Nexus Edge Review

Introduction

Nexus Edge Review  

Introduction

Nexus was founded in 2000 by a group of experts specialising in heat conductivity and noise reduction. Over the last 10 years the founders have worked closely with many of the large companies in the industry to build up a vast knowledge of thermal characteristics and conductivity. This has enabled nexus to produce a wide range of products with a focus on great thermal performance and low noise.

Enter stage right the Nexus Edge which offers, in their own words, "great airflow, silence and plenty of space for a whole lot of HDD's and optical..." So lets move on and see the on paper specifications:

Model number:

EDGE

Motherboard size:

ATX, Full ATX, Micro ATX, Full ATX

Padding:

Noise absorption wave foam

PSU:

Not included

Case fans:

3x 140mm | 1000RPM

Front ports:

E-SATA, 2x USB 2.0, MIC and AUDIO

5.25" bay exposed

8 tool less

3.5" bay exposed

1 tool less

3.5"bay hidden

9 tool less

Expansion slots

7 tool less

Case size:

64,2 x23,9 x 57,6 (L x W xD)
    Front cover:Aluminum + ABS
    Chassis material:SECC 1.0 t
    Water-cooling:4 pipe holes for liquid cooling
    Feet:Rubber adjustable feet


Head over the page for our first look of the Edge.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-04-2010, 06:05:45

tinytomlogan
Thinking about building a home or office server? We may have the case for you.



Continue Reading

22-04-2010, 06:21:04

Youngie1337
I do think this case looks rather sexy. I wouldn't say no.

22-04-2010, 08:27:49

WelshD1K
looks mohasive and umm not so attractive for the

22-04-2010, 09:54:06

tinytomlogan
It is a grower, if it had a better front door/airflow then Id happily have used it for my server. I was VERY close to powdercoating the internals and using it if Im honest. For proffesional use it is very unique for a chassis to have all these features.

22-04-2010, 11:55:32

steve30x
It looks good from the outside but the inside needs work. I got an Obsidian 800D which is huge but that case is even taller (but not as long). There isnt enough cable routing on that case either. It is a lot cheaper than my case though so its good for the money I suppose.

PS: Is the Corsair HX1000 supposed to make a low hissing sound when the hard drives are working. Its there all the time but it gets louder the more the PSU is being used.

23-04-2010, 15:10:38

Chewbacca
My TJ07 isnt as tall as this? wow. But there is nowhere to put the cables!

23-04-2010, 15:26:03

Steve-O-
This is a perfect example that front doors suck.

24-04-2010, 06:25:46

thewoolard
Gosh this case is ugly.

For the money there are much better options.

24-04-2010, 06:33:16

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='thewoolard'
Gosh this case is ugly.

For the money there are much better options.
Name me one with 9hdd mounts out of the box then. Its NOT a gaming case.

25-04-2010, 16:01:13

lasher
Li Lis pc-a71F has 10 mounts but is more expensive.

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CA-172-LL&utm_source=froogle

Even though i love lilis id seriously consider one of these as its a fantastic case and looks to be better on the sound with all that dampening foam!

19-05-2010, 17:36:24

eden188
Got this case, great for all the HDDs I need to install, but had to remove the front door as it REALLY hammers the airflow (got 2 x 5in3 IcyDock), with the door closed, my HDDs were hitting around 55C, with the door off, they are about 45C.

Also, to be very honest, I have worked with better quality cases than this, there are a lot of sharp edges, which I would have expected better for a case of this price, and the design is only average.

I have missed out on a Lian Li V2100 on eBay, which I would have love to have instead.

19-05-2010, 17:41:01

tinytomlogan
A V2100 instead.... Really? Using the bays in the bottom? Airflow is fairly low in thpse aswell tbh. The edge is function rather than form I agree, but as said in the review video i did question using this for my own server - I just didint have time to powdercoat it!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.