Mountain Mods Ascension PC Case

Conclusion

Conclusion

 

It's difficult to pass judgement on the Mountain Mods  Ascension as there is nothing else quite like it on the market. Few cases can be bought pre modded, tailored to your needs save for alternative Mountain Mods designs. While it may not win any fashion awards, there are no other cases on the market which match the modular nature of the case.
 
The Ascension, much like all other designs from this company, is simply not aimed toward the style conscious, Functionality over form is the order of the day and the Ascension is the chef's special. It has more fan holes (16 to be exact, which can be increased further depending on the panels chosen) than any other case out on the market and thanks to the huge amount of space available, up to four PA120.3 radiators can be fitted to this particular case. No other case can offer this amount of cooling, especially when you consider there is still space for six 5.25 devices and a further four 120mm fans! If watercooling is not to your preference but storage is then you can possibly fit up to 48 hard drives all cooled by 120mm fans! The possibilities really are endless when you consider the amount of space available.
 
That's the attraction of Mountain Mods. They seem to have pulled off the impossible, they are selling fresh air neatly wrapped up in an all aluminium case. How you use that space will depend on what configuration you decide on. Mountain Mods make this decision all the more difficult thanks to the wide array of choices they afford the consumer. The ordering process is simple and straightforward, the hardest part is which configuration to opt for.
 
Delivery times vary. I have a few colleagues who have imported Mountain Mods cases to the UK that have taken just 7 days, others have taken weeks. A lot depends on availability of the parts and the configuration you choose. Price is perhaps the biggest drawback of acquiring a Mountain Mods case. This particular version cost $469 excluding P&P. You also have to factor in the cost of import duty. In short you are looking at the thick end of £300 (exchange rate dependant) which may be enough to make some people baulk. However, one needs to put things into perspective. Take for example a Silverstone TJ-07, a popular case among enthusiasts. Add the cost of powder coating inside and out, laser engraving, the time and money to modify the case to a satisfactory level and the price of a high end off the shelf case soon exceeds that of the Mountain Mods Ascension.
 
Performance of the case cannot currently be evaluated as it's undergoing a full custom water cooling install (see here for Project Angel build log). Anyone who buys the Ascension for anything other than watercooling is missing the point of the case. It was designed from the ground up to provide optimum performance in a watercooled environment and to afford the owner a unique computer case that sets itself apart from the crowd, leading the way by being the ultimate case for the serious PC enthusiast. Mountain Mods have achieved what they set out to do and for that they can only be congratulated on a job well done.
 
The Good
- Hyper Modular
- Perfectly aligned panels
- Unrivaled space for components
- Full Aluminium
- Excellent laser etching
 
The Mediocre
- No included Blanking plates
- Missing HD plates and PSU cover in our version
- Odd method of supporting the motherboard tray
 
The Bad
- The price may be too much for some
 
 
Thanks to Ben at Mountain Mods for providing today's review sample. Discuss in our forums and follow the Project log here
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-05-2009, 12:29:21

JN
"Looking for a case that can house four PA 120.3 radiators? Looking for optimum performance without comprimise? Better check out our latest review then...." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...195002691s.jpg

Read on...

07-05-2009, 12:33:48

prosser13
I'm really not a fan of Mountain Mods cases...they're a bit 'boring' for me =s I mean, its just a big metal box with a load of holes cut in it

07-05-2009, 13:00:12

w3bbo
Isn't that the same with all cases? That is of course unless you like a case with a plastic facia

07-05-2009, 13:04:31

FarFarAway
They are the ultimate 'big case' really. Perfect if you want to use multiple PC's and/or watercool the hell outta both of them!

07-05-2009, 13:04:44

prosser13
At least *most* other cases have style and/or mesh :P

07-05-2009, 13:10:29

AntiHeroUK
Great review Rich. I like how you go into detail about the manufacturing process. Probably won't be rushing out to buy one though, a little bit pricey for me.

07-05-2009, 13:16:01

tinytomlogan
*Drools. Huge case but pants for cable tidying. Still love another big case tho.

07-05-2009, 14:45:28

Nick R
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
I'm really not a fan of Mountain Mods cases...they're a bit 'boring' for me =s I mean, its just a big metal box with a load of holes cut in it
At the bargain price of 370 .

