Noctua NC-U6 Chipset Cooler

Conclusion

Conclusion

Whichever way you look at the Noctua NC-U6, there's not a lot to detract from its performance as a whole. Exceptional build quality, platform compatibility and proven performance all make the NC-U6 a worthy contender for your hard earned cash. Whilst I would ordinarily suggest that a passive heatsink would remain within the domain of the HTPC or silent PC enthusiast, its performance in the OC3D Labs has earnt it a recommendation for overclockers as well.

The Noctua NC-U6 is available for around £17.03 Inc VAT from Scan.co.uk. The NC-U6 can be purchased in the US for around USD$27.90 via Noctua's official distribution partners.

The Noctua NC-U6 is comparitively priced to similar products on the market, which will make it extremely competitive

I was so impressed by the NC-U6 and its performance that I'm going to award it the 'Editors Choice award' award. Well done Noctua on an outstanding product.

Pros
+ Excellent build quality
+ Great looks
+ Value for money
+ Proven performance
+ Appealing to the silent cooling connoisseurs

Cons
- TIM quality could be better
- Mounting holes/clips for an optional fan would complete the product.

Editors Choice Award

OC3D would like to extend a thank you to Noctua for providing us with the NC-U6.

Right to reply

After passing this review onto Noctua for perusal before going live, they were very swift to reply about the thermal paste issue that I had aluded to at the beginning of the review. Here is what Noctua had to say:

The only thing I'd like to comment on is the issue with the thermal paste. We haven't had any similar cases yet, but I'll advise the colleagues from the quality control to check on this."

It's great to see Noctua standing by their product, even on something as simple as thermal paste.

Feel free to discuss this review in our forum

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-02-2007, 08:42:05

PV5150
Looking for a purely passive cooling solution with your chipset cooling? Noctua's NC-U6 chipset cooler dropped by the OC3D Review Labs and we put it through its paces. Check out the review to see what all the hype is about...

Link

14-02-2007, 08:42:46

FarFarAway
Looks damn sweet. Great review as usual Mr Peevles

14-02-2007, 09:31:13

PV5150
Thanks mate

14-02-2007, 09:47:31

Rastalovich
Looks really nice, I think the price tag isn`t too bad either. Definately something to consider to replace some of the awful ones mobo manufs put together.

Thing that amazes me is if u look at the item seperately, it looks like it`ll be an awkwardly looking skyscraper of a hs. But when u see it mounted in situ, surrounded by cards etc, u realize it`s more suitable than u might have thought.

Price I seen this @ Performance was about $35 >.< I was thinking it`d be cheaper dollar side.

14-02-2007, 10:48:54

Mr. Smith
That is a nice little cooler. Quality review too

14-02-2007, 14:44:27

NickS
Nice review. PV, how'd you measure chipset temp on P5B?

14-02-2007, 15:42:50

Toxcity
Nice one PV!

I really enjoyed reading this. Looks like a pretty damn good NB cooler too!

14-02-2007, 16:35:07

chudley
I cant wait till the days when i need a cooler like this, it means I have finally hid away enough money to get an update and the missus has not caught me.

14-02-2007, 17:09:26

GrimReaper
hey nice review

14-02-2007, 19:01:08

PV5150
Hey guys, thanks for the feedback. Appreciated

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Nice review. PV, how'd you measure chipset temp on P5B?
Thanks mate. Temps were taken via Speed Fan 4.32 beta 17 and double checked for consistency using ASUS' own PC Probe.

14-02-2007, 19:07:54

NickS
Hmm. "Chipset" never showed up in PC Probe for me?

14-02-2007, 22:15:45

PV5150
PC Probe shows consistently the same temp on my motherboard reading as it does in AI Suite (sytem) and Speedfan. Iirc, the winbond (W83791G) chip for the P5B Deluxe 965 chipset handles the temps from CPU and NB via the die.

15-02-2007, 03:10:12

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
PC Probe shows consistently the same temp on my motherboard reading as it does in AI Suite (sytem) and Speedfan. Iirc, the winbond (W83791G) chip for the P5B Deluxe 965 chipset handles the temps from CPU and NB via the die.
They showed in PC Probe for me too
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.