Mountain Mods Ascension PC Case

Introduction

Introduction
 
Choosing a case in today's market is a very difficult affair. First you need to decide what you want from a case, be it aesthetics, functionality, style, space, cooling capability. Few cases offer them all. The decision is made even harder when you visit enthusiast forums who's members all seem to have there own favourites. Few other components create greater debate than a case with it being such a personal item to house your hidden hardware.
 
While there is no doubting there are some excellent cases on the market, they are still tower cases at the end of the day. To get the absolute maximum benefit from watercooling, many of the cases require at least a little modifying - something many are reluctant to do when the case costs the thick end of £200. Add additional powder coating and radiator cuts and the cost soon doubles. Wouldn't it be nice to buy a case, pre-modded, pre-coated with enough space to house a nuclear reactor and the cooling capacity to keep it in check? Step forward Mountain Mods.
 
The USA based company is located in the small town of Hood River, Oregon, nestled between Mt. Hood and Mt. Adams and was established in June 2003. Their first product, the U2-UFO was a basic, brushed aluminium cube that set tongues wagging throughout the enthusiast community. This design has evolved many times over thanks to feedback from consumers and forum members alike along with the company constantly striving to both improve the case and improve the manufacturing standards. Today, Mountain Mods offer numerous case designs, each with it's own 'mods' for the consumer to choose from.
 
Most recently, they have introduced their first modular Tower case in the form of the Pinnacle 24 allowing a quad radiator AND a triple radiator to be fitted. How many cases do you know that can do that? You can also CYO (Choose Your Own) panels to make your case unique, making the Mountain Mods case  truly hyper-modular with, for example, over 1000 different configurations to choose from in just the Ascension model we have for review today! The possibilities really are endless allowing the consumer to design there own case, for their own needs, from the ground up.
 
Once you have decided on your case format, you will then need to decide on the paint finish as well as your colour choice. Black wrinkle, Gloss white powdercoat, anodised or plain brushed aluminium are just some of the finishes available. Once painted up it's time to make your window decisions. Made of 3mm acrylic, smoked, green, blue, red - the choice is yours. The decisions don't stop there though, how about engraving to make your case truly unique? This is not a problem for Mountain Mods who will happily engrave any or all of your windows panels. This is a uniqueness that sets Mountain Mods apart from all other case manufacturers and something that has gained the company a loyal following.
 
The Mountain Mods Ascension case we have for review today is the culmination of feedback from enthusiasts wanting the absolute best from a PC case with no compromises. Over the next few pages, I will be casting my critical eye over every detail to see if this agenda has been met but before that, let's take a look at the manufacturing process...  
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-05-2009, 12:29:21

JN
"Looking for a case that can house four PA 120.3 radiators? Looking for optimum performance without comprimise? Better check out our latest review then...." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...195002691s.jpg

Read on...

07-05-2009, 12:33:48

prosser13
I'm really not a fan of Mountain Mods cases...they're a bit 'boring' for me =s I mean, its just a big metal box with a load of holes cut in it

07-05-2009, 13:00:12

w3bbo
Isn't that the same with all cases? That is of course unless you like a case with a plastic facia

07-05-2009, 13:04:31

FarFarAway
They are the ultimate 'big case' really. Perfect if you want to use multiple PC's and/or watercool the hell outta both of them!

07-05-2009, 13:04:44

prosser13
At least *most* other cases have style and/or mesh :P

07-05-2009, 13:10:29

AntiHeroUK
Great review Rich. I like how you go into detail about the manufacturing process. Probably won't be rushing out to buy one though, a little bit pricey for me.

07-05-2009, 13:16:01

tinytomlogan
*Drools. Huge case but pants for cable tidying. Still love another big case tho.

07-05-2009, 14:45:28

Nick R
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
I'm really not a fan of Mountain Mods cases...they're a bit 'boring' for me =s I mean, its just a big metal box with a load of holes cut in it
At the bargain price of 370 .

07-05-2009, 14:53:25

lasher
I see they did a nice job of the engraving mate.. bet your chuffed with that.

