Nanoxia Deep Silence Case Review

Nanoxia Deep Silence Case Review

Nanoxia Deep Silence Case Review  


Introduction

So Nanoxia have been around for a few years, most of us will know them for sexy green fans! They have their sights set high with their new range of cases and are looking to take a chunk of Fractals market share away from them. Being a German company our hopes on quality are very high, so lets take a look at the  specifications before swiftly moving on to the video review.


Specifications

Case TypeMidi Tower
Form FactorATX, XL-ATX, Micro-ATX, Mini-ITX
5.25 inch drive bay external3 x
3.5 inch drive bay external1 x (optional)
2.5/3.5 inch drive bay internal8 x
Case Fan (Front)2 x 120 mm
Case Fan (Rear)1 x 140 mm
Case Fan (Top)optional 2 x (120/140 mm)
Case Fan (Bottom)optional 1 x (120/140 mm)
Case Fan (Left Sidepanel)optional 1 x (120/140 mm)
Height (Approx.)517 mm
Width (Approx.)220 mm
Depth (Approx.)532 mm
Materialsteel, plastic
Weight (Approx.)11.34 kg
Maximum installation height of CPU coolers185 mm
Maximum VGA Card Length315 (445) mm



Video Review

Conclusion

So at first we said we would wait until the white version was released before we would take a look at this, we honestly wish we had got one earlier. It's that awesome. Now don't go getting us wrong here, our spidey senses are tingling because of this case's ace card.... Watercooling. Thing is we should recap a little about the basic features before diving head first into these.

So many many of you at first glance would have thought "Fractal" well don't worry I did too, still am tbh. Id put money on them being manufactured in the same factory to be honest. The Fractal resemblance will never be a bad thing, its simple and sleek. No harsh lines or disco lights on this one, oh no far more grown up.

Silent by name, silent by nature. There's bitumen (same as Fractals) in the side panel and also under the pop up airflow port/chimney on the roof. The front fans are dust filtered and easily removed/changed/cleaned, talking of fans there is also a pair of fan controllers on the front to give you the option of easily customising your fan speeds on the fly.

There's ample room behind the motherboard tray for cables, decent cable routing options both round the back and in the main part of the case too. The hard drive bays can be split into 3 parts and removed / installed how ever you see fit including a second mounting point in front of the PSU which also allows 3.5" drives to be run while you have a radiator fitted into the front.So with watercooling mentioned we move on to cover this, for such a small case it does pack quite a punch when it comes to H20. You can remove the hard drive bays and get a radiator in the front but without having to sacrifice storage space, these can simply be relocated further back. The rad mount in the roof is offset so that it sits further away from the motherboard than normal, you still need to go careful with memory choices (35mm tall max) but this does mean you can get a 60mm thick rad in the roof and a set of fans without it effecting the rest of your hardware OR a bay res/pump combo should you want to run one to save room.

The only negative points we personally have picked up on are with such great water cooling support even an optional extra of a window is an oversight. Secondly the white plastic is textured satin white and the main case is gloss white, we know its picky but the two together doesn't work for us.

We'll be honest without that roof radiator support this would have been a shiny silver award. Once you factor in the H20 options it just tips the scale towards the enthusiast that little bit more and means we are happy to award the Nanoxia Deep Silence case the OC3D Gold Award. Add in a window to this case and it would become hard to find a way how you could not choose this over the R4..... So get to it Nanoxia!

    

Thanks to Quiet PC for sending us the case in for review, you can discuss your thoughts in the OC3D forums.

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-01-2013, 10:02:37

tinytomlogan
I take a look at a case from Nanoxia. New to the chassis market and looking to take on the likes of Fractal we thought we had better give it the once over.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...071403685l.jpg


Continue Reading

11-01-2013, 10:28:30

dugdiamond
what a little cracker of a mid-tower case

11-01-2013, 13:45:17

Spiderz
Looks like a cracking case, can do almost anything you can think putting into the usual home rig. Not overly sold on the looks of it though so probably not for me, would almost go as far as saying it could be too white.

11-01-2013, 14:46:21

Damien c
Look's like a cracking little case that can support even the high end pc's including a decent watercooling setup without needing to get the old dremel out.

Nice Review again dude.

