Mountain Mods Ascension PC Case

Manufacturing

Manufacturing
 
 
The fabrication division of Mountain Mods use an Amanda Gemini FO3015-NT (4000W) laser cutting machine to forge the majority of parts needed to build the cases. Because of the laser, each part is cut to precise measurements ensuring each panel fits together perfectly (something I will put to the test later in the review). Blemish free sheets of high grade Aluminium are loaded into the machine one at a time and are spewed out at the opposite end once the holes are cut.
 
Amanda gemini
 
The Amanda Gemini is cooled by the means of the extreme overclockers favourite liquid - LN2 (liquid Nitrogen). Sadly, the Ascension is aimed towards those who like to watercool but those huge bottles of LN2 certainly do look the business!
 
LN2 lazer
 
Once the panels are cut, they are stacked and ready to be drilled and counter sunk. When this is done, they are fed into the 'timersaver' one at a time, which gives the aluminium its brushed effect. All of the parts are brushed regardless of whether they are to end up as powder coated or anodised in finish.
 
cuts panel brush
 
With the various panels now brushed, they can be sent to the anodising orpowder coating department. Those panels that need moulding into shape with flanges etc are sent to the Amanda hydraulic press with each component again hand fed into the machine and then stacked ready for collection.
 
press brace
 
After the panels have been bent into shape with all the relevant flanges correctly pressed, the units are ready to have their threaded inserts fixed using a Haegar 618 insert machine. All of the hand work that goes into the process really is astonishing and it's also reassuring that a robot is not responsible for making your case as any errors in production can be clearly identified and slung into the recycling bin before it gets to you.
 
ready for rivets inserting
 
With all of the parts now prepared, it's time for the last stage before it goes to powder coating. Little rubber plugs are used in the holes to ensure the threads are not clogged in the powder coating process. Once this is complete, the parts are cleaned of any foreign material, hung from a rack and sprayed with powder (if you are having the parts powder coated that is). The powder is attracted to the parts because they're positively charged by the powder gun and the case components, because they are earthed, attract these positively charged particles so that the powder particles 'stick' to the case.
 
plugs spray
 
With all of the components powdered, they are sent to be cooked in the powder coating oven for thirty minutes at 300 degrees. After the baking process is completed, the parts are left to cool off completely before being sent to the packing and distribution section.
 
oven cooling off
 
The whole process is overseen by human eyes which is very re-assuring and while the major cutting is done by machine, each part is inspected throughout the fabrication process for any errors. Because of the human factors involved, cost is inevitably affected but quality control should not be an issue thanks to the hoards of staff checking, rechecking and checking again before the product is sent out to the consumer.
 
Let's see how the ordering process is navigated...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-05-2009, 12:29:21

JN
"Looking for a case that can house four PA 120.3 radiators? Looking for optimum performance without comprimise? Better check out our latest review then...." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...195002691s.jpg

Read on...

07-05-2009, 12:33:48

prosser13
I'm really not a fan of Mountain Mods cases...they're a bit 'boring' for me =s I mean, its just a big metal box with a load of holes cut in it

07-05-2009, 13:00:12

w3bbo
Isn't that the same with all cases? That is of course unless you like a case with a plastic facia

07-05-2009, 13:04:31

FarFarAway
They are the ultimate 'big case' really. Perfect if you want to use multiple PC's and/or watercool the hell outta both of them!

07-05-2009, 13:04:44

prosser13
At least *most* other cases have style and/or mesh :P

07-05-2009, 13:10:29

AntiHeroUK
Great review Rich. I like how you go into detail about the manufacturing process. Probably won't be rushing out to buy one though, a little bit pricey for me.

07-05-2009, 13:16:01

tinytomlogan
*Drools. Huge case but pants for cable tidying. Still love another big case tho.

07-05-2009, 14:45:28

Nick R
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
I'm really not a fan of Mountain Mods cases...they're a bit 'boring' for me =s I mean, its just a big metal box with a load of holes cut in it
At the bargain price of 370 .

