Noctua NF-R8 and NF-S12 Cooling Fans

Introduction

Introduction

Fans are predominantly the main source of extracting surplus heat from any PC. With an ever increasing prevalence, many users are now requiring efficient and effective cooling solutions for retaining an acceptable level of heat extraction from their computers. With the increased popularity of alternative methods of cooling, such as watercooling now becoming mainstream; gone are the days when people had to put up with high cfm, screaming banks of fans resounding from their cases.

Further, advancements in active air cooled heatsinks has meant that PC hardware can be cooled efficiently whilst retaining your sense of sanity. For everything but extreme cooling, high dB fans have become a thing of the past. We have also seen a move towards the introduction of HTPC's, where the modern PC becomes almost part of the furniture; and there is certainly little tolerance for exceptionally loud fans.

Noctua, an Austrian based cooling company, has predominantly set its sights on providing end users with a new level of quality and performance by paying attention to the users' needs and providing sound-optimised premium components, which serve their purpose in a smart, precise and reliable manner.

It should be known that this is my first experience with any of Noctua's range of cooling solutions and I must say I'm eager to see how they perform. So let's get down to business.

Today in the OC3D Review Labs we will be evaluating Noctua's NF-S12 (120mm) and NF-R8 (80mm) Cooling fans.

Noctua NF-R8 and NF-S12 fans


Specifications

According to the Noctua website the NF Series of fans are offered only in 120mm and 80mm configurations, but the 120mm fan does have a 1200 or 800 rpm variant available. The specifications for the NF-S12 and NF-R8 fans have been included below. (These were taken directly from Noctua's website)

NF-S12 (800 RPM)

Size: 120x120x25 mm
Bearing: SSO-Bearing
Blade Geometry: Straight-Blade-Design
Rotational Speed (+/- 10%): 800 RPM
Rotational Speed with U.L.N.A. (+/- 10%): 500 RPM
Airflow: 59 m³/h
Airflow with U.L.N.A.: 34 m³/h
Acoustical Noise: 8 dB(A)
Acoustical Noise with U.L.N.A.: < 5* dB(A)
Input Power: 0,60 W
Input Current: 0,05 A
Voltage Range: 6-13 V
MTBF: > 150.000 h
Warranty: 6 years


NF-S12 (1200 RPM)

Size: 120x120x25 mm
Bearing: SSO-Bearing
Blade Geometry: Straight-Blade-Design
Rotational Speed (+/- 10%): 1200 RPM
Rotational Speed with U.L.N.A. (+/- 10%): 600 RPM
Airflow: 81 m³/h
Airflow with U.L.N.A.: 41 m³/h
Acoustical Noise: 17 dB(A)
Acoustical Noise with U.L.N.A.: < 6* dB(A)
Input Power: 1,44 W
Input Current: 0,12 A
Voltage Range: 4-13 V
MTBF: > 150.000 h
Warranty: 6 years


NF-R8 (1800 RPM)


Size: 80x80x25 mm
Bearing: SSO-Bearing
Blade Geometry: Raised-Blade-Design
Rotational Speed (+/- 10%): 1800 RPM
Rotational Speed with L.N.A. (+/- 10%): 1300 RPM
Rotational Speed with U.L.N.A. (+/- 10%): 800 RPM
Airflow: 53 m³/h
Airflow with L.N.A.: 39 m³/h
Airflow with U.L.N.A.: 26 m³/h
Acoustical Noise: 17 dB(A)
Acoustical Noise with L.N.A.: 10 dB(A)
Acoustical Noise with U.L.N.A.: 7* dB(A)
Input Power: 1,32 W
Input Current: 0,11 A
Voltage Range: 4-13 V
MTBF: > 150.000 h
Warranty: 6 years

Now that we've seen the specifications of the review specimens, let's delve a little deeper.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-01-2007, 06:12:05

PV5150
Noctua, is a name synonymous with silent cooling solutions. Today we give their NF-R8 and NF-S12 Cooling fans a workout in the OC3D Review labs, to see if the silent types can deliver.

Link

18-01-2007, 06:32:45

Ham
Nice job PV. Decent looking set of fans!

18-01-2007, 06:41:23

JN
Silence is golden...or was that brown

18-01-2007, 06:50:35

FarFarAway
Aye silence is brown. They are awesome fans. I know, I've got two of em

18-01-2007, 06:53:25

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Nice job PV. Decent looking set of fans!
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Silence is golden...or was that brown
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez™'
Aye silence is brown. They are awesome fans. I know, I've got two of em
Thanks lads, and like I said in the review the colours are really starting to grow on me. They really are awesome fans though

18-01-2007, 07:06:09

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Thanks lads, and like I said in the review the colours are really starting to grow on me. They really are awesome fans though
I actually like the colors myself. Quite different. Also, great CFM for such a low noise output May have to invest in a pair of these.

18-01-2007, 09:38:40

Mr. Smith
I recently read a review of these at SilentPC after Kemp recommended them to me - they came out on top.

This review confirms they are worthy of my mullah! I absolutely HATE the colours though...

18-01-2007, 13:38:55

ai_01
just repaint em.

18-01-2007, 13:43:55

Ares210
I would really like to get these fans but with a clear case and those colors...

18-01-2007, 15:57:49

NickS
I like the colors . I'll stick with my yates/pana's tho.

18-01-2007, 19:19:33

Nagaru
Look like some very nice fans, but they definitely need a paint job, imo.

28-01-2007, 14:26:09

markkleb
Another excellent review of a great product. At first I heard BROWN fan and changed the page thinking "what were they thinking?"

But after reading the review and really looking at them they look kind of nice. And since there is definately a lack of good engineering these days it was nice to see these fans.

I spent $30 ea. for my Silenx fans when they came out so the price seems fair for a good product.

29-01-2007, 02:56:43

PV5150
Thanks mate I'm glad you found the review a good read. Tbh I don't even notice the colours now

29-01-2007, 03:31:48

FarFarAway
I have to say that these are far superior to the SilenX fans I have in noise>airflow ratio

29-01-2007, 03:54:45

markkleb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez™'
I have to say that these are far superior to the SilenX fans I have in noise>airflow ratio
I wish I had seen this thread a few days earlier before I ordered new fans. I could have tried these.

I do know with a little work (actually a LOT) I have quieted the Silenx fans I have (IXP-76-18) a bunch. I am using a synthetic grease with teflon spacers and I massaged the blades (I REALLY need a life) to make them smoother.

Mabye the next case Il give these a try.

29-01-2007, 08:24:07

Toxcity
They may perform but they are ugly..

30-01-2007, 16:25:04

Allsorts
Thanks for the review, I seriously considered buying a few NF-S12 (1200 RPM) fans a wee while ago but didn't want to pay 18 each (at the time) just to see if the hype was true. The cheapest I can find them now is 13 so I might get the wallet out. I have a couple of questions:

The manufacturer data on page 1 of your review says "Voltage Range: 4-13 V". Did you test what minimum voltage the fan would startup & run continuously at? 4V seems a bit low to me.

Do you see any problems with me running this fan horizontally on my radiator (i.e. with the fan pointing at the ceiling)? I seem to remember someone telling me that some types of fan (possibly sleave fans) don't like being run whilst pointing upwards (not sure what SSO-Bearings are).

31-01-2007, 10:25:12

TJS
It's nice to know that even the HS/F companies are making better products, but that color... wow. Martha Stewart might actually get wet between the thighs with these fans. (Can you see her doing a show on building a nice, esthetically pleasing pc?)

TJS
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.