Mountain Mods Ascension PC Case

Purchase Process

PurchasingSketchup
 
Buying a Mountain mods case is an investment. It's not the sort of case you buy to throw away or change on a yearly basis. It's case you choose to match your complete needs. If you want an off the shelf product that looks the same as nigh on every other case out there then you have simply come to the wrong place. A Mountain Mods case is as unique as you are going to get save from nipping to your local hardware store and buying a jigsaw and Dremmel.
 
Few places stock Mountain Mods cases worldwide due to the cases not really being designed to be 'off the shelf', so therefore it would be impossible to stock every single unit in adequate numbers to make the venture viable. So then, the best place to buy the case is from Mountain Mods direct who have a very easy to follow website making the whole buying experience a pleasurable, if somewhat time consuming task due to it's nature and the sheer amount of options available.
 
Primarily, you have to decide on the foundation of your case, be it tower, mini-cube, cube or extended cube. My choice was the Ascension CYO (right) which is an extension of the highly popular U2-UFO.
 
Here's What Mountain mods had to say about the  Ascension CYO:
 
The Mountain Mods Ascension adds 6 inches of height to the already massive U2-UFO platform. The behemoth stands 24 inches tall and is 18 inches deep and wide. The Choose Your Own series allows you to choose from a variety of possible configurations. The Ascension like the U2-UFO is COMPLETELY MODULAR - or "HYPER MODULAR" as we call it. The front and back panels can rotate 180 degrees for a different configuration. Or easily change your configuration by purchasing individual panels. The Ascension is fabricated by skilled workers in the USA. It is made from thick aluminum making it lightweight, sturdy, and thermally friendly. Casters are included for easy mobility.
 
Once you have made your decision that will form the foundation of your Mountain Mods case, you are then taken to a separate page where you can begin to make adjustments depending on your preference for fan locations, radiator setup, finish and panel layout etc via a number of drop down menus showing the options available.
 
Panel Options:
front side
 top back
 
As you can see, there are a fair amount of options available and as the design's modular you can mix and match until you find your perfect solution. With the panel choices made, you can then decide what radiators you wish to fit. As Thermochill and Swiftech/Feser etc have different fan spacings, Mountain Mods allow you to choose which spacing you require or both spacings should you wish to use different radiators in the same unit.
 
order form
 
As you can see from the image above, most of the options are available to swap and change around to fit in with your plans for the ultimate PC case. The options however, do not stop there. Speaking to Ben at Mountain Mods will also allow you to specifically change something that is not on the list within reason. Obviously, the more modifications you add to the list will affect the length of time it takes to build as each case is built to order with only limited amounts of options pre-fabricated.
 
Here's the specification of the case I received:
 
Material - Aluminium 5052
Thickness - 1.65mm-3.25mm
Dimensions - 24x18x18 inches
Finish - Powder Coat - Sky White
Power Supplies - 2 optional ports
HD Bay - 2 sets of 120mm HD brackets - Holds 6 out of box
5.25 Bay - 2 x Removable
5.25 Devices - Holds 6
MB Tray - Removable - Horizontal
Form Factors - mATX/ATX
Front Panel - Trinity
Rear Panel - Horizon
Side Panel - Big Window
Top Panel - Standard (UFO)
120MM Fan holes - 16
Empty Weight - 18 lbs.
 
Let's see if the case arrived safe and sound from the USA to the UK via FEDEX...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-05-2009, 12:29:21

JN
"Looking for a case that can house four PA 120.3 radiators? Looking for optimum performance without comprimise? Better check out our latest review then...." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...195002691s.jpg

Read on...

07-05-2009, 12:33:48

prosser13
I'm really not a fan of Mountain Mods cases...they're a bit 'boring' for me =s I mean, its just a big metal box with a load of holes cut in it

07-05-2009, 13:00:12

w3bbo
Isn't that the same with all cases? That is of course unless you like a case with a plastic facia

07-05-2009, 13:04:31

FarFarAway
They are the ultimate 'big case' really. Perfect if you want to use multiple PC's and/or watercool the hell outta both of them!

07-05-2009, 13:04:44

prosser13
At least *most* other cases have style and/or mesh :P

07-05-2009, 13:10:29

AntiHeroUK
Great review Rich. I like how you go into detail about the manufacturing process. Probably won't be rushing out to buy one though, a little bit pricey for me.