07-05-2009, 14:53:25

lasher
I see they did a nice job of the engraving mate.. bet your chuffed with that.

Did you mention the cost of engraving? sorry was busy drooling over the case and not reading in depth!

07-05-2009, 15:06:46

TopSecret
Great review matey I think MM cases are a love/hate thing, and personally I love them! I wouldn't consider selling my own MM case now I finally have one, and that speaks volumes. It's the potential of the cases that turns me on to them. You are spoiled for choice in finish and hardware configs, without being limited by space.

07-05-2009, 15:48:42

Luigi
I have to say, they do appeal to me, all that space would be lovely..

But, I have to agree, they don't look great IMO. I would rather have a Lian Li anyday

Nice review though, I really liked the manufacturing bit.

07-05-2009, 17:06:55

w3bbo
I used to like Lian Li but they have gone a 'tinny' recently. The UFO uses thicker aluminium so it's a lot more substantial.r

The cost of the engraving is in the review, it's one of the options in the purchasing section. $19.99 per window.

07-05-2009, 19:26:52

OmegaStalker
Engraving with that detail and how it looks for that price is a bargain...

Its an interesting case i don't think anyone buys it for its look (unless your like big boxes) but as a case that for YOU its unbeatable tbh buy and they throw a cloth over it although at 370quid im sure they could do something about the design....

08-05-2009, 04:44:49

w3bbo
I would like to have seen some more accessories included such as drive bay blanking plates, maybe instead of having the 120mm holes on the front as plain holes, it would perhaps be best having a 'grill' cut.

08-05-2009, 05:20:36

Mul.
These mountain mods cases truly are a modder's dream. The systems that people build with these cases look phenominal and while it won't appeal to everyone, it performs exceedingly well for those that can put it to good use.

Excellent review.

08-05-2009, 07:59:30

mrapoc
I hate the fact they make them lets face it, extremey expensive, then charge you extra per drive bay etc. =/

I did want a h2g0 previously...till i realised the damn price it was gonna cost me!

08-05-2009, 10:43:33

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mul.'
These mountain mods cases truly are a modder's dream. The systems that people build with these cases look phenominal and while it won't appeal to everyone, it performs exceedingly well for those that can put it to good use.

Excellent review.
A modder's dream? Not really IMO. Too big and not enough features to make highlights out of...

A watercooler's dream though, yes

08-05-2009, 11:43:12

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
A modder's dream? Not really IMO. Too big and not enough features to make highlights out of...

A watercooler's dream though, yes
Apologies, I should have elaborated on that as I was also referring to cooling mods such as highly sophisticated watercooling loops.

08-05-2009, 12:03:43

Toxcity
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.

08-05-2009, 12:26:31

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.
I guess you could look at it like that, but the fact it's got so many holes in it and it's always going to look like a huge box mean I'd recommend other cases for modders

08-05-2009, 12:54:44

w3bbo
So you would recommend a case that needs to be hacked and even then it will never have the same performance? 'All those holes' are there for good reason.

Sure it's boxy, aren't all PC cases (save for the Skeleton)?

08-05-2009, 13:00:06

Toxcity
The thing is the Skeleton won't get anywhere near this case when it comes to performance.

08-05-2009, 13:01:22

w3bbo
Harsh but true

08-05-2009, 14:02:37

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
So you would recommend a case that needs to be hacked and even then it will never have the same performance? 'All those holes' are there for good reason.

Sure it's boxy, aren't all PC cases (save for the Skeleton)?
I'm not saying it's a bad thing (apart from my personal opinions about the looks), I'm saying there are better cases for modders (who are generally out there for looks as well as/not performance )

08-05-2009, 14:39:59

w3bbo
Like I said in the review, many people will have there own opinion on what makes a PC good looking. The MM cases have an acquired test that's for sure.

08-05-2009, 14:56:55

prosser13
I think that's the best way to put it w3bbo

Especially when arguing with an MM owner

08-05-2009, 20:49:08

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.
Not really bud... It's already got everything you need as standard... How many mods could / would you need to do to it?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.