MNPCTech Aluminium Radiator Grill

The Grill Itself

The Grill Itself
 
I think that is enough of packaging especially with MNPCTech’s very simplistic packaging policy. Once you remove the packaging you can feel the quality that oozes out of the product. Moving your finger across the surface is like touching marble, the aluminium is very well machined and finished with a smooth radial brushed effect. The very smooth finish gives a great impression, I am still caressing it now... The grill is overall very well finished, however there were some minor scratches that where caused before we received the grill. There are a few other scratches caused by myself during testing. These are the only defect that I could see, even on a very close inspection.
 
MNPCTech Radiator Grill   MNPCTech Radiator Grill Up Close
 
The backside of the grill does not does not have any finish on it. It is left in the same state as the plates were before machining; scratched, and with a very weird texture. This does not affect the looks of the grill when installed. The sides and bevelled edges on the other hand, still have the machining marks, although they are all very uniform and in a way match the brushed effect. The bevels are at 45° removing the majority of sharp edges, which if you are like me is most definitely a good thing. There are still pointy corners, but if they were rounded to the visual appearance of grill will be diminished.
 
MNPC Radiator Grill MNPCTech Radiator Grill
 
The grill like all of MNPCTech’s products has a very slight brushed effect. By having the grill made of an aluminium alloy (6061 AKA aircraft aluminium) has both its positives and negatives. The grill is surprisingly light for being made of a solid block of aluminium. At 428g the grill is pretty hefty for a grill, especially when compared to the hundred or so grams of a standard radiator grill. The alloy on the other hand is also very soft, it scratches very easily with a pair of keys having the ability to destroy the finish that the grill arrived with and even a finger nail will leave its marks.
 
MNPCTech Radiator Grill Illuminated MNPCTech Aluminium Radiator Grill Powered On
 
The grill part itself is from the fan grill “brain”, it has 5mm holes that are individually drilled out. There is still some debris in the holes but a quick wash is all that is needed to clean them out. One of the main concerns of the grill is air restriction, due to a relatively small area that air can get through each intake. This concern was unnecessary the holes in the grill proved enough to allow the Xilence fans to pull a decent amount of air, although as with any fan grill the performance decreases, but you get looks and protection from the fan blades. It is not fun getting your toes stuck in a fan.
«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-07-2009, 17:21:36

JN
"MNPCTech have been making modding accessories for years and have always been ahead of the game. Lets take a sneak peek at their latest product." - by Kylevdm

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...184926334s.jpg

MNPCTech Aluminium Radiator Grill

20-07-2009, 17:26:20

monkey7
Nice grill, but painful price :X I'd prefer to do something similar inroof.

20-07-2009, 17:33:37

zak4994
Shiny....

It can be anodised right? So I don't necessarily think that people are going to hate it.

20-07-2009, 17:36:02

Kylevdm
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
Shiny....

It can be anodised right? So I don't necessarily think that people are going to hate it.
That it can, I am expecting a black version to come out with it too. Will email them about it in the morning.

20-07-2009, 18:49:56

Bungral
case modding link on the first page is dead.. Also you have a double 'that' in the conclusion.

Apart from that nice review mate ... Took a rather run of the mill product (even a fancy pants version) and wrote a few pages on it that were interesting.

Still toooooo expensive for me for what it is.. Chuck in postage and possible taxes and it's crazy.

21-07-2009, 06:30:51

k4p84
far too pricey !

Yes been Ali it can be anno'd which costs about 6 a piece, minus UK shipping

21-07-2009, 11:51:46

maxw
This looks nice, but is very very pricey, however it is machined out

Good review.

23-07-2009, 07:40:42

mnpctech
You can purchase these rad grills, including Black anodized version through performance-pcs.com in the US

23-07-2009, 17:57:35

mayhem
had to re read the review .. then it came across my mind the Card looks more expensive than the grill ...lol ...

But on another note.. a big one. Wont these restrict the air flow like hell and disturb the natural balance of the air flow. There must be a hit on the CFM out lay with these.

If not then wow ....

23-07-2009, 18:51:49

diablo170
Good review rather useful as i was lookin at a rad grill just another option, but I have to agree it does look rather restrictive does overclock3d hav anything to test cfm?

24-07-2009, 05:21:54

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='diablo170'
does overclock3d hav anything to test cfm?
In these credit crunch times we need to find a cheap solution. I think that CFM can be tested by seeing how long it takes to inflate a bin liner, and static pressure can be measured by using increasingly heavy GSM paper until it stops being lifted by the fan.

:bornleet:

24-07-2009, 07:56:45

Kylevdm
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
In these credit crunch times we need to find a cheap solution. I think that CFM can be tested by seeing how long it takes to inflate a bin liner, and static pressure can be measured by using increasingly heavy GSM paper until it stops being lifted by the fan.

:bornleet:
Unfortunately we do not have any thing that can accurately measure CFM and therefore chose not too, however maybe something will have to be worked out...

24-07-2009, 11:46:50

VonBlade
I know. I was just being tongue-in-cheek.

Although, theoretically, using a fan to inflate something like a black bag and measuring how quickly it inflates could be, with some clever capacity/time math, a measure of how accurate the manu's figures are.

I reckon a Delta would win :P

24-07-2009, 12:14:17

mayhem
To be honest if you going to do a review of such items then this is a enthusiast site and details like this is quite important relay.

Any one can make a CNC grill and retail it off. Its nothing special but to create a rad grill that not only looks good but performs well is another matter.

Astectics are good for modding but all so its important to get the right balance between astectics and performance.

I may be missing the point but when it comes to new and innovative ideas you need to look at both points and for that reason i don't think this item in it self deserves the points it got. Its seems a little one sided. Fan grill are two a penny but good fan grills are another matter completely.

Plus to add the price of the item is overly expensive its just not economically a viable option to most of your target market.

29-09-2009, 17:19:53

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
In these credit crunch times we need to find a cheap solution. I think that CFM can be tested by seeing how long it takes to inflate a bin liner
Damn I shoulda copyrighted this idea when I had it. And they said I was mad!

Bit Tech blatantly steals VBs idea

29-09-2009, 18:28:40

Bungral
They used it in last months Custom PC magazine too.. Tested 100 fans or so.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.