07-05-2009, 13:16:01

tinytomlogan
*Drools. Huge case but pants for cable tidying. Still love another big case tho.

07-05-2009, 14:45:28

Nick R
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
I'm really not a fan of Mountain Mods cases...they're a bit 'boring' for me =s I mean, its just a big metal box with a load of holes cut in it
At the bargain price of 370 .

07-05-2009, 14:53:25

lasher
I see they did a nice job of the engraving mate.. bet your chuffed with that.

Did you mention the cost of engraving? sorry was busy drooling over the case and not reading in depth!

07-05-2009, 15:06:46

TopSecret
Great review matey I think MM cases are a love/hate thing, and personally I love them! I wouldn't consider selling my own MM case now I finally have one, and that speaks volumes. It's the potential of the cases that turns me on to them. You are spoiled for choice in finish and hardware configs, without being limited by space.

07-05-2009, 15:48:42

Luigi
I have to say, they do appeal to me, all that space would be lovely..

But, I have to agree, they don't look great IMO. I would rather have a Lian Li anyday

Nice review though, I really liked the manufacturing bit.

07-05-2009, 17:06:55

w3bbo
I used to like Lian Li but they have gone a 'tinny' recently. The UFO uses thicker aluminium so it's a lot more substantial.r

The cost of the engraving is in the review, it's one of the options in the purchasing section. $19.99 per window.

07-05-2009, 19:26:52

OmegaStalker
Engraving with that detail and how it looks for that price is a bargain...

Its an interesting case i don't think anyone buys it for its look (unless your like big boxes) but as a case that for YOU its unbeatable tbh buy and they throw a cloth over it although at 370quid im sure they could do something about the design....

08-05-2009, 04:44:49

w3bbo
I would like to have seen some more accessories included such as drive bay blanking plates, maybe instead of having the 120mm holes on the front as plain holes, it would perhaps be best having a 'grill' cut.

08-05-2009, 05:20:36

Mul.
These mountain mods cases truly are a modder's dream. The systems that people build with these cases look phenominal and while it won't appeal to everyone, it performs exceedingly well for those that can put it to good use.

Excellent review.

08-05-2009, 07:59:30

mrapoc
I hate the fact they make them lets face it, extremey expensive, then charge you extra per drive bay etc. =/

I did want a h2g0 previously...till i realised the damn price it was gonna cost me!

08-05-2009, 10:43:33

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mul.'
These mountain mods cases truly are a modder's dream. The systems that people build with these cases look phenominal and while it won't appeal to everyone, it performs exceedingly well for those that can put it to good use.

Excellent review.
A modder's dream? Not really IMO. Too big and not enough features to make highlights out of...

A watercooler's dream though, yes

08-05-2009, 11:43:12

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
A modder's dream? Not really IMO. Too big and not enough features to make highlights out of...

A watercooler's dream though, yes
Apologies, I should have elaborated on that as I was also referring to cooling mods such as highly sophisticated watercooling loops.

08-05-2009, 12:03:43

Toxcity
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.

08-05-2009, 12:26:31

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.
I guess you could look at it like that, but the fact it's got so many holes in it and it's always going to look like a huge box mean I'd recommend other cases for modders

08-05-2009, 12:54:44

w3bbo
So you would recommend a case that needs to be hacked and even then it will never have the same performance? 'All those holes' are there for good reason.

Sure it's boxy, aren't all PC cases (save for the Skeleton)?

08-05-2009, 13:00:06

Toxcity
The thing is the Skeleton won't get anywhere near this case when it comes to performance.

08-05-2009, 13:01:22

w3bbo
Harsh but true

08-05-2009, 14:02:37

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
So you would recommend a case that needs to be hacked and even then it will never have the same performance? 'All those holes' are there for good reason.

Sure it's boxy, aren't all PC cases (save for the Skeleton)?
I'm not saying it's a bad thing (apart from my personal opinions about the looks), I'm saying there are better cases for modders (who are generally out there for looks as well as/not performance )

08-05-2009, 14:39:59

w3bbo
Like I said in the review, many people will have there own opinion on what makes a PC good looking. The MM cases have an acquired test that's for sure.

08-05-2009, 14:56:55

prosser13
I think that's the best way to put it w3bbo

Especially when arguing with an MM owner

08-05-2009, 20:49:08

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.
Not really bud... It's already got everything you need as standard... How many mods could / would you need to do to it?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.