Lian Li TYR PC-X500 Chassis

Testing

Testing
 
Components Used in Build:
 
* Motherboard: ABit IP35 Pro Skt775
* CPU: Intel Pentium Dual Core E2200 with stock HSF
* Memory: 2GB Geil Ultra DDR2-800
* GPU: Powercolour Radeon HD4850
* PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower 750w Modular
* Hard Drive: Hitachi SATA II 160GB with clean install of Windows XP SP3
 
To get a feel of how the chassis performs and feels when in use I built up a system within the X500. I tested for temperatures and noise output when the system is in use. For the purposes of testing, I ran everything at stock settings using the built in fan controller on the front air intake fans, and used the motherboard fan headers for the rear exhaust fans. The front fan controller has three settings, low medium and high. I had the two rear fans set to standard speed. To measure the full range of system temperatures, I used Everest Ultimate Edition. The temperatures recorded were:
 
* Motherboard
* CPU
* CPU Core 1
* CPU Core 2
* CPU Core 3
* CPU Core 4
* GPU Diode (DispIO)
* GPU Diode (MemIO)
* GPU Diode (Shader)
 
I tested while the system was at idle and the CPU & GPU fans were running at stock speeds. This should give a good indication of how effective the different fan settings were on the X500 with the supplied case fans.
 
 
Cooling Results
 
 
 
 
As you can see from the graphs, the temperature differences between the three settings was only very slight in some components and varied as much as 3 degrees celsius difference in others.
 
 
Noise Output
 
At Low Fan Speed Setting:
Overall noise was very quiet, and the hard drive could be clearly heard above fan noise. Ideal setting when chassis as used as a HTPC. 
 
At Medium Fan Speed Setting:
Overall noise was slightly more noticeable, but the hard drive could still be heard above the fans. The noise output would still be acceptable when the chassis was used as a HTPC.
 
At High Fan Speed Setting:
Overall noise was very noticeable, and could be heard over the hard drive. When used as a HTPC, this setting may not be acceptable, as the fans would be heard in quiet parts of movies.
 
So that's the results in. Now let's draw our conclusions and discuss the scores given to the X500 on the next page.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-10-2008, 05:01:53

TopSecret
We have reviewed the Lian Li TYR PC-X500, the X2000's little brother. Does it offer the same sublime styling and features?


Read the review to find out

14-10-2008, 05:11:53

JN
That case looks simply gorgeous. Call me old fashioned though, but I'd rather have the DVD drives coming out the front.

Great review fella

14-10-2008, 05:22:38

TopSecret
Thanks mate, it does take some getting used to having to go round the side for the DVD's, keep going for the front without thinking

14-10-2008, 06:17:41

Bubba
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba

14-10-2008, 06:41:58

TopSecret
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bubba'
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba
Thanks

I am sorely tempted to try and get a 240mm rad in on a CPU only loop I recks it would go in the somewhere.

14-10-2008, 06:47:44

Bubba
Probably in the front.. What I was contemplating though were 4x120mm radiators, though I weren't entirely sure where to place the pump and reservoir.. With some serious graphics solutions like sli, trisli or quadsli, there's simply no room unless you ditch all harddrive cages and cdr's.. which you can if you use SSD disks and external CD-rom... but if it's worth it.... Then I rather go with some generic box like PC70A.. which is like the coolermaster stacker, just an empty box with loads of 5.25" drivebays and nothing fancy.

-Bubba

28-01-2010, 14:36:23

shas
if i had that case i would cut away that 3.5" drive bay and replace it with a 5.25" that 3.5" just ruins the look of the side

25-02-2010, 10:12:51

alanclanmurray
After reading your comments on liamli x500 case , I do agree , this is a great piece of engineering -----------BUT could someone please advise me , I only have one light showing on front (on/off) I have tried every thing , even getting a new Q connector , could the bulb have gone ? if so where can I get replacement.

Wrote to LamLi but no reply (have had this case about 3months)

Would also like to know how to connect three way fan controller switch ?

many thanks

alan

25-02-2010, 17:06:11

pazman4
Wow-that looks tastey, couldnt bring myself to spend this much on a case tho :s great review

26-02-2010, 07:46:16

w3bbo
This or the x2000 will be my next case tbh.

Great review as always m8.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.