Makes me feel a tad bit embarrassed to be an American, as all I see spec wise anymore for most computers are nothing but Cooler Masters and Corsairs for cases with H50s and H70s being the cooler of choice. For coolers, it's like they try to get what's "cool" instead of what cools. That, and they probably fell for the lie of it being a real water cooling setup. And I'm sure the Corsair badge didn't help things much.

As for me, I'm wise enough to not fall for that ploy and plop down $120 for an H70 whenever I can get a superior NH-D14 for $80, or even a high quality water cooling kit with a 240mm rad for about the same price.
It's a shame, because all of the Americans I know and love (lived out there for ten years) were like, really clever intelligent people. It was widespread too. NJ, VA, MD, PA DE etc. I got around a bit lol. Mind you, the place I lived in in Ohio you could have fuelled a decade's worth of Jerry Springer shows

But yeah.. Earlier tonight I was reading some reviews of the Noctua NH on Newegg (mate in MD just ordered his) and one of them had me laughing...

"God these fans are so crap. They're ugly ETC ETC waah waah I replaced them with Yate Loons"

Way to completely miss the point. Did he not like, pick them up and feel how solid and well made they were? course not. First thing was the colour sucks. Who cares? they're beautifully engineered almost silent fans.

And there lies the problem. A lot of Americans don't care how something performs it's all about the looks. When I had my 200WHP Tiburon and it was sleepered down (pre spoiler and all that, I only did that 'cos I had to to sell it, no one wanted a plain fast car) I would get ragged on by V6 Mustang owners. Right up until we got out onto route 55 and I flipped them off and waved them goodbye. But even in defeat they would say "well I would still rather have my car because it LOOKS BETTER".

It's like those plums out there who show their test system with 24gb of ram in. Lmao.

17-12-2010, 19:05:52

ionicle
do noctua make a 939 adaptor for this heatsink?

problem:

i sleep...in my bed, in my bedroom, and my computer is on my desk, in my bedroom, and i usually leave it on overnight, and the whine from the cooler, and the fans, is ...well, making it difficult to sleep, i imagine for 939, it would keep it reasonably cool ...

EDIT: and it seems my temps aint too good either, i just remembered about coretemp, id long since forgotten bout it ...here's a shot, of it, just idling, not doing much more than just internet and music....

17-12-2010, 19:39:01

F-alienware
I don't think so. The older NH-C12P does though IIRC and that's mega silent. If you can find one, of course.

17-12-2010, 19:47:19

ionicle
someone should make a 939 adapter for it

939 isnt that out of date now is it?

17-12-2010, 19:57:29

F-alienware
Yes.

17-12-2010, 20:05:54

ionicle
jeez, i only went 775 once, and then i shot streight back to 939, core 2 duo was a miserable failure for me, and ive stuck with AMD and 939 ever since

17-12-2010, 20:22:42

mrapoc
theres a 775 adapter for it

Keeping my q6600 cool as iceeeee

17-12-2010, 20:35:57

ionicle
think any third parties make a 939 adapter? ive had a quick google, but nowt so far...

EDIT: acording to this site: http://www.overclock.net/air-cooling/628569-official-noctua-nh-d14-club-70.html

if you order one, and you have 939, and you ring them, they send you a 939 adapter

EDIT2: i have just emailed them, asking, and i will post here with any updates, if they email me back, or if they laugh at me

17-12-2010, 21:09:15

Brooksie
I'd imagine they would say "Save the money you're going to buy the cooler with and get a new PC, then get the cooler"

17-12-2010, 21:12:10

F-alienware
Hmm cool beans man. Good old Noctua FTW again.

18-12-2010, 02:29:03

Zeals
holy cow 89*C on core 0??!!!

Anyway, don't those Noctua coolers that support Opteron use K8? Sure it's not a D14, but it should be able to keep your system nice and cool, while remaining quiet

http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=207_23_313&products_id=13801

EDIT: I also found the adapter it costs a massive $2 http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=207_23_833&products_id=7011

18-12-2010, 08:28:03

ionicle
they aint emailed me back yet, but a google about their customer service says its second to none...

theres a lot of threads about that say people email them with 939 or 754 sockets and if you buy a cooler and show them the recept, they will send you one free of charge...sounds good to me

should keep my 939 cool even if i took the fans off i bet haha

the gigabyte cooler i have on it at the moment isnt exactly....good

lol

02-01-2011, 13:07:29

cinek2
any ideas if this will fit on the gigabyte P67 UD7 mobo?

02-01-2011, 15:00:15

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinek2 View Post

any ideas if this will fit on the gigabyte P67 UD7 mobo?
/Turns round and looks. Yep its still on there.

Yeah it fits

02-01-2011, 15:00:59

cinek2
awesome thanks a lot Tom!

btw when's the review coming out?

04-01-2011, 10:38:18

cinek2
does it fit on the Asus P8P67 DELUXE at all?

04-01-2011, 11:00:43

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinek2 View Post

awesome thanks a lot Tom!

btw when's the review coming out?
http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/cpu_mainboard/gigabyte_p67a-ud7_preview/1 "preview" ..



does it fit on the Asus P8P67 DELUXE at all?





I have seen one on it just depends a bit on what memory spreaders but that can be solved as well...

04-01-2011, 11:11:35

tinytomlogan
The D14 should fit every mobo but the ones with real extreme sized NB sinks. the main issue is ram with this cooler tbh.

