Lian Li TYR PC-X500 Chassis

Final Conclusion

Final Conclusion
 
The X500 definitely scores big in the style department. It also rates very highly in build quality and finish. Without a doubt, the chassis lives up to the usual Lian Li standards. Having said that, there are a few gripes I have. Lian Li should have used either braided or black coloured cable for the IO panel. as they have used grey coloured cables, they stick out like a sore thumb. Also, I cannot see why Lian Li did not provide at least a couple of stealth CD/DVD bezels with the chassis, especially considering the price of the chassis. If they had then the overall finish of the chassis would have been perfect.
 
When I reviewed the X2000, the X500's big brother, it drew some criticism for only having two 5.25" bays, well the same holds true with the X500. So, if you didn't like this on the X2000, you will also be disappointed by it with the X500. I personally wouldn't find this a problem, as I only have one DVD -RW installed. It does limit your options, and you should be aware of this before considering purchasing an X500. Another small gripe is the placement of the fan controller, which means that you have to remove the front panel and dust filter to access it. This is only a minor niggle, especially if you don't change fan speeds often.
 
Assembling the PC inside the X500 was really easy and very straight forward. Most people should be able to assemble without having to consult the manual, which is always a bonus. Everything needed for the build was provided by Lian Li, and there were plenty of spare screws left to replace lost items, should you ever need them.
 
All in all, I would highly recommend the X500 to anyone who wants a high quality chassis, and who doesn't mind paying extra for the attention to detail and quality Lian Li have given. When combined with a smart AV setup, or a matching destop setup, the chassis looks superb. Although I have a couple of gripes with the chassis, these are far outweighed by the positive aspects. Price will be an issue to some, but for those who know quality and don't mind paying a premium, the X500 is definitely a winner. I am not sure about the chassis being the 'Ultimate gaming/HTPC' choice, as Lian Li have claimed, but it does come pretty close. The recommended retail price of the TYR PC-X500 is around £250, but can be bought for around £200 from some e-tailers. 
 
 
The Good
+ Excellent build quality
+ Attention to detail and finish
+ Stylish design
+ Easy to build PC inside
+ Good airflow with supplied fans
+ Dust filter
+ Weight
+ Anodised internally and externally

The Mediocre
* Price limits the appeal

The Bad
- Internal cables don't tie in with overall style
- Fan controller placement
 
 
OC3D Recommended 
 
Our thanks go to A-One Distribution and Lian Li for providing the sample used for this review.
 
 
Discuss this review in our forum.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-10-2008, 05:01:53

TopSecret
We have reviewed the Lian Li TYR PC-X500, the X2000's little brother. Does it offer the same sublime styling and features?


Read the review to find out

14-10-2008, 05:11:53

JN
That case looks simply gorgeous. Call me old fashioned though, but I'd rather have the DVD drives coming out the front.

Great review fella

14-10-2008, 05:22:38

TopSecret
Thanks mate, it does take some getting used to having to go round the side for the DVD's, keep going for the front without thinking

14-10-2008, 06:17:41

Bubba
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba

14-10-2008, 06:41:58

TopSecret
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bubba'
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba
Thanks

I am sorely tempted to try and get a 240mm rad in on a CPU only loop I recks it would go in the somewhere.

14-10-2008, 06:47:44

Bubba
Probably in the front.. What I was contemplating though were 4x120mm radiators, though I weren't entirely sure where to place the pump and reservoir.. With some serious graphics solutions like sli, trisli or quadsli, there's simply no room unless you ditch all harddrive cages and cdr's.. which you can if you use SSD disks and external CD-rom... but if it's worth it.... Then I rather go with some generic box like PC70A.. which is like the coolermaster stacker, just an empty box with loads of 5.25" drivebays and nothing fancy.

-Bubba

28-01-2010, 14:36:23

shas
if i had that case i would cut away that 3.5" drive bay and replace it with a 5.25" that 3.5" just ruins the look of the side

25-02-2010, 10:12:51

alanclanmurray
After reading your comments on liamli x500 case , I do agree , this is a great piece of engineering -----------BUT could someone please advise me , I only have one light showing on front (on/off) I have tried every thing , even getting a new Q connector , could the bulb have gone ? if so where can I get replacement.

Wrote to LamLi but no reply (have had this case about 3months)

Would also like to know how to connect three way fan controller switch ?

many thanks

alan

25-02-2010, 17:06:11

pazman4
Wow-that looks tastey, couldnt bring myself to spend this much on a case tho :s great review

26-02-2010, 07:46:16

w3bbo
This or the x2000 will be my next case tbh.

Great review as always m8.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.