Mountain Mods Ascension PC Case

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging & Appearance
 
As the case has to pass through the hands of various couriers as well as making the trip across the Atlantic, suffering at the hands of customs and then the local delivery guy, the packaging of the Mountain Mods case is crucial if it's to arrive in good condition. Despite the box being ripped open and closed numerous times (evident by the amount of different tape used to seal the box), it arrived in fair condition. There were few marks on the box and thankfully no footprints which is just as well as the box was not the most sturdy I have come across. Opening the box up, we find the contents to be securely packed with brown padding paper ensuring nothing is free to rattle around inside.
 
box open
 
Unpacking the contents was like opening Pandora's box. Components after components were tightly packed inside, each part either being wrapped in cellophane or separate card board, Sellotaped to the component to strengthen and protect it. The main panels were wrapped securely in cellophane. This form of packaging, while frustrating for those unwrapping the product, is necessary to prevent the finish from being scratched. I would have preferred to have foam insert used as well as the wrapping but the modular nature of the cases dictates this to be an unnecessary luxury that would no doubt add to the cost. Regardless, every component arrived unscathed from the journey across the pond, testament to the good, if somewhat unorthodox packing methods used. 
 
front panels
 
Because this case is so huge, it would be impractical (and expensive) to send the unit pre-built as although the package is light thanks to the aluminium construction, size is a major factor when posting. The unit arrives flat packed with nothing but the casters pre-assembled. Judging by the 100's of screws included, I certainly have my work cut out assembling the case. This work is made even more daunting due to the fact there's no instruction manual included. There's a short instruction manual on the Mountain Mods website but again, due to the individuality and uniqueness of the Mountain Mods cases, it would be impossible to cater for every possible setup.
 
bits accessories
 
After unwrapping all of the panels, I examined them for any dents, bends or scratches and I' happy to report there were none. Out of the whole case, there was only one very minor mark (read pin prick) that was not coated. The machining of the panels was very good with no sharp edges and the finish had no significant orange peel that I could detect - a rarity among powder coating.
 
panels 1 panels 2
Each panel has numerous screw holes, some counter sunk, some not which made the identification of which screws to use all the more easier. The first job was to begin with the base. I'm not a huge fan of casters but judging by the size of the case, I feel they are going to be needed as lifting the case when it's fully loaded with components and water is going to be quite a task. The wheels are your standard caster units which unfortunately do not have a locking mechanism on them, so ensure you have the case on an even surface.
 
base castors
 
Let's see how I got along with constructing the Mountain Mods Ascension... 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-05-2009, 12:29:21

JN
"Looking for a case that can house four PA 120.3 radiators? Looking for optimum performance without comprimise? Better check out our latest review then...." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...195002691s.jpg

Read on...

07-05-2009, 12:33:48

prosser13
I'm really not a fan of Mountain Mods cases...they're a bit 'boring' for me =s I mean, its just a big metal box with a load of holes cut in it

07-05-2009, 13:00:12

w3bbo
Isn't that the same with all cases? That is of course unless you like a case with a plastic facia

07-05-2009, 13:04:31

FarFarAway
They are the ultimate 'big case' really. Perfect if you want to use multiple PC's and/or watercool the hell outta both of them!

07-05-2009, 13:04:44

prosser13
At least *most* other cases have style and/or mesh :P

07-05-2009, 13:10:29

AntiHeroUK
Great review Rich. I like how you go into detail about the manufacturing process. Probably won't be rushing out to buy one though, a little bit pricey for me.

07-05-2009, 13:16:01

tinytomlogan
*Drools. Huge case but pants for cable tidying. Still love another big case tho.

07-05-2009, 14:45:28

Nick R
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
I'm really not a fan of Mountain Mods cases...they're a bit 'boring' for me =s I mean, its just a big metal box with a load of holes cut in it
At the bargain price of 370 .

07-05-2009, 14:53:25

lasher
I see they did a nice job of the engraving mate.. bet your chuffed with that.

