Lian Li TYR PC-X500 Chassis

Cooling, Assembly & Cable Management

Cooling, Assembly & Cable Management
 
Cooling
There are a total of four 120mm fans provided within the X500, two act as intakes on the front, and the other two act as exhausts on the rear. Each fan is complete with a matching grille, and can be powered by molex or via a 3-pin header. The two front fans can be connected to the inbuilt fan controller by removing the molex connector and using the supplied header plugs. We shall discuss the effectiveness of this setup further in our testing page.
 
X500 Front Fans X500 Rear Fans
 
 
Assembly & Cable Management
 
Motherboard: ABit IP35 Pro Skt775
CPU: Intel Pentium Dual Core E2200 with stock HSF
Memory: 2GB Geil Ultra DDR2-800
GPU: Powercolour Radeon HD4850
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower 750w Modular
Hard Drive: Hitachi SATA II 160GB with clean install of Windows XP SP3
 
Assembling the PC inside the X500 was a breeze. There were no unwelcome surprises and Lian Li have provided all the screws and fittings necessary for the build. This is one of the few chassis that I have worked on, that hasn't resulted in cuts on the hands. If you were to spend time looking for sharp edges within the chassis, you would probably fail. Little things like this deserve merit as it shows that the manufacturer has given their product thought. Assembly took me around 25 minutes to complete, and the chassis was a joy to work on. With all the little extras Lian Li provide, it does make the task much easier.
 
X500 Assembled X500 Cables Right Side
 
I found that managing the cables within this chassis was a lot easier that with the X2000, and this was down to the reduced height of the chassis. This reduced height meant that routing the PSU cables was a lot easier and resulted in a tidier finish.  Also, there is a gap between the right side panel and the motherboard tray, which enables the concealment of the slack on cables. When I assembled the chassis, I used only what Lian LI provided to manage the cables, and I got good results within the motherboard compartment, with very little effort. On the reverse of the motherboard was a little untidier, but this was more down to me not spending enough time to arrange the cables, due to time constraints. Overall, I was very happy with the results.
 
On the next page, we shall put the X500 through its paces.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-10-2008, 05:01:53

TopSecret
We have reviewed the Lian Li TYR PC-X500, the X2000's little brother. Does it offer the same sublime styling and features?


Read the review to find out

14-10-2008, 05:11:53

JN
That case looks simply gorgeous. Call me old fashioned though, but I'd rather have the DVD drives coming out the front.

Great review fella

14-10-2008, 05:22:38

TopSecret
Thanks mate, it does take some getting used to having to go round the side for the DVD's, keep going for the front without thinking

14-10-2008, 06:17:41

Bubba
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba

14-10-2008, 06:41:58

TopSecret
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bubba'
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba
Thanks

I am sorely tempted to try and get a 240mm rad in on a CPU only loop I recks it would go in the somewhere.

14-10-2008, 06:47:44

Bubba
Probably in the front.. What I was contemplating though were 4x120mm radiators, though I weren't entirely sure where to place the pump and reservoir.. With some serious graphics solutions like sli, trisli or quadsli, there's simply no room unless you ditch all harddrive cages and cdr's.. which you can if you use SSD disks and external CD-rom... but if it's worth it.... Then I rather go with some generic box like PC70A.. which is like the coolermaster stacker, just an empty box with loads of 5.25" drivebays and nothing fancy.

-Bubba

28-01-2010, 14:36:23

shas
if i had that case i would cut away that 3.5" drive bay and replace it with a 5.25" that 3.5" just ruins the look of the side

25-02-2010, 10:12:51

alanclanmurray
After reading your comments on liamli x500 case , I do agree , this is a great piece of engineering -----------BUT could someone please advise me , I only have one light showing on front (on/off) I have tried every thing , even getting a new Q connector , could the bulb have gone ? if so where can I get replacement.

Wrote to LamLi but no reply (have had this case about 3months)

Would also like to know how to connect three way fan controller switch ?

many thanks

alan

25-02-2010, 17:06:11

pazman4
Wow-that looks tastey, couldnt bring myself to spend this much on a case tho :s great review

26-02-2010, 07:46:16

w3bbo
This or the x2000 will be my next case tbh.

Great review as always m8.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.