04-01-2011, 11:12:46

cinek2
cool, thanks. I got the exceleram rippler, which is the same size as the mushkin ridgeback so it should be fine

20-01-2011, 01:29:43

Techno Tortoise
do you think you would be able to remove the 120mm fan and put on there 140 mm fan ? also could you with another bracket put on a third fan ????

20-01-2011, 04:43:16

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by TECHNO TORTOISE View Post

do you think you would be able to remove the 120mm fan and put on there 140 mm fan ? also could you with another bracket put on a third fan ????
an extra 140 ram side would stand up loads above the cooler, the other side would be ok depending on your mosfet heatsinks. But honestly dude, just buy the cooler and use it first, it doesnt need extra money spending on it

20-01-2011, 13:14:35

Techno Tortoise
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

an extra 140 ram side would stand up loads above the cooler, the other side would be ok depending on your mosfet heatsinks. But honestly dude, just buy the cooler and use it first, it doesnt need extra money spending on it
i know its the bomb don't get me wrong but haven't you ever though about putting another fan on to see if it makes a difference DO IT AND ILL SUCK YOU OF !

(joke)

20-01-2011, 13:46:49

tinytomlogan
You need to check some of my videos. its a been there and done that thing. Doesnt make masses of difference

20-01-2011, 15:01:58

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by TECHNO TORTOISE View Post

do you think you would be able to remove the 120mm fan and put on there 140 mm fan ? also could you with another bracket put on a third fan ????
If you use a Noctua 140mm fan, than you can fit it into the bracket where the 120mm was although some other companys like cythe and thermalright also have 140mm fans that can fit in 120mm brackets, however doing that will probably result in some major clearance issues with your RAM, so I wouldn't try it.

And yes with another bracket you can add on a third fan. In fact the third fan would end up right up against your rear exhaust fan.

EDIT: The third fan will only drop the temps by 2-3*C tops.

22-01-2011, 21:22:48

Techno Tortoise
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

You need to check some of my videos. its a been there and done that thing. Doesnt make masses of difference
ok then you have persuaded me not to get a third fan thanks for the info

01-02-2011, 04:48:55

coolgame
hey tom, will these kits be compatible with the d14?

http://www.gskill.com/products.php?index=186

thanks in advance

01-02-2011, 06:27:21

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

hey tom, will these kits be compatible with the d14?

http://www.gskill.com/products.php?index=186

thanks in advance
LOL no dude. /chuckles

Sometimes you get away with it if your baord is spaced different but the easy answer is no mate.

01-02-2011, 16:18:40

coolgame
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

LOL no dude. /chuckles

Sometimes you get away with it if your baord is spaced different but the easy answer is no mate.
so can u suggest me a gud 6gb 1600mhz ram to go with along with the ud3r v2,i7 950 and the d14(should overclock very well n have low timings stock.preferably gskill/mushkin)

01-02-2011, 18:40:38

Rageaholic
My Corsair Vengeance 8GB kit fits under my d14 fine, i just had to move up the front fan a bit, but it fits.

17-02-2011, 03:43:32

coolgame

17-02-2011, 03:59:02

I Hunta x
No they dont coolgame, any ram with heatsinks that raise about 5mm or more from the pcb would be a close shave to fit without moving the fan up a bunch.

Here's a list of compatable/incompatable ram, http://www.noctua.at/main.php?show=compatibility_ram_gen&products_id=34&lng=en

Here are 2 nice kits that will fit under perfectly fine.

Mushkin blackline 1600mhz 6-9-7-24 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226183

Mushkin blackline 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226130

07-03-2011, 23:24:49

Arthur Hucksake
I've joined the cult of Noctua. Can't wait to see what this thing can do on my new rig tomorrow.

07-05-2011, 09:16:40

Marcel
I think you might have mounted the cooler wrong way. The fan should be facing back of the case therefore you easily would mount higher RAM. Ty

08-05-2011, 10:55:46

umfpt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcel View Post

I think you might have mounted the cooler wrong way. The fan should be facing back of the case therefore you easily would mount higher RAM. Ty
The cooler has not been mounted the wrong way. It's the fins of the cooler that block the higher ram but you can be move the fan out of the way if necessary. The cooler comes with attachments to use the fan as a case fan.

13-06-2011, 19:26:38

yggdrasil
How do you guys think the NH-D14 would preform as a passive fan after removing all the fans?

I am curious it could possibly out preform other passive fans.

21-02-2012, 16:00:21

Mr Muggles
Out of curiosity I watched this review again today after watching some other reviews by TTL and I must say the difference in performance is staggering. How far have TTL's vids come? ha ha

Better audio, lighting, delivery! As a former performer myself i.e. musician I totally get that confidence comes over time and i'm not sure how good I would be talking to myself in front of a camera, Long may it continue.

ps

Just wanted to point out how much better the vids have got though really, I still don't own a Noctua fan never mind the NHD-14.

07-06-2012, 14:10:14

whosbawss
Hi mate can you fit one of these on your board if you have heat spreaders on your RAM or is there not enough clearance ?

07-06-2012, 14:28:09

tinytomlogan
As Ive just replied to you on YouTube it depends what heat spreaders..... Theyre all different heights. Theres more than enough info in the review for you to be able to work it out yourself!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.