Nexus Edge Review

Initital Impressions

Nexus Edge Review

Initial Impressions

First things first. The Edge is massive. One of the tallest cases we have ever had in fact. Second thing this is no gamer case. It has definitely been designed for the professional or those among us who don't require landing lights and something that looks like it belongs in an episode of Doctor Who.

Nexus Edge Review  Nexus Edge Review

Opening the full length lockable brushed aluminium door it becomes obvious why the case is so tall. There is a total of 9x 5.25" drive bays in the top section alone with a 140mm Nexus fan as an intake which has a dust filter. Talking of dust filters all of the front panel covers have dust filters fitted.

Nexus Edge Review  Nexus Edge Review  

The side panel is also lockable but once removed with get our first glimpse of how much you could possibly cram inside this. The 9 drive bays dominate the front of the case. At the back there are 4 water cooling hose grommets and a space for what we would call the usual 120mm exhaust, although this is strangely not supplied. Between the upper and lower level there is a 140mm exhaust fan, again in the roof yet another 140mm exhaust. There are a couple of things here I must point out. 1, there is no rear exhaust fan in the 'usual' slot near the motherboard I/O. 2, there is no intake fans what so ever in top section of the case where the main hardware would  be.

 Nexus Edge Review  Nexus Edge Review  

If you look at the picture of the case on its side, and cast your eyes to the front part of the case you should notice a small opening. When the door is shut this is all of the ventilation for the intake of the case, so not only does this case not have front fans for the upper section but airflow is hardly abundant either. While we are gazing around the bottom of the case its easy to see the large feet which can be moved outwards to give extra stability.

Nexus Edge Review  Nexus Edge Review  

This case's party trick is the fact that out of the box it has the ability to support up to 9 hard drives. These are all also tool-less. All the cases fittings actually came in a box the same size as a 3.5" hard drive so that you can store the spare parts in one of the drive bays should you have any spare!

Nexus Edge Review  Nexus Edge Review  

There are some cable management holes between the two layers but sadly none in the motherboard tray meaning that most things will be on full display. It pains me that a manufacturer sees the cpu cut out a priority, yet a small hole for the 8 pin psu power at very least is not. Sound deadening foam on the backs of the doors is yet another hint at the fact this case is not for gamers.

Let's move on to testing, as its not straightforward with this case.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-04-2010, 06:05:45

tinytomlogan
Thinking about building a home or office server? We may have the case for you.



Continue Reading

22-04-2010, 06:21:04

Youngie1337
I do think this case looks rather sexy. I wouldn't say no.

22-04-2010, 08:27:49

WelshD1K
looks mohasive and umm not so attractive for the

22-04-2010, 09:54:06

tinytomlogan
It is a grower, if it had a better front door/airflow then Id happily have used it for my server. I was VERY close to powdercoating the internals and using it if Im honest. For proffesional use it is very unique for a chassis to have all these features.

22-04-2010, 11:55:32

steve30x
It looks good from the outside but the inside needs work. I got an Obsidian 800D which is huge but that case is even taller (but not as long). There isnt enough cable routing on that case either. It is a lot cheaper than my case though so its good for the money I suppose.

PS: Is the Corsair HX1000 supposed to make a low hissing sound when the hard drives are working. Its there all the time but it gets louder the more the PSU is being used.

23-04-2010, 15:10:38

Chewbacca
My TJ07 isnt as tall as this? wow. But there is nowhere to put the cables!

23-04-2010, 15:26:03

Steve-O-
This is a perfect example that front doors suck.

24-04-2010, 06:25:46

thewoolard
Gosh this case is ugly.

For the money there are much better options.

24-04-2010, 06:33:16

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='thewoolard'
Gosh this case is ugly.

For the money there are much better options.
Name me one with 9hdd mounts out of the box then. Its NOT a gaming case.

25-04-2010, 16:01:13

lasher
Li Lis pc-a71F has 10 mounts but is more expensive.

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CA-172-LL&utm_source=froogle

Even though i love lilis id seriously consider one of these as its a fantastic case and looks to be better on the sound with all that dampening foam!

19-05-2010, 17:36:24

eden188
Got this case, great for all the HDDs I need to install, but had to remove the front door as it REALLY hammers the airflow (got 2 x 5in3 IcyDock), with the door closed, my HDDs were hitting around 55C, with the door off, they are about 45C.

Also, to be very honest, I have worked with better quality cases than this, there are a lot of sharp edges, which I would have expected better for a case of this price, and the design is only average.

I have missed out on a Lian Li V2100 on eBay, which I would have love to have instead.

19-05-2010, 17:41:01

tinytomlogan
A V2100 instead.... Really? Using the bays in the bottom? Airflow is fairly low in thpse aswell tbh. The edge is function rather than form I agree, but as said in the review video i did question using this for my own server - I just didint have time to powdercoat it!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.