Noctua NC-U6 Chipset Cooler

A Closer Look

A Closer Look

Noctua Fan Front Noctua Fan side view

The first thing that stands out about the Noctua NC-U6 chipset cooler is its impeccable build quality. The NC-U6 sports 2 Dual-Heatpipes, 29 aluminium fins and soldered joints for optimal heat-transfer. The mounting clips that come with the NC-U6 chipset cooler allow for 120 degrees of rotation, which will make it easier to install for those with crowded motherboard real estate.

NC-U6 Top view

The large hole on the centre of the fins is for adjusting the screw which attaches to the base of the cooler; facilitating adjustments by the user.

NC-U6 copper base NC-U6 end

You can see by the left hand picture above that the base has been well lapped, although not to a mirrored finish. But, bearing in mind that a mirrored finish is in no way indicative of flatness. Slight rippling on the base is also visible, but it is in fact completely flat, after having checked the base myself on a flat piece of glass.

If you look closely enough at the picture on the right, it is clearly visible that there has been provision made for perhaps utilising a small fan to asist with cooling if the need arose. There is nothing mentioned of this in the product documentation I received, but, it would be quite easy to do so. A 60 mm fan would fit in the space provided amongst the fins quite easily.

Now that we have had a look at our review subject in detail, let's see how easily it is to install.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-02-2007, 08:42:05

PV5150
Looking for a purely passive cooling solution with your chipset cooling? Noctua's NC-U6 chipset cooler dropped by the OC3D Review Labs and we put it through its paces. Check out the review to see what all the hype is about...

Link

14-02-2007, 08:42:46

FarFarAway
Looks damn sweet. Great review as usual Mr Peevles

14-02-2007, 09:31:13

PV5150
Thanks mate

14-02-2007, 09:47:31

Rastalovich
Looks really nice, I think the price tag isn`t too bad either. Definately something to consider to replace some of the awful ones mobo manufs put together.

Thing that amazes me is if u look at the item seperately, it looks like it`ll be an awkwardly looking skyscraper of a hs. But when u see it mounted in situ, surrounded by cards etc, u realize it`s more suitable than u might have thought.

Price I seen this @ Performance was about $35 >.< I was thinking it`d be cheaper dollar side.

14-02-2007, 10:48:54

Mr. Smith
That is a nice little cooler. Quality review too

14-02-2007, 14:44:27

NickS
Nice review. PV, how'd you measure chipset temp on P5B?

14-02-2007, 15:42:50

Toxcity
Nice one PV!

I really enjoyed reading this. Looks like a pretty damn good NB cooler too!

14-02-2007, 16:35:07

chudley
I cant wait till the days when i need a cooler like this, it means I have finally hid away enough money to get an update and the missus has not caught me.

14-02-2007, 17:09:26

GrimReaper
hey nice review

14-02-2007, 19:01:08

PV5150
Hey guys, thanks for the feedback. Appreciated

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Nice review. PV, how'd you measure chipset temp on P5B?
Thanks mate. Temps were taken via Speed Fan 4.32 beta 17 and double checked for consistency using ASUS' own PC Probe.

14-02-2007, 19:07:54

NickS
Hmm. "Chipset" never showed up in PC Probe for me?

14-02-2007, 22:15:45

PV5150
PC Probe shows consistently the same temp on my motherboard reading as it does in AI Suite (sytem) and Speedfan. Iirc, the winbond (W83791G) chip for the P5B Deluxe 965 chipset handles the temps from CPU and NB via the die.

15-02-2007, 03:10:12

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
PC Probe shows consistently the same temp on my motherboard reading as it does in AI Suite (sytem) and Speedfan. Iirc, the winbond (W83791G) chip for the P5B Deluxe 965 chipset handles the temps from CPU and NB via the die.
They showed in PC Probe for me too
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.