11-01-2013, 17:13:36

Mgutierrez33
What a beast mid tower! I would have to have seen something like that in person to decide though, and I have to admit the differing textures of the metal and plastic, as well as a lack of a window would probably have made me want to see at least one other case option.

11-01-2013, 17:22:27

nothingspecial
Will be interesting if Nanoxia go on to change the plastic sections to non silence-orientated, like (I think I'm right here) Fractal did from the Define to the Arc Midi.

I get the feeling that would be a VERY popular case. As popular as the CM690 was, at least.

12-01-2013, 02:27:40

Damien c
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgutierrez33 View Post
What a beast mid tower! I would have to have seen something like that in person to decide though, and I have to admit the differing textures of the metal and plastic, as well as a lack of a window would probably have made me want to see at least one other case option.

I think I saw in a CES video a version of this case with a side panel window in Black, or it may have been a slightly different case but from the same company.

12-01-2013, 11:18:23

badtaylorx
id like to see these guys do somthing in green.....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien c View Post
I think I saw in a CES video a version of this case with a side panel window in Black, or it may have been a slightly different case but from the same company.
it was the swiftech lcs display!!!

13-01-2013, 01:19:22

Lystfiskern
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtaylorx View Post
it was the swiftech lcs display!!!

well I dont know about that but I just saw Linus and "Elric" (real name seems to be Richard ...) get a run-through on the new Swiftech H220 cooler kit in Las Vegas. Swiftech had 4 Nanoxia DS1s with windows at the presentation.



What i felt missing in TTLs video-review was a clear shot or mentioning about gloss or satin finish on the air-chimney and usb-thingy. Would also have liked to see the other side panel as showing only the inside had me wondering if it actually had the same cut-out for the fan in the panel itself, or only in the sound-dampening material. A quick shot of the bottom of the case would also be nice.


EDIT: Found some pictures on the norwegian Hardware.no review that showed the black case. Here the chimney and usb-flip was coated in the same satin finish as the case. The right sidepanel dit not have the cutout for a fan. Norwegian review also had the same problem with the USB thingy, they complained about a fiddly front lower fan-shield and were dissapointed over the low quality-feel of the plastic componets in the case - since the case otherwise felt very well built.

45 days ago, planning my new build I was in direct contact with Nanoxia to learn if they had a window in the works for early 2013 - as this at that time was the only thing separating their case from the Fractal Design Define R4 for me. They stated that they had no such plan since the demand for this was very small in the marketplace, but if this interest would pick up, they surely would reconsider.

.....guess things picked up pretty fast.

13-01-2013, 12:32:42

SPS
Bloody good little case that. I think I would recommend this over the R4 now.

The only thing that bothers me is the front USB panel, looks and behaves in a cheap manor (and of course no window option).

13-01-2013, 15:05:32

Lystfiskern
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Bloody good little case that. I think I would recommend this over the R4 now.

The only thing that bothers me is the front USB panel, looks and behaves in a cheap manor (and of course no window option).

There is a window in the works. For me the R4 still has it on build quality alone. It also more than meets my needs for cooling.

14-01-2013, 08:46:58

Danio
I like this review. I used a CM silencio 550 on an low end build and its silent.

With this review I would certainly look at this case for a mid-range to higher silent build - On air cooling that is.

Thanks Tom.

11-02-2013, 13:57:48

T3chwarri0r
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lystfiskern View Post
There is a window in the works. For me the R4 still has it on build quality alone. It also more than meets my needs for cooling.
He is right i asked em about a window and they replied quite quickliy . they already have them but they need to test them then a window will be availble soon.

So My failure askink logan direkly faild so i have do go to you guys may you help me .

I can't get a point if i go get the R4 or the DS 1 ?
Which one is a bit quieter? Wich one is "cooler" so i mean cold u now.
Is the PSU sektion of the R4 a the DS1 "non vibrating stuff etc.?
What are the storage holder made of in the R4?(DS 1 in video review looks like metal)

Sry for my bad english eventually . Thanks for your answers!

11-02-2013, 15:14:53

UkGouki
looks like an amazing case and i also saw the black window version on linus tech tips but it was a SHOW case.

hopefully they do the window panel soon as alot of people who are into major watercooling would love this case

11-02-2013, 16:07:12

dalewakelin
I would probably get a black version as this looks a tad like a fridge. I think a gunmetal grey would look really nice though.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.