07-05-2009, 14:53:25

lasher
I see they did a nice job of the engraving mate.. bet your chuffed with that.

Did you mention the cost of engraving? sorry was busy drooling over the case and not reading in depth!

07-05-2009, 15:06:46

TopSecret
Great review matey I think MM cases are a love/hate thing, and personally I love them! I wouldn't consider selling my own MM case now I finally have one, and that speaks volumes. It's the potential of the cases that turns me on to them. You are spoiled for choice in finish and hardware configs, without being limited by space.

07-05-2009, 15:48:42

Luigi
I have to say, they do appeal to me, all that space would be lovely..

But, I have to agree, they don't look great IMO. I would rather have a Lian Li anyday

Nice review though, I really liked the manufacturing bit.

07-05-2009, 17:06:55

w3bbo
I used to like Lian Li but they have gone a 'tinny' recently. The UFO uses thicker aluminium so it's a lot more substantial.r

The cost of the engraving is in the review, it's one of the options in the purchasing section. $19.99 per window.

07-05-2009, 19:26:52

OmegaStalker
Engraving with that detail and how it looks for that price is a bargain...

Its an interesting case i don't think anyone buys it for its look (unless your like big boxes) but as a case that for YOU its unbeatable tbh buy and they throw a cloth over it although at 370quid im sure they could do something about the design....

08-05-2009, 04:44:49

w3bbo
I would like to have seen some more accessories included such as drive bay blanking plates, maybe instead of having the 120mm holes on the front as plain holes, it would perhaps be best having a 'grill' cut.

08-05-2009, 05:20:36

Mul.
These mountain mods cases truly are a modder's dream. The systems that people build with these cases look phenominal and while it won't appeal to everyone, it performs exceedingly well for those that can put it to good use.

Excellent review.

08-05-2009, 07:59:30

mrapoc
I hate the fact they make them lets face it, extremey expensive, then charge you extra per drive bay etc. =/

I did want a h2g0 previously...till i realised the damn price it was gonna cost me!

08-05-2009, 10:43:33

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mul.'
These mountain mods cases truly are a modder's dream. The systems that people build with these cases look phenominal and while it won't appeal to everyone, it performs exceedingly well for those that can put it to good use.

Excellent review.
A modder's dream? Not really IMO. Too big and not enough features to make highlights out of...

A watercooler's dream though, yes

08-05-2009, 11:43:12

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
A modder's dream? Not really IMO. Too big and not enough features to make highlights out of...

A watercooler's dream though, yes
Apologies, I should have elaborated on that as I was also referring to cooling mods such as highly sophisticated watercooling loops.

08-05-2009, 12:03:43

Toxcity
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.

08-05-2009, 12:26:31

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.
I guess you could look at it like that, but the fact it's got so many holes in it and it's always going to look like a huge box mean I'd recommend other cases for modders

08-05-2009, 12:54:44

w3bbo
So you would recommend a case that needs to be hacked and even then it will never have the same performance? 'All those holes' are there for good reason.

Sure it's boxy, aren't all PC cases (save for the Skeleton)?

08-05-2009, 13:00:06

Toxcity
The thing is the Skeleton won't get anywhere near this case when it comes to performance.

08-05-2009, 13:01:22

w3bbo
Harsh but true

08-05-2009, 14:02:37

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
So you would recommend a case that needs to be hacked and even then it will never have the same performance? 'All those holes' are there for good reason.

Sure it's boxy, aren't all PC cases (save for the Skeleton)?
I'm not saying it's a bad thing (apart from my personal opinions about the looks), I'm saying there are better cases for modders (who are generally out there for looks as well as/not performance )

08-05-2009, 14:39:59

w3bbo
Like I said in the review, many people will have there own opinion on what makes a PC good looking. The MM cases have an acquired test that's for sure.

08-05-2009, 14:56:55

prosser13
I think that's the best way to put it w3bbo

Especially when arguing with an MM owner

08-05-2009, 20:49:08

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.
Not really bud... It's already got everything you need as standard... How many mods could / would you need to do to it?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.