Did you mention the cost of engraving? sorry was busy drooling over the case and not reading in depth!

07-05-2009, 15:06:46

TopSecret
Great review matey I think MM cases are a love/hate thing, and personally I love them! I wouldn't consider selling my own MM case now I finally have one, and that speaks volumes. It's the potential of the cases that turns me on to them. You are spoiled for choice in finish and hardware configs, without being limited by space.

07-05-2009, 15:48:42

Luigi
I have to say, they do appeal to me, all that space would be lovely..

But, I have to agree, they don't look great IMO. I would rather have a Lian Li anyday

Nice review though, I really liked the manufacturing bit.

07-05-2009, 17:06:55

w3bbo
I used to like Lian Li but they have gone a 'tinny' recently. The UFO uses thicker aluminium so it's a lot more substantial.r

The cost of the engraving is in the review, it's one of the options in the purchasing section. $19.99 per window.

07-05-2009, 19:26:52

OmegaStalker
Engraving with that detail and how it looks for that price is a bargain...

Its an interesting case i don't think anyone buys it for its look (unless your like big boxes) but as a case that for YOU its unbeatable tbh buy and they throw a cloth over it although at 370quid im sure they could do something about the design....

08-05-2009, 04:44:49

w3bbo
I would like to have seen some more accessories included such as drive bay blanking plates, maybe instead of having the 120mm holes on the front as plain holes, it would perhaps be best having a 'grill' cut.

08-05-2009, 05:20:36

Mul.
These mountain mods cases truly are a modder's dream. The systems that people build with these cases look phenominal and while it won't appeal to everyone, it performs exceedingly well for those that can put it to good use.

Excellent review.

08-05-2009, 07:59:30

mrapoc
I hate the fact they make them lets face it, extremey expensive, then charge you extra per drive bay etc. =/

I did want a h2g0 previously...till i realised the damn price it was gonna cost me!

08-05-2009, 10:43:33

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mul.'
These mountain mods cases truly are a modder's dream. The systems that people build with these cases look phenominal and while it won't appeal to everyone, it performs exceedingly well for those that can put it to good use.

Excellent review.
A modder's dream? Not really IMO. Too big and not enough features to make highlights out of...

A watercooler's dream though, yes

08-05-2009, 11:43:12

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
A modder's dream? Not really IMO. Too big and not enough features to make highlights out of...

A watercooler's dream though, yes
Apologies, I should have elaborated on that as I was also referring to cooling mods such as highly sophisticated watercooling loops.

08-05-2009, 12:03:43

Toxcity
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.

08-05-2009, 12:26:31

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.
I guess you could look at it like that, but the fact it's got so many holes in it and it's always going to look like a huge box mean I'd recommend other cases for modders

08-05-2009, 12:54:44

w3bbo
So you would recommend a case that needs to be hacked and even then it will never have the same performance? 'All those holes' are there for good reason.

Sure it's boxy, aren't all PC cases (save for the Skeleton)?

08-05-2009, 13:00:06

Toxcity
The thing is the Skeleton won't get anywhere near this case when it comes to performance.

08-05-2009, 13:01:22

w3bbo
Harsh but true

08-05-2009, 14:02:37

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
So you would recommend a case that needs to be hacked and even then it will never have the same performance? 'All those holes' are there for good reason.

Sure it's boxy, aren't all PC cases (save for the Skeleton)?
I'm not saying it's a bad thing (apart from my personal opinions about the looks), I'm saying there are better cases for modders (who are generally out there for looks as well as/not performance )

08-05-2009, 14:39:59

w3bbo
Like I said in the review, many people will have there own opinion on what makes a PC good looking. The MM cases have an acquired test that's for sure.

08-05-2009, 14:56:55

prosser13
I think that's the best way to put it w3bbo

Especially when arguing with an MM owner

08-05-2009, 20:49:08

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.
Not really bud... It's already got everything you need as standard... How many mods could / would you need to do to it?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.