Nexus Edge Review

Testing

Nexus Edge Review

Testing

We recently simplified our case testing procedure here at OC3D, mainly because all you want to know is if it cools well and if it's quiet. That's normally very easy to write about with a few temperature readings and a comment of the fans - job done.

The Nexus is not so simple sadly. For starters we fitted a Xigmatec 120mm fan in the back of the case as it did not come with one, and we ran all the fans at 12v. Staying with the Nexus mantra it was very quiet, but that's where it stops. My concerns with the lack of airflow were well founded and the main system in the top of the case was struggling to breathe. The small opening at the front of the case, with no fans didn't even try to pull any air in. Just not good enough to keep our test equipment cool. Opening the front door definitely helps but if I'm honest anyone looking to buy this case must also factor in the costs of a bracket to fit a fan in the drive bays to aid the airflow. If you have a really hot system the door would also need to be cut or removed all together.

Nexus Edge Review     Nexus Edge Review

On a brighter note the lower section kept our hard drives and psu very cool. The hard drives mount with the cables all at the 'front side' of the case which is great for easy access, but definitely not great for aesthetics.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-04-2010, 06:05:45

tinytomlogan
Thinking about building a home or office server? We may have the case for you.



Continue Reading

22-04-2010, 06:21:04

Youngie1337
I do think this case looks rather sexy. I wouldn't say no.

22-04-2010, 08:27:49

WelshD1K
looks mohasive and umm not so attractive for the

22-04-2010, 09:54:06

tinytomlogan
It is a grower, if it had a better front door/airflow then Id happily have used it for my server. I was VERY close to powdercoating the internals and using it if Im honest. For proffesional use it is very unique for a chassis to have all these features.

22-04-2010, 11:55:32

steve30x
It looks good from the outside but the inside needs work. I got an Obsidian 800D which is huge but that case is even taller (but not as long). There isnt enough cable routing on that case either. It is a lot cheaper than my case though so its good for the money I suppose.

PS: Is the Corsair HX1000 supposed to make a low hissing sound when the hard drives are working. Its there all the time but it gets louder the more the PSU is being used.

23-04-2010, 15:10:38

Chewbacca
My TJ07 isnt as tall as this? wow. But there is nowhere to put the cables!

23-04-2010, 15:26:03

Steve-O-
This is a perfect example that front doors suck.

24-04-2010, 06:25:46

thewoolard
Gosh this case is ugly.

For the money there are much better options.

24-04-2010, 06:33:16

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='thewoolard'
Gosh this case is ugly.

For the money there are much better options.
Name me one with 9hdd mounts out of the box then. Its NOT a gaming case.

25-04-2010, 16:01:13

lasher
Li Lis pc-a71F has 10 mounts but is more expensive.

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CA-172-LL&utm_source=froogle

Even though i love lilis id seriously consider one of these as its a fantastic case and looks to be better on the sound with all that dampening foam!

19-05-2010, 17:36:24

eden188
Got this case, great for all the HDDs I need to install, but had to remove the front door as it REALLY hammers the airflow (got 2 x 5in3 IcyDock), with the door closed, my HDDs were hitting around 55C, with the door off, they are about 45C.

Also, to be very honest, I have worked with better quality cases than this, there are a lot of sharp edges, which I would have expected better for a case of this price, and the design is only average.

I have missed out on a Lian Li V2100 on eBay, which I would have love to have instead.

19-05-2010, 17:41:01

tinytomlogan
A V2100 instead.... Really? Using the bays in the bottom? Airflow is fairly low in thpse aswell tbh. The edge is function rather than form I agree, but as said in the review video i did question using this for my own server - I just didint have time to powdercoat it!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.