Nanoxia DS6 Deep Silence 6 Review

Up Close: Stripped

Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 Review

Up Close:  Stripped

Both the front and rear plastic fascia are held in place with plastic lugs and require quite a degree of force to remove.  As the cables for the front I/O remain hard wired to these you're going to have to be very careful ensuring that all cable ties are released and take great care in feeding the cables through.  As the build quality on the rest of the case is on the whole quite high we were surprised to see some really quite shoddy glue gun work back here as seen on the image below left.  with an eye to water-cooling , when we first removed the top cover we were quite keen to see if there was enough room to fit 120 or 140mm fans, and although there is plenty of space up here, as the mechanism for the air chimney lives in the roof void, sticking fans or a rad up here is a bit of a non starter, as the cross braces would be restricted from moving and activating the chimney.

Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 Review     Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 Review

 

With the fascia removed we get a much better idea of how the case is put together and how easy things will be mod or change should we feel we need to.  It's mostly rivets unfortunately so if you're planning on a total strip down best get the drill out.

Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 Review     Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 Review

 

The roof is so large we feel we could stretch out and go to sleep on it.  If we did though we'd be left with a rather embarrassing mesh mark from the large expanse of perforations that make up the roof ventilation. 

Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 Review     Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 Review

 

Although the front fan filters can be removed we've left them in place to give you a better idea of how they work.  Fortunately as the lower section of the fascia has it's own door there's no need to remove it as we have to access the filters.

Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 Review     Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 Review the

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-11-2013, 10:22:14

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...151739370l.jpg

Nanoxia have been very busy indeed since he release of the DS1. Here we take a look at the Daddy of the range, the DS6

Continue Reading

25-11-2013, 11:40:00

Wraithguard
Oooh the modding senses are tingling!!

25-11-2013, 11:47:26

barnsley
Waaay to white. ;D


Its a real shame about the quality, I hope it doesn't go downhill anymore. I want a Matx deep silence, that would be fantastic!

25-11-2013, 11:48:43

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Waaay to white. ;D


Its a real shame about the quality, I hope it doesn't go downhill anymore. I want a Matx deep silence, that would be fantastic!
DS4 is up in a few weeks matey but Gary has it there to do after a few other items.

25-11-2013, 11:51:36

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
DS4 is up in a few weeks matey but Gary has it there to do after a few other items.
Ah great I look forward to it .

25-11-2013, 12:02:16

Rastalovich
It's nice to see so many hard drive options, agree that it'd be nice to be able to remove all the bays. Well tbh, it'd be good if every manuf allowed you to remove everything from the case without issues. My first thoughts on seeing this is a home server ---- probably not what the manufs had in mind completely.

Quality matters to many, however as a home server, you're not ~really~ looking for something to show off your graphics card(s), watercooling, and so on. Which then moves me away from thinking of a server.

Nice and quiet tho...

Price too. I dunno, I'm confused.

28-11-2013, 18:04:51

lwatcdr
Naoxia products are not that common in the US I am sorry to say. The DS1 and DS2 are about the only products that tend to get to the US.

29-11-2013, 16:08:35

Xenomorphical
Ah man, they stole my "below dvd drive bay radiator mounting" idea lol: http://www.xs-chaos.co.uk/xeno/pics/...c-hemi/h46.jpg

30-11-2013, 14:03:04

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenomorphical View Post
Ah man, they stole my "below dvd drive bay radiator mounting" idea lol:
I'm sure if you contact them they'll forward you a generous royalties cheque

30-11-2013, 21:02:16

Xenomorphical
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
I'm sure if you contact them they'll forward you a generous royalties cheque
I highly doubt that lol
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.