MNPCTech Aluminium Radiator Grill

Introduction & Packaging

Introduction
 
Bill Owen, the guy behind MNPCTech, has been a professional modder for many years and has an impressive portfolio. Which includes the incredible Project: Phenom for AMD and more recently the Cooler Master Storm “digital camo” Scout. However, MNPCTech is known for its case modding accessories too. Here is what they say:
 
“I started Mnpctech.com in 2001. MNPCTech has modified computers into unique custom designs for clientele around the world. In 2002, MNPCTech expanded into design and manufacture of their own line of case modding accessories. In 2007, I was the first professional modder to be commissioned by computer processer giant, AMD. Later that year I recruited master painter Brad Galvin so MNPCTech could offer custom computer finishes rivalled by no other painter in the industry. At MNPCTech, warranties are voided and traditional thinking is always tossed out the window on a daily basis.”
 
Case modding has been a craze throughout the world; just take a look at our case modding section. This craze has attracted the attention of large and small companies alike. They all have one thing in common. They have been attempting to make modding accessories; some do a better job than others in making your mod stand out among the crowd. Most make plastic or acrylic accessories, MNPCTech pride themselves in their billet aluminium products. They have been making machined case feet and handles for many years, but by tossing out the traditional way of thinking. They more recently have released their fan grills and now radiator grills as well.
 
Bill was kind enough to send us one of the first of his brand new radiator grills, before they even hit the shelves. How will it compare to other radiator more traditional grills?
 
 
Packaging
 
I have had a good few MNPCTech products in my time as a modder, and there was no surprise when I received the grill in its very simplistic packaging. MNPCTech never over package anything. The grill itself is wrapped simply and effectively in a thick plastic which has been heat wrapped onto the grill. This was wrapped in a single sheet of brown paper to protect it from scratches. This is most definitely they greenest packaging I have ever seen in a product, even from the so called green companies.
 
MNPCTech Rad Grill Packaged MNPCTech Rad Grill COntents
 
Through the wrapping you can see a MNPCTech business card, show casing Project: Phenom, and of there is course also the grill. Which at first glance looked like it was badly scratched but on closer inspection it was the plastic wrapping giving off the illusion.
 
MNPCTech Radiator Grill Packaging MNPCTech Radiator Grill Card
 
Also included are the 12 screws that are needed for installing the grill. Each grill is going to be supplied with 6-32 stainless steel socket head screws for attaching the grill the radiator with the fan in between. However our early model has 8-32 holes so we will be using pan head machine screws instead. These pan head screws will not be able to fit with the final grill. These screws are only 31mm long and therefore, you can only use the supplied screws with 25mm fans.
«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-07-2009, 17:21:36

JN
"MNPCTech have been making modding accessories for years and have always been ahead of the game. Lets take a sneak peek at their latest product." - by Kylevdm

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...184926334s.jpg

MNPCTech Aluminium Radiator Grill

20-07-2009, 17:26:20

monkey7
Nice grill, but painful price :X I'd prefer to do something similar inroof.

20-07-2009, 17:33:37

zak4994
Shiny....

It can be anodised right? So I don't necessarily think that people are going to hate it.

20-07-2009, 17:36:02

Kylevdm
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
Shiny....

It can be anodised right? So I don't necessarily think that people are going to hate it.
That it can, I am expecting a black version to come out with it too. Will email them about it in the morning.

20-07-2009, 18:49:56

Bungral
case modding link on the first page is dead.. Also you have a double 'that' in the conclusion.

Apart from that nice review mate ... Took a rather run of the mill product (even a fancy pants version) and wrote a few pages on it that were interesting.

Still toooooo expensive for me for what it is.. Chuck in postage and possible taxes and it's crazy.

21-07-2009, 06:30:51

k4p84
far too pricey !

Yes been Ali it can be anno'd which costs about 6 a piece, minus UK shipping

21-07-2009, 11:51:46

maxw
This looks nice, but is very very pricey, however it is machined out

Good review.

23-07-2009, 07:40:42

mnpctech
You can purchase these rad grills, including Black anodized version through performance-pcs.com in the US

23-07-2009, 17:57:35

mayhem
had to re read the review .. then it came across my mind the Card looks more expensive than the grill ...lol ...

But on another note.. a big one. Wont these restrict the air flow like hell and disturb the natural balance of the air flow. There must be a hit on the CFM out lay with these.

If not then wow ....

23-07-2009, 18:51:49

diablo170
Good review rather useful as i was lookin at a rad grill just another option, but I have to agree it does look rather restrictive does overclock3d hav anything to test cfm?

24-07-2009, 05:21:54

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='diablo170'
does overclock3d hav anything to test cfm?
In these credit crunch times we need to find a cheap solution. I think that CFM can be tested by seeing how long it takes to inflate a bin liner, and static pressure can be measured by using increasingly heavy GSM paper until it stops being lifted by the fan.

:bornleet:

24-07-2009, 07:56:45

Kylevdm
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
In these credit crunch times we need to find a cheap solution. I think that CFM can be tested by seeing how long it takes to inflate a bin liner, and static pressure can be measured by using increasingly heavy GSM paper until it stops being lifted by the fan.

:bornleet:
Unfortunately we do not have any thing that can accurately measure CFM and therefore chose not too, however maybe something will have to be worked out...

24-07-2009, 11:46:50

VonBlade
I know. I was just being tongue-in-cheek.

Although, theoretically, using a fan to inflate something like a black bag and measuring how quickly it inflates could be, with some clever capacity/time math, a measure of how accurate the manu's figures are.

I reckon a Delta would win :P

24-07-2009, 12:14:17

mayhem
To be honest if you going to do a review of such items then this is a enthusiast site and details like this is quite important relay.

Any one can make a CNC grill and retail it off. Its nothing special but to create a rad grill that not only looks good but performs well is another matter.

Astectics are good for modding but all so its important to get the right balance between astectics and performance.

I may be missing the point but when it comes to new and innovative ideas you need to look at both points and for that reason i don't think this item in it self deserves the points it got. Its seems a little one sided. Fan grill are two a penny but good fan grills are another matter completely.

Plus to add the price of the item is overly expensive its just not economically a viable option to most of your target market.

29-09-2009, 17:19:53

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
In these credit crunch times we need to find a cheap solution. I think that CFM can be tested by seeing how long it takes to inflate a bin liner
Damn I shoulda copyrighted this idea when I had it. And they said I was mad!

Bit Tech blatantly steals VBs idea

29-09-2009, 18:28:40

Bungral
They used it in last months Custom PC magazine too.. Tested 100 fans or so.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.