Noctua NC-U6 Chipset Cooler

Installation

Installation

You can see from the picture below, how the supplied sticky foam pad protects the transistors on the Intel 965P Northbridge. Please excuse the sticky residue left over from my Jin Ting cooler, as it was extremely difficult to remove all traces of it.

ASUS P5B NB

Installation of the Noctua NC-U6 on my ASUS P5B Deluxe was an absolute breeze. The spring loaded plastic lugs made the installation process the quickest that I've ever had when changing NB coolers. The pressure applied to the chipset itself was firm and felt very secure.

NC-U6 front NC-U6 side

The NC-U6 chipset cooler provides ample clearance from any of the surrounding capacitors on my motherboard, and at least a good 35 - 40 mm (or just over 1.5" for those who use the Imperial system) from the PCI-E graphics card slot.

NC-U6 showing height from waterblock NC-U6 showing distance from gfx card

The above two pics show just how versatile the NC-U6 is as far as ensuring system compatibility. Even with the the heatsink rotated, there is still ample room left for large aftermarket CPU heatsinks to be installed.

So how does the NC-U6 perform as a purely passive heatsink? Will it be able to withstand the rigours of testing Australian summer temperatures? Follow me onto the next page to see how it handles the heat.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-02-2007, 08:42:05

PV5150
Looking for a purely passive cooling solution with your chipset cooling? Noctua's NC-U6 chipset cooler dropped by the OC3D Review Labs and we put it through its paces. Check out the review to see what all the hype is about...

Link

14-02-2007, 08:42:46

FarFarAway
Looks damn sweet. Great review as usual Mr Peevles

14-02-2007, 09:31:13

PV5150
Thanks mate

14-02-2007, 09:47:31

Rastalovich
Looks really nice, I think the price tag isn`t too bad either. Definately something to consider to replace some of the awful ones mobo manufs put together.

Thing that amazes me is if u look at the item seperately, it looks like it`ll be an awkwardly looking skyscraper of a hs. But when u see it mounted in situ, surrounded by cards etc, u realize it`s more suitable than u might have thought.

Price I seen this @ Performance was about $35 >.< I was thinking it`d be cheaper dollar side.

14-02-2007, 10:48:54

Mr. Smith
That is a nice little cooler. Quality review too

14-02-2007, 14:44:27

NickS
Nice review. PV, how'd you measure chipset temp on P5B?

14-02-2007, 15:42:50

Toxcity
Nice one PV!

I really enjoyed reading this. Looks like a pretty damn good NB cooler too!

14-02-2007, 16:35:07

chudley
I cant wait till the days when i need a cooler like this, it means I have finally hid away enough money to get an update and the missus has not caught me.

14-02-2007, 17:09:26

GrimReaper
hey nice review

14-02-2007, 19:01:08

PV5150
Hey guys, thanks for the feedback. Appreciated

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Nice review. PV, how'd you measure chipset temp on P5B?
Thanks mate. Temps were taken via Speed Fan 4.32 beta 17 and double checked for consistency using ASUS' own PC Probe.

14-02-2007, 19:07:54

NickS
Hmm. "Chipset" never showed up in PC Probe for me?

14-02-2007, 22:15:45

PV5150
PC Probe shows consistently the same temp on my motherboard reading as it does in AI Suite (sytem) and Speedfan. Iirc, the winbond (W83791G) chip for the P5B Deluxe 965 chipset handles the temps from CPU and NB via the die.

15-02-2007, 03:10:12

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
PC Probe shows consistently the same temp on my motherboard reading as it does in AI Suite (sytem) and Speedfan. Iirc, the winbond (W83791G) chip for the P5B Deluxe 965 chipset handles the temps from CPU and NB via the die.
They showed in PC Probe for me too
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.