Noctua NF-R8 and NF-S12 Cooling Fans

Packaging and Contents

Packaging and Contents

The Noctua NF-S12 and NF-R8 Cooling fan packaging is fairly standard, and provides only relevant information regarding the fans, their specification and content.

Noctua NF-S12 and NF-R8 Cooling fans Back of packaging

Inside the cardboard exterior the fans are protected by a plastic bubble which houses the fan and included accessories. The plastic bubble insert should be fairly hardy and prevent any real damage to the fan caused by knocks and bumps in transit.

Plastic Protection

You will notice the somewhat 'loud' colour scheme of fawn and chocolate brown that Noctua have gone with for their NF Series fans. Admittedly the colours won't be to everyone's taste, but it's the performance that really matters. For some reason under the lighting conditions the fan shrouds appear a salmon colour, but they are definitely fawn in colour.

NF-S12 NF-R8
Noctua NF-S12 and NF-R8 fans

You will notice that I have included the 800 and 1200 RPM versions of the NF-S12, this is purely for illustrative purposes. Noctua has also catered for different mounting applications for within your case, which you will see from the included accessories:

NF-S12 (800 & 1200 RPM versions)

Ultra-Low-Noise Adaptor (U.L.N.A.)
4 Vibration Compensators
3:4-Pin Adaptor
4 Fan Screws


NF-R8

Ultra-Low-Noise Adaptor (U.L.N.A.)
Low-Noise Adaptor (L.N.A.)
4 Vibration Compensators
3:4-Pin Adaptor
4 Fan Screws

Moving on, we shall now take a look at Noctua's NF-S12 and NF-R8 Cooling fans in a little more detail.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-01-2007, 06:12:05

PV5150
Noctua, is a name synonymous with silent cooling solutions. Today we give their NF-R8 and NF-S12 Cooling fans a workout in the OC3D Review labs, to see if the silent types can deliver.

Link

18-01-2007, 06:32:45

Ham
Nice job PV. Decent looking set of fans!

18-01-2007, 06:41:23

JN
Silence is golden...or was that brown

18-01-2007, 06:50:35

FarFarAway
Aye silence is brown. They are awesome fans. I know, I've got two of em

18-01-2007, 06:53:25

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Nice job PV. Decent looking set of fans!
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Silence is golden...or was that brown
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez™'
Aye silence is brown. They are awesome fans. I know, I've got two of em
Thanks lads, and like I said in the review the colours are really starting to grow on me. They really are awesome fans though

18-01-2007, 07:06:09

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Thanks lads, and like I said in the review the colours are really starting to grow on me. They really are awesome fans though
I actually like the colors myself. Quite different. Also, great CFM for such a low noise output May have to invest in a pair of these.

18-01-2007, 09:38:40

Mr. Smith
I recently read a review of these at SilentPC after Kemp recommended them to me - they came out on top.

This review confirms they are worthy of my mullah! I absolutely HATE the colours though...

18-01-2007, 13:38:55

ai_01
just repaint em.

18-01-2007, 13:43:55

Ares210
I would really like to get these fans but with a clear case and those colors...

18-01-2007, 15:57:49

NickS
I like the colors . I'll stick with my yates/pana's tho.

18-01-2007, 19:19:33

Nagaru
Look like some very nice fans, but they definitely need a paint job, imo.

28-01-2007, 14:26:09

markkleb
Another excellent review of a great product. At first I heard BROWN fan and changed the page thinking "what were they thinking?"

But after reading the review and really looking at them they look kind of nice. And since there is definately a lack of good engineering these days it was nice to see these fans.

I spent $30 ea. for my Silenx fans when they came out so the price seems fair for a good product.

29-01-2007, 02:56:43

PV5150
Thanks mate I'm glad you found the review a good read. Tbh I don't even notice the colours now

29-01-2007, 03:31:48

FarFarAway
I have to say that these are far superior to the SilenX fans I have in noise>airflow ratio

29-01-2007, 03:54:45

markkleb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez™'
I have to say that these are far superior to the SilenX fans I have in noise>airflow ratio
I wish I had seen this thread a few days earlier before I ordered new fans. I could have tried these.

I do know with a little work (actually a LOT) I have quieted the Silenx fans I have (IXP-76-18) a bunch. I am using a synthetic grease with teflon spacers and I massaged the blades (I REALLY need a life) to make them smoother.

Mabye the next case Il give these a try.

29-01-2007, 08:24:07

Toxcity
They may perform but they are ugly..

30-01-2007, 16:25:04

Allsorts
Thanks for the review, I seriously considered buying a few NF-S12 (1200 RPM) fans a wee while ago but didn't want to pay 18 each (at the time) just to see if the hype was true. The cheapest I can find them now is 13 so I might get the wallet out. I have a couple of questions:

The manufacturer data on page 1 of your review says "Voltage Range: 4-13 V". Did you test what minimum voltage the fan would startup & run continuously at? 4V seems a bit low to me.

Do you see any problems with me running this fan horizontally on my radiator (i.e. with the fan pointing at the ceiling)? I seem to remember someone telling me that some types of fan (possibly sleave fans) don't like being run whilst pointing upwards (not sure what SSO-Bearings are).

31-01-2007, 10:25:12

TJS
It's nice to know that even the HS/F companies are making better products, but that color... wow. Martha Stewart might actually get wet between the thighs with these fans. (Can you see her doing a show on building a nice, esthetically pleasing pc?)

TJS
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.