Lian Li TYR PC-X500 Chassis

Internal Impressions

Internal Impressions
 
The X500's most striking feature is the front panel, which dominates the chassis, but what lies underneath it? Well, underneath are two 120mm fans, which are controlled by a simple 3 speed switch. But that's not all, there is also a dust filter, which slides out easily for cleaning. It's little touches like this that have made my heart warm to this chassis. The dust filter works well, and keeps all but the tiniest specks out of the rig. Even under the front panel, the metal is anodised and has received the same care and attention as the chassis externals. My only quibble is that Lian Li could have found a better location for the fan controller, as you have to remove the front panel and then the dust filter, just to be able to change fan speeds. If, however, this is something you don't do very often, then it won't be a problem.
 
 
 
 
  
Now if we work our way around to the sides, and take a look at the side panels. as you can see from the photo above, Lian Li have applied a layer of foam to the inside of the panels, which is intended to aide in reducing noise levels from the fully built system. The side panels can be released quickly and easily with the method Lian Li have used to secure them. There is a sliding mechanism, which when slid, locks the panel in place. You then only need to tighten one single thumbscrew on each side to secure the sliding mechanism. To remove the panel, you just loosen the thumbscrew and pull the lever to release the sliding mechanism. This system works very well and really is quite effortless and hassle free. As the thumbscrew is fixed to the lever, you don't have to worry about dropping and losing it. 
 
X500 Panel lock 1 X500 Panel Lock 2
 
Now let's turn our attention to the actual innards of the chassis. Able to house a full ATX motherboard, with space for four hard drives, with two 5.25" and one 3.25" bay, the chassis is able to house a decent system and still have room to spare to consider installing a water-cooling loop. The chassis feels roomy and we will see if this is correct when we build the test rig up in the chassis. As was previously mentioned, every inch of the chassis, both internally and externally, is anodised. Nothing looks out of place, and everything looks superb. This chassis is crying out for a windowed side panel to show all the goodness off.
 
X500 Interior 1 X500 Interior 2
 
 So let's now see exactly what this chassis has to offer and take a closer look at the internals on the next page. 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-10-2008, 05:01:53

TopSecret
We have reviewed the Lian Li TYR PC-X500, the X2000's little brother. Does it offer the same sublime styling and features?


Read the review to find out

14-10-2008, 05:11:53

JN
That case looks simply gorgeous. Call me old fashioned though, but I'd rather have the DVD drives coming out the front.

Great review fella

14-10-2008, 05:22:38

TopSecret
Thanks mate, it does take some getting used to having to go round the side for the DVD's, keep going for the front without thinking

14-10-2008, 06:17:41

Bubba
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba

14-10-2008, 06:41:58

TopSecret
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bubba'
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba
Thanks

I am sorely tempted to try and get a 240mm rad in on a CPU only loop I recks it would go in the somewhere.

14-10-2008, 06:47:44

Bubba
Probably in the front.. What I was contemplating though were 4x120mm radiators, though I weren't entirely sure where to place the pump and reservoir.. With some serious graphics solutions like sli, trisli or quadsli, there's simply no room unless you ditch all harddrive cages and cdr's.. which you can if you use SSD disks and external CD-rom... but if it's worth it.... Then I rather go with some generic box like PC70A.. which is like the coolermaster stacker, just an empty box with loads of 5.25" drivebays and nothing fancy.

-Bubba

28-01-2010, 14:36:23

shas
if i had that case i would cut away that 3.5" drive bay and replace it with a 5.25" that 3.5" just ruins the look of the side

25-02-2010, 10:12:51

alanclanmurray
After reading your comments on liamli x500 case , I do agree , this is a great piece of engineering -----------BUT could someone please advise me , I only have one light showing on front (on/off) I have tried every thing , even getting a new Q connector , could the bulb have gone ? if so where can I get replacement.

Wrote to LamLi but no reply (have had this case about 3months)

Would also like to know how to connect three way fan controller switch ?

many thanks

alan

25-02-2010, 17:06:11

pazman4
Wow-that looks tastey, couldnt bring myself to spend this much on a case tho :s great review

26-02-2010, 07:46:16

w3bbo
This or the x2000 will be my next case tbh.

Great review as always m8.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.