Did you mention the cost of engraving? sorry was busy drooling over the case and not reading in depth!

07-05-2009, 15:06:46

TopSecret
Great review matey I think MM cases are a love/hate thing, and personally I love them! I wouldn't consider selling my own MM case now I finally have one, and that speaks volumes. It's the potential of the cases that turns me on to them. You are spoiled for choice in finish and hardware configs, without being limited by space.

07-05-2009, 15:48:42

Luigi
I have to say, they do appeal to me, all that space would be lovely..

But, I have to agree, they don't look great IMO. I would rather have a Lian Li anyday

Nice review though, I really liked the manufacturing bit.

07-05-2009, 17:06:55

w3bbo
I used to like Lian Li but they have gone a 'tinny' recently. The UFO uses thicker aluminium so it's a lot more substantial.r

The cost of the engraving is in the review, it's one of the options in the purchasing section. $19.99 per window.

07-05-2009, 19:26:52

OmegaStalker
Engraving with that detail and how it looks for that price is a bargain...

Its an interesting case i don't think anyone buys it for its look (unless your like big boxes) but as a case that for YOU its unbeatable tbh buy and they throw a cloth over it although at 370quid im sure they could do something about the design....

08-05-2009, 04:44:49

w3bbo
I would like to have seen some more accessories included such as drive bay blanking plates, maybe instead of having the 120mm holes on the front as plain holes, it would perhaps be best having a 'grill' cut.

08-05-2009, 05:20:36

Mul.
These mountain mods cases truly are a modder's dream. The systems that people build with these cases look phenominal and while it won't appeal to everyone, it performs exceedingly well for those that can put it to good use.

Excellent review.

08-05-2009, 07:59:30

mrapoc
I hate the fact they make them lets face it, extremey expensive, then charge you extra per drive bay etc. =/

I did want a h2g0 previously...till i realised the damn price it was gonna cost me!

08-05-2009, 10:43:33

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mul.'
These mountain mods cases truly are a modder's dream. The systems that people build with these cases look phenominal and while it won't appeal to everyone, it performs exceedingly well for those that can put it to good use.

Excellent review.
A modder's dream? Not really IMO. Too big and not enough features to make highlights out of...

A watercooler's dream though, yes

08-05-2009, 11:43:12

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
A modder's dream? Not really IMO. Too big and not enough features to make highlights out of...

A watercooler's dream though, yes
Apologies, I should have elaborated on that as I was also referring to cooling mods such as highly sophisticated watercooling loops.

08-05-2009, 12:03:43

Toxcity
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.

08-05-2009, 12:26:31

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.
I guess you could look at it like that, but the fact it's got so many holes in it and it's always going to look like a huge box mean I'd recommend other cases for modders

08-05-2009, 12:54:44

w3bbo
So you would recommend a case that needs to be hacked and even then it will never have the same performance? 'All those holes' are there for good reason.

Sure it's boxy, aren't all PC cases (save for the Skeleton)?

08-05-2009, 13:00:06

Toxcity
The thing is the Skeleton won't get anywhere near this case when it comes to performance.

08-05-2009, 13:01:22

w3bbo
Harsh but true

08-05-2009, 14:02:37

prosser13
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
So you would recommend a case that needs to be hacked and even then it will never have the same performance? 'All those holes' are there for good reason.

Sure it's boxy, aren't all PC cases (save for the Skeleton)?
I'm not saying it's a bad thing (apart from my personal opinions about the looks), I'm saying there are better cases for modders (who are generally out there for looks as well as/not performance )

08-05-2009, 14:39:59

w3bbo
Like I said in the review, many people will have there own opinion on what makes a PC good looking. The MM cases have an acquired test that's for sure.

08-05-2009, 14:56:55

prosser13
I think that's the best way to put it w3bbo

Especially when arguing with an MM owner

08-05-2009, 20:49:08

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
I believe it is the modders dream. It seems to me to be like a blank canvas, ready to be splashed with mods.
Not really bud... It's already got everything you need as standard... How many mods could / would you need to do to it?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.